Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 Alpha4 Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 13 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 05:44    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
I had a crash today in 4.2alpa4. I booted to ram, got settings and desktop how I wanted, browsed for an hour or so then left the laptop for about half an hour. Got back and was surprised to see the screen how I left it, normally would be blank in sleep mode.
Anyways, I had a complete lock up, no mouse no keys nothing. Had to do the dreaded hard power off Sad . Couldn't save a thing. Has this been reported? Maybe just my hardware? IBM Thinkpad r31, 1066celeron, 512ram.

Alpha4 has acpid updated. That may be the root cause ... or not. Try running for a similar period after booting with noacpi parameter.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 05:48    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
I had a crash today in 4.2alpa4. I booted to ram, got settings and desktop how I wanted, browsed for an hour or so then left the laptop for about half an hour. Got back and was surprised to see the screen how I left it, normally would be blank in sleep mode.
Anyways, I had a complete lock up, no mouse no keys nothing. Had to do the dreaded hard power off Sad . Couldn't save a thing. Has this been reported? Maybe just my hardware? IBM Thinkpad r31, 1066celeron, 512ram.


Hey Mick

I've had puppy4.2A4 installed since the day it came out, and haven't shut my pc off yet, and had no crashes at all, the only main real issue I had was that missing tiny rox image file for the hard drive. Other than that its been pretty good Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 07:03    Post_subject:
Sub_title: A bit of CUPS Testing
 

ttuuxxx wrote:
nic2109 wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
Ps anyone tried the Cups package on page 1 I made?
and

@ttuuxxx

I will definitely give it a try, but I'm at work for the day and will be late home today so it may not be for another day and a half.

Where would you prefer feedback - here or in another thread?


Thanks Nick it will be a good start, I guess we can have the responses in thread, that way maybe others will see it and join along Smile
If it gets over blown which it probably won't Then maybe a thread.
thanks once again
ttuuxxx


Basically my first couple of tries have been disappointing. The "look and feel" is better but for my HP network printer it's actually worse than the old version 1.1 setup. That was as friendly as a cornered ferret but at least I knew what to do to get it to work. Wink

1. Discovery of the network printer is intermittant and seems to only work after you have tried manually. If you add a printer with a manual assignment to protocol 'socket://localhost:9100' then the 'Find network printer' option is present next time.
2. When it does discover the printer successfully it selects the socket protocol but omits the ':9100' suffix to the I/P address which it has picked up. Under the old 1.1 setup it never worked without the suffix so I'm assuming that it's still a necessity. Without it nothing prints.
3. Adding it manually with ':9100' doesn't work either. In fact I haven't got anything to print at all.
4. It only offers a choice of 2 models under HP. Where have all the others gone?

In summary then: not really any good for me. Sad

If there's more trouble-shooting I can do then please let me know.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 07:05    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
aragon wrote:
did you get those too?

Yep. I'm trying to acknowledge every contributory post, question and bug fix but there are so many contributions happening now that sometimes I just have to grab what's on offer and keep going without stopping to say thanks. So, if I've missed the opportunity somewhere, "Thanks" aragon. Wink


thanks accepted, but don't say it again whodo Wink otherwise we all have to thank each other because we are all doing our best.

and don't forget: we have to thank you. you have to cope whith what you're doing yourself AND what we're all doing...

so enough snuggling
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 07:20    Post_subject:  

aragon wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
aragon wrote:
did you get those too?

Yep. I'm trying to acknowledge every contributory post, question and bug fix but there are so many contributions happening now that sometimes I just have to grab what's on offer and keep going without stopping to say thanks. So, if I've missed the opportunity somewhere, "Thanks" aragon. Wink


thanks accepted, but don't say it again whodo Wink otherwise we all have to thank each other because we are all doing our best.

and don't forget: we have to thank you. you have to cope whith what you're doing yourself AND what we're all doing...

so enough snuggling
aragon


hey can I get on the group hugs thing too Wink
but really Its funny how distracted you get sometimes, Like I start working on cups and I do a search cups related and before you know it I'm compiling cd drivers and media players and then like an hour later I'm compiling a old version of VLC , and I was Looking for Cups info, LOL LOL LOL. I need to stay focused.
ttuuxxx
LOL

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 08:16    Post_subject:
Sub_title: A bit of CUPS Testing
 

nic2109 wrote:
.

Hey Nic Well I had a closer look and it looks like Mr WhoDo removed the foofilters also, hmmmm I did ask him to remove Cups But the whole enchilada, I guess I have my work cut out for me, Looks like I have to compile Ghostscript also, no wonder why the printing wasn't working right, cups connects to the http fine, so that a step, Won't be long until I have something.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 09:24    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
aragon wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
aragon wrote:
did you get those too?

Yep. I'm trying to acknowledge every contributory post, question and bug fix but there are so many contributions happening now that sometimes I just have to grab what's on offer and keep going without stopping to say thanks. So, if I've missed the opportunity somewhere, "Thanks" aragon. Wink


thanks accepted, but don't say it again whodo Wink otherwise we all have to thank each other because we are all doing our best.

and don't forget: we have to thank you. you have to cope whith what you're doing yourself AND what we're all doing...

so enough snuggling
aragon


hey can I get on the group hugs thing too Wink
but really Its funny how distracted you get sometimes, Like I start working on cups and I do a search cups related and before you know it I'm compiling cd drivers and media players and then like an hour later I'm compiling a old version of VLC , and I was Looking for Cups info, LOL LOL LOL. I need to stay focused.
ttuuxxx
LOL


hey ttuuxxx,

this one is especially for you:

Thank You!!!

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 09:52    Post_subject:  

Ttuuxxx, thanks for the .pet. It worked a treat. One click and the problem's fixed. Smile
_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 10:20    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
Ttuuxxx, thanks for the .pet. It worked a treat. One click and the problem's fixed. Smile

your welcome its just a hidden setting file in root Smile but yes sometimes its just nice and easy. the file is /root/.Xdefaults <----hidden, you can right click on it and open it as text and change it to any colour you want,
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 11:30    Post_subject:  

Ghostscript is one of those difficult applications to compile, well it compiles perfect, but also makes a 11MB bin file, what Barry did in the past is to make a so file by typing this
ln -s src/unix-gcc.mak makefile
make so

But there is a note about some gcc models or systems breaking the so file, well guess what? ours did, So it looks like either we blow the size of Ghostscript, to like 7MBpet, which I don't think we'll be doing Wink Or I'll mix Barrys older bin+1 lib with the rest of the newer version and see where that takes us.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 12:05    Post_subject:  

@@@CUPS@@@
Ok if you download the cups version from the start of this thread you don't have to do it again, Yet.
What I did was compile and stripped the Foofilters and Ghostscript packages, I reused Barry's bin and lib and saved about 5MB compressed. I need testers to try all 3 together. The GhostScript will be reduced further by removing the fonts, Like Barry has in the past, saves another 1.5MB. But he did mention he has issues, so I figured lets see if it works before taking a gamble.

(This version was compiled when 4.2A4 was released and no updates yet)
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/alphatesting/cups-1.4b2-i386-v1.pet

http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/alphatesting/foomatic-filters-4.0.0-1.pet

http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/alphatesting/ghostscript-8.63-1.pet

Hope it works guys, good luck.
ttuuxxx

Hey WhoDo anything else you might of removed that you forgot to tell me ???

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 13:17    Post_subject:  

Ok guys I installed all 3 packages plus the gutenprint package I made up in 4.2A3 and added the cups experimental driver plugin for usbs found on Patriots Cups page, and it worked Smile)))))) for the first time on Puppy this Cannon printer works, yahoooooooo. Just one thing I noticed WhoDo once again removed a plugin for Abiword and well We just need the main plugins back and we should be fine. Hope it works for others. Below is the USB experimental driver that worked for me.
I made it into a pet.
ttuuxxx


Here's the gutenprint (don't worry about the missing libs, its just for a gimp plugin, If you have gimp 2.0+ installed you can print directly)

http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/programs/documents/gutenprint-5.2.3-i386-no-ppd.pet

PS I printed this thread in colour about 4 pages worth, Smile Smile Smile
cups.png
 Description   
 Filesize   82.07 KB
 Viewed   1348 Time(s)

cups.png

cupsusb.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cupsusb.pet 
Filesize  10.19 KB 
Downloaded  511 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 13:29    Post_subject:  

Network Printing also works, I set the printer as a server and went to my other pc on the LAN and selected file print, and I printed the google homepage. Now thats the first time I've printed over my home network which is cat5 with a adsl2+modem 4 port router. Since xp like 4 yrs ago. really cool, too bad my wife uses xp, hmmmmm.
anyways glad its working. tomorrow I'll try to reduce the size.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 14:07    Post_subject:  

How to hide the new side-trays.
I have added a close-button at bottom of both side-trays. I could have uploaded a new DeepThought-jwm-tray package, but WhoDo needs to add it by hand. If we don't see this in Puppy 4.2, I will update the DeepThought-jwm-tray package for the others.



- I have moved the tray-code (only for the 2 side trays) from /root/.jwmrc-tray to separate rc files. /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon look like this:
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray autohide="true" border="0" y="80" halign="left" width="17" layer="0" layout="vertical">
      <TrayButton icon="add_icon.png">exec:icon2desk</TrayButton>
      <TrayButton popup="Remove this tray" icon="hide_tray.png">exec:echo " " > /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon; jwm -restart</TrayButton>
   </Tray>
</JWM>
and this is /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget:
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray autohide="true" border="0" y="80" halign="right" width="17" layer="0" layout="vertical">
      <TrayButton icon="add_widget.png">exec:pwidgets</TrayButton>
      <TrayButton popup="Remove this tray" icon="hide_tray.png">exec:echo " " > /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget; jwm -restart</TrayButton>
   </Tray>
</JWM>

When user press the hide-tray button, the rc file is blanked. Because of this, I suggest you to backup these 2 files in
/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon.bak
/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget.bak

Now the trays can be returned with the commands:
cp -f /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon.bak /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon
cp -f /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget.bak /root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget
This can of course be placed in the jwmconfig gui

Now we need to include all 4 trays in /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc
Code:
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-top</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon</Include>


The only thing you miss now is the close-icon. Place it in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/
hide_tray.png
 Description   
 Filesize   194 Bytes
 Viewed   1281 Time(s)

hide_tray.png


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 15:45    Post_subject:  cups
Sub_title: cups test
 

Quote:
"Ok guys I installed all 3 packages plus the gutenprint package I made up in 4.2A3 and added the cups experimental driver plugin for usbs found on Patriots Cups page, and it worked Smile)))))) for the first time on Puppy this Cannon printer works, yahoooooooo. Just one thing I noticed WhoDo once again removed a plugin for Abiword and well We just need the main plugins back and we should be fine. Hope it works for others. Below is the USB experimental driver that worked for me.
I made it into a pet.
ttuuxxx
"

Same here sir: Booted Alpha 4, ran all five pets, recognized the usb printer, found my canon ip4300. Ran print test.. bit slow.. took most of three or so minutes, but, printed in high quality.

Now for making it easy to use Smile)). Progress in a forward direction!!

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1306s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0186s) ][ GZIP on ]