Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 04:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Slaxer_Pup 4.12 solid and stable non woof build
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 32 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 09:40    Post_subject:  Slaxer_Pup 4.12 solid and stable non woof build
Sub_title: "slackware 12.2 " SMP kernel--> a first to boot 412 from slackware's kernel
 

Slaxer_Pup-412.iso.md5.txt


85MB lzm compressed USB now reads the save file
http://www.puppy2.org/slaxer/Slaxer_Pup-4.12_USB.iso
Code:

puppy
linux


******************************
UPDATED PACKAGES

since the thread is getting large I'll
update the packages here for easy finding


pkgtools updated 8/07/09 to add *txz dragNdrop
unpackaging with ROX right click

slackware pkgtools as a pet to install official slackware packages you need both

pkgtools-13.0-patched-10-i486-slxr.pet click_here
updated Oct 111 2009

----------------------------------------------------------------------

src2pkg build packages from source code for the best compatibility

updated 5-22-2010

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/amigolinux/download/src2pkg/src2pkg-2.2-noarch-3.tgz



wifi ebox 2300
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41298&start=369

sound driver ebox 2300
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41298&start=390

updated to include nvidia drivers

Version: 180.
Legacy GPU version (71.86.xx series):
Legacy GPU version (96.43.xx series):
Legacy GPU version (173.14.xx series):


nvidia -180.29 series for the 2.6.27.7 kernel

nvidia-driver-180.29-i586-1click_here
nvidia-kernel-180.29_2.6.27.7-i486-1click_here


nvidia-legacy71 series for the 2.6.27.7 kernel

nvidia-legacy71-driver-71.86.09-i586-1click_here
nvidia-legacy71-kernel-71.86.09_2.6.27.7-i486-1click_here

nvidia-legacy96 series for the the 2.6.27.7 kernel

nvidia-legacy96-driver-96.43.11-i586-1click_here
nvidia-legacy96-kernel-96.43.11_2.6.27.7-i486-1click_here


nvidia-legacy173 series for the the 2.6.27.7 kernel

nvidia-legacy173-driver-173.14.18-i586-1click_here
nvidia-legacy173-kernel-173.14.18_2.6.27.7-i486-1click_here



ndiswrapper 1.54 click_here

latest network wizard by Dougal
click_here


fix the insert crash
http://puppy2.org/slaxer/gtk+-2.12.9-i486-slxr.tgz


********************************************************
boots from the slackware 12.2 kernel k2.6.27.7
nothing removed from the 4.12 base
tweaks added for stability only
full ROX theme I only added this because
I have used it for a long time on my box
and grew fond of it
hope you like it too

412 but as a lzm compressed sfs
saving size off the iso

make sure you dont have an old 4.12
puppy install because the sfs file
is different and will clash
with the slaxer_pup-4.12

just rename or remove any old sfs
or pupsaves start clean
and enjoy




----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What is Slaxer_Pup? why post in cutting edge ?

1.)this is a new concept puppy with a focus on a different hardware detection config and kernel from our old friends at slackware 12.2

since they have been around along time you have a lot of hardware detection experience covering your back

2.)using a solid modern base puppy so you feel at home

could it be possible to join the two ?

yep Very Happy

for those that know my work this is NOT a fatfree version
nothing was removed only more hard ware detection added
so that my focus could be on hardware support

the kernel and initrd.gz does that work for you under the hood



maybe some things wont get detected that gets detected on puppy
maybe somethings that aren't detected on puppy get detected on Slaxer_Pup

you'll never know if you don't try Wink




most people just read a lot and don't post
but enjoy trying new things

so I encourage you to take a spin and report
your results even if its a "simple this worked on my box"
that would help me advance and help others



it would be even more helpful if you list what new hardware gets detected
and what doesn't get detected that got detected in 4.12

Note: everything got detected and works correctly on my box Very Happy

big_bass

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 10:15    Post_subject: catching name  

Hello, Big_Bass,

It seems like your puppy is mainly for hardware detection.

However, since it has something do do with slackware, I wonder(hope) if it can utilize slackware repository.

I just read about non smp machine running smp puppylinux in this forum.

You mentioned about smp in your post. my computer is old P4 with just 1 cpu. Have you tried your puppy on a single cpu machine?

Please let me know more about your puppy.

Thank you.

John S
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 10:44    Post_subject: Re: catching name  

puppyiso wrote:
Hello, Big_Bass,

It seems like your puppy is mainly for hardware detection.

However, since it has something do do with slackware, I wonder(hope) if it can utilize slackware repository.

I just read about non smp machine running smp puppylinux in this forum.

You mentioned about smp in your post. my computer is old P4 with just 1 cpu. Have you tried your puppy on a single cpu machine?

Please let me know more about your puppy.

Thank you.

John S



1.)every puppy version uses the puppy config even if someone changes the kernel

this slaxer_pup uses the config from slackware
big , big difference


thats like taking the motor out of one car and placing it in a different make car you cant see much difference unless you look under the hood


2.)if your motherboard doesn't have SMP
of course it will still work only you'll not take advantage of SMP

3.) as for slackware packages compatibility
that is and always will be based on what package you need

I compile packages for puppy and I compile packages for slackware
most work well on puppy from slackware if they are simple
not needing a menu entry but you must remember
slackware packages were compiled with different shared libs and
dependencies and you do have to know what are the differences
before jumping in to that so there is no easy black and white answer there I still build packages one at a time compiled from source
mostly

so still as always you should use packages built for puppy
they were hand made for puppys' use

this is puppy learn how to collect ISO's Laughing

big_bass

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 10:45    Post_subject:  

As promised, first report:
Code:

Dell PC - Single Core
-Computer-
Processor:      Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory:         500MB (106MB used)
-Display-
Resolution:      1280x1024 pixels
X11 Vendor:    The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter: ICH4 - Intel ICH6
-IDE Disks-
HL-DT-ST CD-RW/DVD-ROM GCC-4482B
-SCSI Disks-
ATA ST340014AS
TrekStor HS020GB
BUFFALO USB Flash Disk

Sound:            works without setup
Network:         PCI Broadcom BCM5751 works
Xorg:              no problem
Ext. Drives:     no problem


everything seems to work but no unusual devices.

more tests on different machines to come.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:00    Post_subject:  

aragon

thanks that's a perfect example
of what got detected on a Dell PC - Single Core


in a simple quick format

thanks for testing

big_bass

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:02    Post_subject:  

Ok first bug:
- Created pupsave on reboot on internal hd, not chooesen to copy puppy-files
- Next boot: picks up pupsave, boots well, just before X => than 'Module usbhid is missing' and dropped back to console.
- Tested 3 times => same result.

By the way: Shutdown and reboot works

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:25    Post_subject:  

aragon

Quote:
not choosen to copy puppy-files


I tested frugal and installed and live CD when I was asked I did choose
save puppy-files

so try that please and see if it makes a difference

and
Code:
 xwin
if your'restuck at console
the same as any puppy
I know you know that but others read this also

did you have shutdown complete poweroff problems on a standard puppy?

for the record
note; on the official puppy everything worked for me except total poweroff and X locked if I used icewm using ctrl+alt +backspace


Quote:
Module usbhid is missing'

----------------------------------------------------
# USB Input Devices
#
CONFIG_USB_HID=y
CONFIG_USB_HIDINPUT_POWERBOOK=y
CONFIG_HID_FF=y
CONFIG_HID_PID=y
CONFIG_LOGITECH_FF=y
CONFIG_LOGIRUMBLEPAD2_FF=y
# CONFIG_PANTHERLORD_FF is not set
CONFIG_THRUSTMASTER_FF=y
CONFIG_ZEROPLUS_FF=y
CONFIG_USB_HIDDEV=y
CONFIG_USB_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_USB_ARCH_HAS_HCD=y
CONFIG_USB_ARCH_HAS_OHCI=y
CONFIG_USB_ARCH_HAS_EHCI=y
CONFIG_USB=y

---------------------------------------------

its compiled in the kernel so its not a "module"

big_bass

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:46    Post_subject:  

copy pup_412.sfs to hd after setup the pup_save does not make a difference. tested allways with booting from live-cd.

neither 'xwin' nor 'xwin startjwm' make a differnce, drops back to console.
Quote:
did you have shutdown complete poweroff problems on a standard puppy?

no, never.
Quote:
for the record
note; on the official puppy everything worked for me except total poweroff and X locked if I used icewm using ctrl+alt +backspace

only tried icewm once, not my cup of tea ...

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 12:19    Post_subject:  

You may look at the log to find out whats wrong:

mp /var/log/Xorg.0.log

If there are no errors:

mp /tmp/xerrs.txt


You may get messages about missing modules, if they are compiled into the kernel.
Usually they can be ignored then, as Puppys scripts just think, they are not available.
In seldom cases though, Puppys hardwaredetection might be irritated by this.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 12:24    Post_subject:  

seems like an X config
re run xorgwizard at console

check if you have these files after

this is mine
/etc/videomode
0x0117 1024x768x24

----------------
yours should be

/etc/videomode
0x011A: 1280x1024x16

or
/etc/videomode
0x011B: 1280x1024x16

depending on if you selected x16 or x24
----------------
/etc/.XLOADED
true

**we posted at the same time thanks Mark
I always use xvesa

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 12:42    Post_subject:  

Made live cd, and booted pfix=ram.

At the mouse selecter: Detected ps2 mouse OK, confirmed that.
Found k/b ok, this is a usb plug, connected to ps2 socket with adapter.

Also, at this screen, there was a message saying:
lp0: using parport0 (interrupt driven)
lp0: console ready

Rebooted, creating pup-save file. Not asked to save any other files.

First re-boot: mouse selecter came up, and said it has detected a serial mouse. I reselected ps2. But mouse would not work when boot-up was complete, nor would the k/b.

Rebooted again with usb mouse, and k/b plugged in to other usb socket.

Ran the connection wizard. No network detected. Went to do it manually as it suggested- got a long list of modules to choose to install. Huh? How should I know?
EDIT: Clarification: "Cannot see any active network devices"

Lastly: POWEROFF WORKS!!!!

Machine is 9 yrs old, Intel Celeron 600MHz, 256MB ram.
Don't know how to find more info.

Machine has only two usb sockets, so using them for mouse and k/b is a no-no.

Might try live usb in the Acer Aspire One....

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 13:05    Post_subject:  

thanks gerry for reporting

maybe better luck on the other machine


to see what you have for network

you could
Code:
grep "eth0:" /tmp/bootkernel.log


on my box it is
VIA Rhine ll

but dont worry about that the network tool
needs to do that for you


anyway that bootkernel.log is the place to look
even if you dont know whats there if you zip that file and attach it here in the forum it still would help me see what happened


I expect some wins soon Very Happy
here is what my bootkernel log looks like

so you can see my computer is working
big_bass
bootkernel_log.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootkernel_log.tar.gz 
Filesize  5.59 KB 
Downloaded  810 Time(s) 

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Hi Big_Bass- the grep got

RealTek RTL8139
Chip type RTL-8100B/8139D

Can't do any more at the moment, the mouse owner wanted it back.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 14:14    Post_subject:  

Quote:


gerry
RealTek RTL8139
Chip type RTL-8100B/8139D

Can't do any more at the moment, the mouse owner wanted it back.


big_bass
use one of these.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.78 KB
 Viewed   1499 Time(s)

use one of these.png


_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 14:32    Post_subject:  

Hmm...that Slackware hardware detection certainly looks thorough...and I like its comprehensive scsi probing...and, if I boot my rig (see sigblock) without the GeForce in, using the mainboard's built-in ATi Rage XL, it boots and runs OK. It sees both cores.

But...with the GeForce installed...it loads nvidiafb, then atyfb, then hangs. Puppy never did that. Worse, when I tried to reboot to my usual, got an "MBR bootloader missing" or-something-like-that error message.

So, I had to back up menu.lst and then reinstall grub to the mbr of both my first ata-100 drive and my first scsi drive, and then restore my usual menu.lst config files. Back in business.

Also had to reset the boot order in BIOS setup to scsi drives first. Not sure if the BIOS boot drive search order was reset to the default (CD first, then ide drives, then scsi drives) by Slack, or maybe done by my own BIOS when it found no good bootloader on any drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 32 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1177s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]