Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 20:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Newyearspup 02 Micro, Mini, Midi, and Maxi RC10
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Frila

Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 11:06    Post subject:    

MU wrote:
Frila wrote:
This was the nicest puplet I have seen. Just great! Really good job Very Happy

Just one problem, the task bar sometimes disappears up, "above the screen", and is not reachable... Confused


I don't have this issue, but had it in wows unnamed puplet some days ago running in virtualbox.
I have no solution yet.

But a workaround:
if you click on the icon "Reload Desktop" on your desktop, it should re-appear?
This icon will reload the panel and the desktop icons.

Does that work for you?
Mark



If I reboot the task bar comes back nicely. But reloading desktop does not work. But, actually the problem has just appeared occasionally.

I'm now running from a USB stick and it works just perfectly Smile .
But why starts Xorgwizard every time? I have to hit Xorg every time?? Should it be like that? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 13:26    Post subject:  

Frila wrote:
I'm now running from a USB stick and it works just perfectly Smile .
But why starts Xorgwizard every time? I have to hit Xorg every time?? Should it be like that? Confused


no, certainly not Confused
I must test this myself in the next days.
I just finished rc7, so cannot give you a bugfix today.

I hope, I can solve it until wednesday.

Mange takk for the compliments Smile
Mark

_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Sun 08 Mar 2009, 14:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 13:49    Post subject:  

uploaded rc7

In rc6, there STILL was a wrong libdri.so.
And maybe some other wrong libs.

As a consequence, xorg was not usable on my notebook with SIS graficschip.
I now replaced again several libs, and now it works.
So if your graficscard did not work with Midi in rc6, it now might work.

Concerning SIS poweroff:
I looked at NOP, and it runs "acpi=force" from isolinux.cfg.
So I added this, too. Like this such Computers should power down, if run from CD.
I hope, this has no bad sideeffect on other computers, but until now, from what I had read, this usually is ok.

The weather-applet is included again, but must be activated explicitly in the desktop-options.
Also the deskicons themselves must be activated there, so the desktop looks less "overfilled" at startup.

I added the missing lib for E17.
I added missing GPG binaries, that caused an error starting Sylpheed.
Replaced Puppy Package Manager with localized version (french).

-------------------------------------
I spent hours, to check remastering.
Still broken: you can not use remastered DVDs for multisession.
After you saved the first session, Puppy hangs at startup at "setting up the layered filesystem". I found no solution yet Sad

Concerning multisession with the original Iso - it works here:
I burned it with "Burniso2CD".
Saving sessions worked fine, but I got an error "Rock ridge" when I tried to save the 4th session.
After a reboot, I could continue to save sessions, though. I created more than 10.

I then burned a second DVD with pburn.
Here I could save 8 sessions without any error.

Googling for "Rock ridge" brought no help.
This error seems to be given for a wide variety of errors.
This can be filesystem charset errors, errors on the DVD, or others.
As I got this error only once, I just can suspect, that it was something related to writing speed or a bad media.

I however could NOT save a session, if I removed the DVD temporarily, to burn another one with pburn. This resulted in a seek error.
But pburn in general is problematic with my Phillips burner, I usually reboot, after I burned a DVD.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Sun 08 Mar 2009, 16:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Frila

Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 16:06    Post subject:  

You must be working with this so you eyes are getting square Wink

I'm not so very familiar with .sfs files. If I want to update to rc7 which is the best way to do it without reinstalling everything? Can I extract the .sfs file out of the .iso file and then just copy it to my USB stick? Or, was that too simple?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 16:36    Post subject:  

Frila,

You can click on the Iso in the filemanager, to mount it.
This will open it like a folder in /mnt/.
So you will see something like
/mnt/+mnt+sdc1+downloads+NewyearspupMU-02-rc7-midi.iso
In that folder, you will see a file called "pup_411.sfs".
Copy than onto your USB-Stick, overwriting the existing one.

If you have no pup_411.sfs on your USB-Stick, it would be more difficult.
Let me know, if you have one there.

The best will be, to copy, while it is not in use.
So if possible, boot from CD.
The fat32 filesystem commonly used on USB-sticks would create lost clusters, if the file is replaced, while it is mounted.
So you would loose around 400 MB free space, that just could be retrieved back by repairing the filesystem.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 21:22    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
uploaded rc7


-------------------------------------
I spent hours, to check remastering.
Still broken: you can not use remastered DVDs for multisession.
After you saved the first session, Puppy hangs at startup at "setting up the layered filesystem". I found no solution yet Sad


I noticed that the system seems to "forget" the preferences for the CD and DVD drives(I have a DVD-RW and a CD-RW). Is it possible that
the reason we can't get the multi-session LiveCD to work as expected is that the system doesn't know which drives are which...and assumes there is no drive so it can't save?

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 06:33    Post subject:  

Terrific, Mark, thanks!

One show-stopper, however, needing your immediate attention, please: I cannot get the UK keyboard by any means. I set it at boot up, use the locales selection & co, but it seems that the US keyboard has corrupted the UK one??? Subversion? CIA? Frankly we should not offer the US keyboard at all - let them use proper English and pounds sterling (or euros).....

Also:
Cannot get weather applet to run in midi - just gives a website.
Whatever you did to enact SiS shutdown has also changed the behaviour of CTL-ALT-BKSPCE. It now correctly exits to a prompt rather than a total hard shutdown - terrific.

Last edited by Sage on Mon 09 Mar 2009, 09:39; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 07:26    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Frankly we should not offer the US keyboard at all - let them use proper English and pounds sterling (or euros).....


And I'm sure you'd be more than willing and able to fund all the conversion costs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 08:31    Post subject:  

Not at all. I planned to nuke any protesters along with all those lacking the humour gene...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 12:43    Post subject:  

Sage, can you please post the content of your /etc/keymap?

If it contains "uk.map", then it should work.
If it does not, you can try to set it in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.YOUR_CARD_NAME.

The keyboard line there is commented:

Code:
#   Option       "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0


You might change it to:
Code:
   Option       "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0


But I am not certain, that this works.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 13:33    Post subject:  

It gets worse!
/etc/keymap says "uk.map"
and
/etc/X11/xorg.conf clearly shows "gb"

but the output of
@ is "
£ is #
~ is |
\ is <
and
CTL-ALT-4 does NOT give euro symbol
etc.
No idea what the problem is. As I said, I tried to enter the correct assignments in everything I could find. Maybe the gb file is using another European configuration? I used to know some of those but have forgotten them now. Hope you can come up with the answer, Mark, as it's pretty serious!
Am using a bog std. old Dell k/b (with the Win key) and no fancy fastkeys, which, frankly, I've found to be a waste of good plastic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 14:21    Post subject:  

--removed
_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Mon 09 Mar 2009, 16:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 14:43    Post subject:  

--removed
_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Mon 09 Mar 2009, 16:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 15:24    Post subject:  

Code:
# setxkbmap -v -layout de
Warning! Multiple definitions of keyboard layout
         Using command line, ignoring X server
Trying to build keymap using the following components:
keycodes:   evdev+aliases(qwertz)
types:      complete
compat:     complete
symbols:    pc+de+inet(evdev)
geometry:   pc(pc104)


But:
Code:

# setxkbmap -v -layout uk
Warning! Multiple definitions of keyboard layout
         Using command line, ignoring X server
Trying to build keymap using the following components:
keycodes:   evdev+aliases(qwerty)
types:      complete
compat:     complete
symbols:    pc+uk+inet(evdev)
geometry:   pc(pc104)
Error loading new keyboard description


hm, why is this ...
I don't know much about this, must google...

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 15:42    Post subject:  

I think it has to do with
/etc/X11/xkb/
When I replace it with the one from Muppy, I get the same error for the "de" layout.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0960s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]