Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 04:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Expose-clone 2.4 (shows thumbnails of open windows)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2007, 13:01    Post subject:  

update:
added a nicer background (see screenshot in 1st message) and an 48x48 icon.

*edit* modified the icon again.
It is in /usr/local/expose2.4 but not used by default, as it would enlarge the jwm menu.
I attach the new one.

Mark
expose24.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.67 KB
 Viewed   874 Time(s)

expose24.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2007, 08:44    Post subject:  

I uploaded a second version.
Only difference:

The "button" now is located on top of the screen, and has a size of 1 pixel.

So it is no "button", but a very slim "bar".

I find it much easier to move the mouse on top of the screen, and click to see all windows.
This is more intuitive than pointing to a standard-button.
I also deactivated the option to close the button, as this easily happened by accident.
Type
killall exposestart
if you need to exit the button.

Update: no more second version, this is default now.
See next message.
Mark

Last edited by MU on Fri 15 Feb 2008, 18:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 18:12    Post subject:  

I updated the expose-dotpup.
By default it now is always a 1 pixel high bar on top of your screen, and no button.

I made improvements:
The "delay" is no longer needed.
It now uses a feature from Gtk to flush the screen, after a window was raised.
Thanks to this, a snapshot can be taken without delay.

I also enhanced the detection of windows, that shall not be "photographed", like the gdesklets.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wizzerd02

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2009, 13:22    Post subject: puppy 4 problems  

Does this work with puppy 4?
If I have three windows open so that they are stacked on one another, when I invoke expose I am shown 3 images of the top window. If the windows are staggered somewhat I will see an image of the bottom window but with a section of the top window overlapping it. When I click on any of the images I am taken to the top window.

Not sure what I am doing wrong. Also is there a way to bind this to the scroll wheel of the mouse? like with btnx?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2009, 14:39    Post subject:  

It does not work correct in JWM, just in Icewm.
JWM does not support NetWM specifications. These are a standard technique, that allows applications to interact with the windowmanager.

But also in Icewm, you sometimes do not get correct snapshots, especially on older computers.
In that case, you must increase the "delay" value in
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2
and
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2now

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2009, 14:44    Post subject:  

I attach a slightly different version.
I had added some tweaks for Muppy, so that no delays should be needed.

Mark
expose-2.4-Muppy.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  expose-2.4-Muppy.pet 
Filesize  153.35 KB 
Downloaded  242 Time(s) 

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 05:40    Post subject:  

Mark, is it possible to change location of the "expose bar" or to hide it and make a hotkey shortcut?
looks nice on eee with xfce4( although desktop is shown as a window)

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 18:31    Post subject:  

magerlab,

if you can assign a key to a program in xfce, assign it to
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2now

This shows the desktop overview directly, it does not launch a button you must click.
To remove the desktop from the overview, you had to recompile
/usr/local/expose2.4/resource/runexpose.c

Look around line 81 and 154.
That excludes rox-filer (the pinboard).
Add in the same way the xfce desktop.
To get the string you must use here, run from a console:
xprop

then click on the desktop.
This should print a line like:
WM_NAME(STRING) = "pcmanfm"
For xfce, there will be shown another name.
It is the string, that you must use.

Then compile it:

cd /usr/local/expose2.4/resource
bash compile.c.sh runexpose


This creates a new executable "runexpose".
Let me know, if you have problems with this.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 05:54    Post subject:  

thank you, Mark!
i added a shortcut easily
i did not yet compile anything myself, so may be it's tme to start:)
xprop gives me command not found( i use latest NOP now)
maybe xfdesktop will match?

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 06:03    Post subject:  

I attach xprop from NYP. Extract it in /usr/X11R7/bin.
Not sure if it works for your puplet.
If not, I can search the one from Puppy 4.12 in my downloads.
If you give me the correct string, I could modify + compile it for yo.
Mark
xprop.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xprop.tar.gz 
Filesize  13.11 KB 
Downloaded  215 Time(s) 

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 06:18    Post subject:  

i attach a recompiled runexpose.
It now excludes "pcmanfm" and "xfdesktop".

I included the source, and a script, that can compile it again.

Simply replace the existing "runexpose" with the one I included.
Please let me know, if it works, then I can update the whole pet.

Mark
xfcetestpatch.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xfcetestpatch.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.63 KB 
Downloaded  222 Time(s) 

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 14:11    Post subject:  

thank's again, Mark!
i replaced runexpose with your file
it works but only when i click on it in thunar
when i run expose2now i have desktop shown
if i run directly runexpose in thunar desktop is not shown
strange but i can not run runexpose with shortcut...

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wizzerd02

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2009, 14:28    Post subject:  

i downloaded the muppy expose 2.4 PET and tried again with icewm. I get the same effect as I described before with JWM in puppy 4.2.

I am no linux master, but I have searched the forum and don't know how to make this work.

I booted to icewm. I installed imlib2 dotpup. I installed muppy expose PET.
I start expose from the menu. I open two apps or folders, waiting a few seconds between each. I click at the top of the screen and get one correct image and the other image is one of the windows with the top window overlapping it. Clicking either image gives the same result- i am taken to the top window.

What to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2261

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 12:55    Post subject:  

I downloaded a pet of expose2.4 the other day -is there any way to tell if I got the latest one, or do we have to refer to the version by the post number of this thread? Mark, please use unique version number for each and every release you create, please, please? We won't think you are a bad porogrammer if your program makes it all the way to 10.3.346.2 or whatever! If you have ten releases all with the same number what is the poinbt of having a version at all?
How about if I want the version that was mentioned on page 3 post 27(zum Beispiel)? How can I get that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 13:11    Post subject:  

the latest is
expose-2.4-Muppy.pet
on this page.
Yes I know, I'll try to version my programs in future.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0751s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]