Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 14:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to set Czech keyboard & screen refresh rate?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Zefram

Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 12:47    Post_subject:  How to set Czech keyboard & screen refresh rate?  

1) My favourite language is Czech. Therefore I have chosen czech keyboard layout. But it just does not function. It is possible to write characters like or , but there are also many like . Believe me these are not Czech characters though they should be. How to fix this? Smile

Is there any shortcut like Left ALT-SHIFT in Windows to change layouts?

2) Another terrifying problem (for me, of course) is screen flickering. It is hard to look at the monitor making 60 Hz and nothing more. I tried to install two packages (it was mentioned somewhere here) via PupGet. The first was some module fbk or something like that - installed succesfully, the second was xfbdev (+-) - I was not able to install this one. I tried three quite different machines (to ensure that there are no hardware problems behind - one has ATI Radeon 8500, another some NVidia, the third was some noname garbage) and the result was the same - the system froze.

These are my greatest contemporary problems and the only I really have to solve. Thanks very much for any help you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pax
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 13:11    Post_subject:  

for your screenproblem:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?p=500#500

good luck
Back to top
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 15:46    Post_subject: now I used this  

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2303

and it Rocks!!

was kinda tricky also got the radeon dri
if you know what your montiors refresh rates and specs are you could just try running xorgconfig
tips on the keyboard there to

PuppyLinux a new breed!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bajsy

Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2006, 11:28    Post_subject: Re: How to set Czech keyboard?  

I have the same problem with Czech characters like Zefram. Please, can anybody help me? I'm quite new to Linux, so I don't know if this problem is caused by keyboard setting or by lack of fonts with Czech characters (ISO xxxx-2). Puppy is really pretty good Linux distro for my old hardware (P200MMX,128 MB RAM, 1,2 GB HDD), so I want to use it on daily basis, so I need a properly written Czech characters.
I apologize for my bad English.

_________________
Bajsy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0524s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]