Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 11:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 331 [4962 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 329, 330, 331 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total Votes : 33

Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 05:06    Post subject:  

As one of the contributors/developers of Puppy 214R, I thought I would jump in with some information about Flash and XMMS in Puppy2.

On the Developer Blog entry "The return of Puppy2!" -
ttuuxxx wrote:
Flash is terrible, The glibC is outdated and I can't update that, or it will cripple the who OS.

The issue of glibc is complex. Some knowledgeable person on the forum recently mentioned that for maximum compatibility and stability in Linux all applications and libraries should be compiled under the same version of glibc. We all knew that this was true of kernel modules, and to a lesser extent; Xorg and GTK2. But everything else?
This was something I had always suspected might be true, and I now believe it. But there's no point getting too fussed about complete glibc compatibility. Puppy already has a mish-mash of utilities carried over from earlier versions. I should know: I contributed the wpa_supplicant application used in the current Puppy 4.2. But it was introduced somewhere in the (Slackware 10-compatible) Puppy 3 series.

So back to Flash. I can't speak for the current version of Flash, but back when I was helping pakt and Dougal build 214R we had a similar warning about glibc ... but this was just an installer script warning.
Personally I hate installer scripts anyway. All we had to do was manually extract the Flash binaries and place them in the correct location. Flash then worked fine.

So glibc compatibility is desirable, but not necessarily essential.
More to the point: some modern applications won't compile under older versions of glibc.
But then many modern applications won't compile under older versions of GTK2.
And if you upgrade glibc, and GTK2, then you might as well upgrade the kernel and Xorg! Then Puppy 2 isn't Puppy 2 any more.

ttuuxxx wrote:
Gtk1.2 is still useful for some older apps like Xmms, but it ran buggy on 2.14X so I removed it

There was planned to be an update to Puppy 214R called Minipup216, with a significantly different suite of applications. For this release I compiled XMMS 1.2.11 and pakt tested it quite thoroughly. He didn't find any bugs. It's available as a dotpet here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26528

I should point out that the Xorgwizard in 214R was completely overhauled by Dougal. It's the only version of Puppy which offers the correct resolution of 1280x1024 as the default value for my 17 inch LCD monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 05:38    Post subject: Seamonkey Crashes  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Its the flash or a combo of plugins located in /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.16/plugins if you move the plugins to another location then restart Seamonkey you should be fine, It could be one of the other plugins. I'll keep working on it, maybe I might have to recompile Seamonkey, since all the changes to the backend.
I'll try that. Might have to disableutf8.
ttuuxxx


@ttuuxxx
I renamed /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.16/plugins to /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.16/nbg_plugins and restarted SM and as you predicted sites which crashed SM are now okay. Many thanks
Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 05:52    Post subject: Re: Can we have Pnethood  

ttuuxxx wrote:

before trying pnethood could you try this package I made up, I have no idea what I was doing with it it, but it made sense, lol
Never messed with samba before, so bare with me. lol
ttuuxxx


Tried your Samba PET. Unfortunately after installation of this LinNeiighborhood does not open shares when clicking on a machine.

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 05:59    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
]

I should point out that the Xorgwizard in 214R was completely overhauled by Dougal. It's the only version of Puppy which offers the correct resolution of 1280x1024 as the default value for my 17 inch LCD monitor.


Hi tempestuous, thats kind of what I was trying to say, but you said it way better:), I think the key ingredients of 2.14R which stand out is the kernel, that was used, and Xorg. Both work excellent together. The gtk2 is already updated in this version, Wink Really if we had a modern base, eg Dpup or Upup, with 2.14r kernel/Xorg and no other unnecessary addons like Dpup&Upup both enjoy, eg, Extra Gnome libs, Dbus etc. we would have a winning combo on our hands for older computers. Once I'm finished this project. I'm going to rip apart Dpup and recompile all the Debian parts without the extra libs. and bring the size down, and make a regular pup out of it, Dpup does work excellent on my pc, the best pup for speed so far, well on my modern pc.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 06:01    Post subject: Re: Can we have Pnethood  

mawebb88 wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

before trying pnethood could you try this package I made up, I have no idea what I was doing with it it, but it made sense, lol
Never messed with samba before, so bare with me. lol
ttuuxxx


Tried your Samba PET. Unfortunately after installation of this LinNeiighborhood does not open shares when clicking on a machine.

Rgds Mike

ok just uninstall it and try the Pnethood pet I posted, that should work. Thanks for testing the package, I had my fingers cross with that one Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 08:15    Post subject: Re: Can we have Pnethood  

ttuuxxx wrote:
mawebb88 wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

before trying pnethood could you try this package I made up, I have no idea what I was doing with it it, but it made sense, lol
Never messed with samba before, so bare with me. lol
ttuuxxx


Tried your Samba PET. Unfortunately after installation of this LinNeiighborhood does not open shares when clicking on a machine.

Rgds Mike

ok just uninstall it and try the Pnethood pet I posted, that should work. Thanks for testing the package, I had my fingers cross with that one Smile
ttuuxxx


Ok I tried an uninstall of your Samba PET but it did not cure the LinNeighborhood problem (could not expand a machine to shares). No big deal I just emptied my pup_sav file and rebooted to start again. Installed your PNetHood PET and it works. A couple of observations. PNetHood seems to have difficulty to wake up my LANDisk. I set it to the max scan time (30 sec) and also edited /etc/samba/smb.conf to put workgroup=WORKGROUP2 (my workgrouip name). I can wake it up okay with LinNeighborhood and then PNetHood finds the Samba LANDisk (not usually a problem in 412). Also I still need my CIF code I reported above in order to see files in Rox.
Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 08:55    Post subject:  

Maybe it is only me but the seamonkey browser doesn't work.

Besides that, it is the one I wanted for a long long time.

What seems to be a problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 09:22    Post subject:  

puppyiso wrote:
Maybe it is only me but the seamonkey browser doesn't work.

Besides that, it is the one I wanted for a long long time.

What seems to be a problem?

Its the flash in the seamonkey browser that doesn't work, if you remove the flash, it works really stable and doesn't crash, I tried about 6 different flash versions from early 9 - 10 beta's included and had the issue, I'll look into recompiling glib/seamonkey again and see what happens.
Really we could probably use Opera and that would work, but I don't want to give up on Seamonkey just yet.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 12:21    Post subject:  

puppyiso wrote:
Maybe it is only me but the seamonkey browser doesn't work.

Sadly I´m testing 2.14 in vwmare for work reasons (I´ll test it at home as soon as I can).

Seamonkey browser doesn´t work for my either, if I start it from the Network menu it don´t start and I have to kill the process. But If I use the Browser link from the Desktop, Seamonkey starts without problems.

Dillo is there and works great, bad thing it doesn´t have proxy support... Talking about proxy support, I can´t download any package from Package Manager, I had to manually download them. Is there any way to configure a proxy connection in Package Manager?

ThightVNC is super fast and works without problems, but It seems a ripped version, How could I change the connection properties?. (protocols, compression, etc.)

P.D: First time ever that I have no issues with Xorg running in VMWare, great work Dugal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 14:59    Post subject: Seamonkey  

clarf wrote:
puppyiso wrote:
Maybe it is only me but the seamonkey browser doesn't work.

Sadly I´m testing 2.14 in vwmare for work reasons (I´ll test it at home as soon as I can).

Seamonkey browser doesn´t work for my either, if I start it from the Network menu it don´t start and I have to kill the process. But If I use the Browser link from the Desktop, Seamonkey starts without problems.

Dillo is there and works great, bad thing it doesn´t have proxy support... Talking about proxy support, I can´t download any package from Package Manager, I had to manually download them. Is there any way to configure a proxy connection in Package Manager?

ThightVNC is super fast and works without problems, but It seems a ripped version, How could I change the connection properties?. (protocols, compression, etc.)

P.D: First time ever that I have no issues with Xorg running in VMWare, great work Dugal.


SM works for me. The crashing issue was fixed for me with the renaming of the plugins folder (ttuuxxx suggested moving it but I just renamed it). (see earlier post).
Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3251
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 16:51    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx
" Its the flash or a combo of plugins "

""""""""""

" I renamed /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.16/plugins

to /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.16/nbg_plugins "

""""""""

I will try mawebb88 fix.

A real pain in the neck Seamonkey crashing.
Really noticeable.
Not having a go....never had this issue in previous pups.

Despite some critics...generally this was a great release.

Pity SM can't be as fast in Windows.
Lost the plot.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 22:09    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey  

mawebb88 wrote:

SM works for me. The crashing issue was fixed for me with the renaming of the plugins folder (ttuuxxx suggested moving it but I just renamed it). (see earlier post).
Rgds Mike


thanks mawebb88 but your solution didn´t work for me. I had problems starting SM from JWC menu, when I click Internet - SeaMonkey web browser, a mozilla process start (using 100% processor) but browser never opened. Instead using Desktop shortcut SeaMonkey browser opened without problems...

Edit: I could solve the problem just editing /root/.jwmrc and changing mozilla for seamonkey, in the Program tap for SeaMonkey web browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 22:48    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey  

clarf wrote:
mawebb88 wrote:

SM works for me. The crashing issue was fixed for me with the renaming of the plugins folder (ttuuxxx suggested moving it but I just renamed it). (see earlier post).
Rgds Mike


thanks mawebb88 but your solution didn´t work for me. I had problems starting SM from JWC menu, when I click Internet - SeaMonkey web browser, a mozilla process start (using 100% processor) but browser never opened. Instead using Desktop shortcut SeaMonkey browser opened without problems...

Edit: I could solve the problem just editing /root/.jwmrc and changing mozilla for seamonkey, in the Program tap for SeaMonkey web browser.

or install this, I just changed the .desktop file, now back to flash
ttuuxxx
Seamonkey-Menu.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Seamonkey-Menu.pet 
Filesize  536 Bytes 
Downloaded  282 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 23:11    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey  

ttuuxxx wrote:
clarf wrote:

Edit: I could solve the problem just editing /root/.jwmrc and changing mozilla for seamonkey, in the Program tap for SeaMonkey web browser.

or install this, I just changed the .desktop file, now back to flash
ttuuxxx


Thanks ttuuxxx. After I edited /root/.jwmrc I could call SeaMonkey from JWM menu, but "mozilla" word reappeared in .jwmrc each time I installed or uninstalled a PET. Your pet finally solve the problem changing the SeaMonkey-web-browser.desktop file in /usr/share/applications/, I didn´t know that... It apply to IceWM too?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 23:30    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey  

clarf wrote:

Thanks ttuuxxx. After I edited /root/.jwmrc I could call SeaMonkey from JWM menu, but "mozilla" word reappeared in .jwmrc each time I installed or uninstalled a PET. Your pet finally solve the problem changing the SeaMonkey-web-browser.desktop file in /usr/share/applications/, I didn´t know that... It apply to IceWM too?.

yes it applies to icewm and jwm, if you ever want to change a icon or a menu entry in the /Menu/ you change it in usr/share/applications then when you refresh/fix menus, xdg builds a new menu with all the .desktop files, this works for all .xdg menus, like jwm,icewm etc
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 331 [4962 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 329, 330, 331 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1298s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0430s) ][ GZIP on ]