Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 05:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
xload is NOT a CPU usage meter
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jan 2009, 23:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
What's wrong with this sentence:

AFAICS what's wrong with it is that I wasn't certain about the correct terminology because I hadn't investigated it properly. I don't think getting the terminology precisely right will make much difference to the understanding of most users unless we define the terminology as well.

I'm not much of a hacker, and the last I heard xload was going to be switched off in Puppy 4.2, but when I get a chance I might have a look to see if I can add a tooltip or a context menu.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 31 Jan 2009, 00:01    Post subject:  

Peace be with you, my friend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 09:33    Post subject:  

My previous load average example giving a 1 minute average was a bit lacking in granularity. This might be more promising
Code:
while [ 1 ]; do top -n 1 | head -2 | tail -n 1 | awk '{print $8}'| sed 's/%//';sleep 2;done
it displays the idle value from top, subtract it from 100 and you have the current cpu utilization (I think). I have hooked this into brads battery monitor so that you get a green square in the taskbar with 8 levels of red filling it up depending on the utilization. The icon is just created from 9 32x32 png files ranging from all green to all red. It is not very pretty!
cpumon.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.04 KB
 Viewed   4422 Time(s)

cpumon.png


_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 09:40    Post subject:  

cpu usage from deskicons002:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
# by Paul Colby (http://colby.id.au), no rights reserved ;)

####cd ../icons

####cp -ax terminal-black.png /tmp/deskiconsramdrive/terminal.png

PREV_TOTAL=0
PREV_IDLE=0

while true; do
  CPU=(`cat /proc/stat | grep '^cpu '`) # Get the total CPU statistics.
  unset CPU[0]                          # Discard the "cpu" prefix.
  IDLE=${CPU[4]}                        # Get the idle CPU time.

  # Calculate the total CPU time.
  TOTAL=0
  for VALUE in "${CPU[@]}"; do
    let "TOTAL=$TOTAL+$VALUE"
  done

  # Calculate the CPU usage since we last checked.
  let "DIFF_IDLE=$IDLE-$PREV_IDLE"
  let "DIFF_TOTAL=$TOTAL-$PREV_TOTAL"
  let "DIFF_USAGE=(1000*($DIFF_TOTAL-$DIFF_IDLE)/$DIFF_TOTAL+5)/10"

#### comment next line for use with deskicons
  echo -en "\rCPU: $DIFF_USAGE%  \b\b"

####pic=terminal-green.png
####if [ $DIFF_USAGE -gt 33 ];then
####   pic=terminal-yellow.png
####fi
####if [ $DIFF_USAGE -gt 66 ];then
####   pic=terminal-red.png
####fi

####cp -ax $pic /tmp/deskiconsramdrive/terminal.png

  # Remember the total and idle CPU times for the next check.
  PREV_TOTAL="$TOTAL"
  PREV_IDLE="$IDLE"

  # Wait before checking again.
  sleep 1
done


I commented with #### the desktopicons specific lines, so it is reverted back to the original script I found in the web.
Like this it prints the values to the console.
With slight modifications concerning the pictures, you might adapt it for the jwm tray.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 10:09    Post subject:  

thanks Mark
That confirms that the value I am using is sensible, I'm just collecting it in an expensive way. I will probably try and do a complete solution in C to avoid the cost of opening a shell every couple of seconds. I do find it interesting how my cpu bounces from 2-30% whilst I am not interacting with my machine.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 04:43    Post subject:  

I read through this thread a few times now, and oddly have come to the conclusion that a monitor for running processes is actually a lot more useful as a diagnostic tool than a CPU meter.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
asdf42

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 10:52    Post subject:  

A few things about xload and CPU meters:

* I use puppy for web browsing, often with many pages opened. Xload increases before my PC gets unresponsive. It is a very useful information. Until I read this thred, I never knew how it detects it, but I used it.

* For a very long time, I didnt pay attention to the white lines across it. It took me *very* long to realize that these are the scales and thus their number is more important than the graph itself. - I believe a tooltip saying how the graph should be read and what it means is VERY important and it should be included in the next version of puppy.

* If anybody wants to monitor the CPU usage, I recommend running a console and calling "top". It is a standard unix command that gives info about processes sorted by CPU usage, about memory usage and similar things. If you dont know it, just try it! I believe this info about managing your processes should be in all starter guides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jan 2010, 21:22    Post subject: Great idea  

Quote:
I believe a tooltip saying how the graph should be read and what it means is VERY important and it should be included in the next version of puppy.

Yes, good point. freememapplet needs the same thing. But I don't think jwm can provide tooltips for swallowed items though, so you'd either need to modify jwm or xload and freememapplet, or perhaps run them via alltray or something...

Quote:
I believe this info about managing your processes should be in all starter guides.

Yes, although you shouldn't really need to know it. Puppy should just work Wink

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 16:16    Post subject:  

asdf42 wrote:
* If anybody wants to monitor the CPU usage, I recommend running a console and calling "top". It is a standard unix command that gives info about processes sorted by CPU usage, about memory usage and similar things. If you dont know it, just try it! I believe this info about managing your processes should be in all starter guides.

I use top regularly. But it should be noted that the implementation Puppy uses is the cut down version included in busybox. The real thing has a much larger feature set. See http://linux.die.net/man/1/top

I have Ubuntu in another partition on the box that runs Puppy, and copied Ubuntu's full version over for use in Puppy.
______
Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proximityinfotech1
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 13 Jul 2010, 06:16    Post subject:  

Now the question is, is there a similar app that DOES graph CPU usage, and can be used in JWM?
There is xloadtime, which is a fork of xload, that can display an extra bar for it, but it doesn't show a graph over time, just a single bar per CPU.

_____________________________________________
Back to top
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jul 2010, 06:31    Post subject:  

Somebody found some sort of easy tool for making tray apps a while ago and several apps were made - one of them may have been for CPU usage.
I think this was in the thread for 2.14R or something - can anybody remember?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jul 2010, 08:34    Post subject:  

disciple

Is this the one? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=44986

I still have it installed on my old machine.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jul 2010, 06:06    Post subject:  

No, at least not the first version posted there. As I described there, it seems to show the CPU speed, so is useful on a laptop or something with dynamic CPU scaling or whatever it's called..
I can't remember for sure what the "modified" version there shows, but from my second comment it sounds like it isn't conventional "cpu usage" either.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jul 2010, 06:21    Post subject:  

If I haven't imagined it and there really was one, I think it was about the same time as that post though... maybe a couple of months later.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mulluysavage

Joined: 30 Apr 2010
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 14:24    Post subject:  

I upgraded to 5.1.1 yesterday. I was concerned about my red blob, which I thought was a cpu meter! Smile Today, my red blob has 5 lines, 4 of which are full. My computer runs fine, but I am wondering why I have so many threads! (Do I have a lot, it seems like it)

Asus M3N78 Pro
AMD Phenom Quad-Core @ 2.6 Ghz
3 GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0934s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]