Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 02:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
power management not working? (laptop, puppy 1.05)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2

is puppy's power management working on your LAPTOP?
yes
16%
 16%  [ 2 ]
no
83%
 83%  [ 10 ]
Total Votes : 12

Author Message
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2005, 01:48    Post subject: More about ACPI  

pakt asked a question about wmpower. It is now working on my machine. Some settings can be changed, wmpower --help gives some insights, and there is more on the wmpower web site.
There are some other ACPI-related kernel parameters that I have not yet tried, such as acpi=noirq. On my notebook ACPI is shown as sharing IRQ 10 with other things. Might be worth a try.
Cannot test Intel Speedstep on this machine (Celeron 550MHz) - not supported on Celeron, but ACPI is supposed to be able to throttle back the processor when running Speedstep processors on battery.
There is another thread in which kethd was concerned about the hard disk running constantly. He identified the check_space process as the cause. Killing that process allows the disk to spin down. Using hdparm -s 5 does it for me, but it is worth remembering that check_space performs a useful function and turning it off should be a considered decision. The machine runs cooler and the battery lasts longer when the hard disk is not running, of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Paolo


Joined: 09 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 17 Dec 2005, 22:48    Post subject:  

Thanks BlackAdder,now all works very well.
This code:
''echo 10 > /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/polling_frequency ''
creating problem on my laptop (dell latitude c600),and without this line all
is OK.
Thanks for all,
Paolo Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sun 18 Dec 2005, 01:46    Post subject:  

Paolo,
You may find that the thermal zone on some laptops is not called "THRM", but "THM". You can check by using Rox to look at /proc/acpi/thermal zone. Why is this so? I guess that is the way the manufacturer set it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 18 Dec 2005, 04:00    Post subject:  

Thanks BlackAdder, I will give your tips a try. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2005, 00:18    Post subject:  

Just in case those watching this thread did not see Barry's note on 19 December, it is quoted below. The change can be expected in 1.0.7

Quote:
I have modified /root/.xinitrc so that check_space will only be launched if free space in "/" is less than 20M. Thus, check_space will only run in very tight situations, such as running in a 128M-RAM PC with no swap partition. It will not run in a hard-drive-installed Puppy, as "/" is the entire hard drive partition which is bound to have more than 20M free (besides which, the full h.d. install doesn't use a ramdisk).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2005, 01:22    Post subject:  

Using hdparm -S 5 /dev/hda worked fine with 1.0.7 beta for me, except that in earlier versions I never needed to specify it, it always spun down both of my hard drives normally (and separately too!). BTW, I haven't tried it yet, but does this setting get saved on reboot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2006, 22:24    Post subject: re: hdparm  

With Puppy 1.0.7, check_space will not be running for most users, so there should not be a need to use hdparm. I don't think it likely that the spin-down setting of hdparm would carry across reboots.
BTW - there was no change in the behaviour of Puppy re ACPI after my notebook was upgraded to 1.0.7, but the disk does shut down after 2 minutes of inactivity. This value was set via the BIOS and now seems effective - might have been under 1.0.5 if check_space had not been running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atchbo
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 16:02    Post subject:  

Hello,

I have the same hot processor + fan noise on my Averatec 6200 series (see other post) and have added the modprobe lines to rc.local (now I can see the temp). However, it still runs hot... how can we throttle back the CPU to get the heat down as in other linuxes (& windows)?

Cheers,
Atchbo
Back to top
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 18:22    Post subject:  

Atchbo - What is "hot" in your case?
When ACPI is active it gets information from the BIOS about when to switch on the fan etc. and when to throttle back the processor. The settings are created by the motherboard maker. They are stored in a folder under /proc/acpi as "trip points". In my case, the trip point to run the fan is 70C, and the danger level is 90C. So the fan starts when ACPI detects a temperature of 70C or above, and it stops when the temperature falls below 55C.
In some cases, the processor speed is throttled back only when the machine is running on battery; in others "Intel Speedstep" can dynamically adjust the processor speed. There is a Linux Intel Speedstep support module to handle the latter case, but Speedstep support is not built into Puppy.
Does the manual for your machine say anything about CPU throttling?
There is an extensive ACPI HowTo if you want to read more at http://www.columbia.edu/~ariel/acpi/acpi_howto.txt
This site shows how you might throttle back the processor manually.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2022s ][ Queries: 14 (0.1038s) ][ GZIP on ]