Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 09:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Free memory indicator (bottom RH corner) - FULL INSTALL ONLY
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 19:59    Post_subject:  Free memory indicator (bottom RH corner) - FULL INSTALL ONLY  

can somebody please help me to understand what is indicated by "free memory" thingy in the bottom rh taskbar?
I have FULL INSTALL with 4GB RAM and no swap partition.
Code:

# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:      3370384       352648      3017736            0        17976
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:      3370384       352648      3017736


and
Code:

# df -m
Filesystem           1M-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3                 9844       480      8864   5% /
/dev/sda6                24987     14620     10368  59% /mnt/sda6
/dev/sda7                24987      9909     15078  40% /mnt/sda7
/dev/sda8                24987      6509     18479  26% /mnt/sda8
/dev/sda9                31981     25002      6979  78% /mnt/sda9


Where sda3 is Puppy partition (6, 7, 8 and 9 are data partitions)
The "free memory" thingy normally tells me that 8864 is free
(btw I understand that it is not RAM that it indicates, but what does it indicated for FULL INSTALL?)

what surprised me tonight (while surfing on Seamonkey, with nothing else going on)
that suddenly the usage went 100%, red box with warnings about lack of available memory appeared on my screen . . .
I must admit - I have panicked a bit and simply rebooted.
Everything is fine now, but I don't like things I do not understand, so I hope that somebody can enlighten me Idea please

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 20:11    Post_subject:  

Bambuko

The little blue box tells you how much space is left on that partition.

Run gparted to check it to.

rjb
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 20:16    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
. . .how much space is left on that partition. . .

sda3 - OK understand now, but it doesn't make sense with sudden 100% usage ?
how is it possible that, just surfing Seamonkey I went from 5% usage to 100% - weird
Is this something to do with the lack of swap partition?
I thought I didn't need it with 4GB ram?

rjbrewer wrote:
. . .Run gparted to check it to. . .

don't need to Wink it's the same as df -m (see in my posting above)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 20:30    Post_subject:  

Well; if your on sda3 it would say 8.8g.
Very strange.
Was it the grey cpu usage box turning all red?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr. Maxwell


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 215
Location: Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 20:56    Post_subject:  

Go buy a memory riser and install 128GB of 1600MHz RAM. Very Happy

Could it have something to do with puppy not supporting 4GB of RAM? (Asumming puppy is 32 bit not 64bit) It only shows 3.3GBs of total RAM. 32 bit OS's can only suport 4GB of RAM and 1 GB of that RAM is reserved for something that I can't remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 20:57    Post_subject:  

Something I really don't understand: I only have 256mb ram and
it shows 0 shared.

You are showing almost 90percent shared. Shared with what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 21:12    Post_subject:  

Never mind; shift words left.

Try with 2 gigs ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 04:06    Post_subject:  

Bambuko

A little searching indicates that puppy could use as much as 64 gigs of ram.

The only time I ever saw the flashing red indication and warnings
was when a frugal pup-save file ran out of space.

Maybe watching "top" will give an indication of what's going on.

good luck

rjb
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 06:03    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
. . .if your on sda3 it would say 8.8g . . .

it shows 8864 (1M-blocks) so this is fine

rjbrewer wrote:
. . .Was it the grey cpu usage box turning all red?

yes, it was the grey box filling in red, additional red warning showing at the top of the screen, and free memory indicator going down to 0. . .[/quote]

rjbrewer wrote:
. . .Very strange. . .

yeap, most puzzling Rolling Eyes


rjbrewer wrote:
. . .Maybe watching "top" will give an indication of what's going on. . .

yes, will have to try it before re-booting next time Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 09:09    Post_subject:  

Code:

9%   0% X :0 -br -nolisten tcp
4%   0% /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.8/seamonkey-bin
1%   0% /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin

I am just browsing and running rxvt with top, so what is this tcp?
quick google search didn't come up with anything that would help me Confused
but I assume it is normal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 12:35    Post_subject:  

Bambuko

Don't know what "nolisten tcp" is about. I just ignore it.

I meant, keep the "top" screen up and running while using
seamonkey and watching videostreams or whatever it was
you were doing when the problem happened originally; see
what the percentage of ram and cpu says.

rjb
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 12:39    Post_subject:  

yes, that's what I am doing now (running top)
and the percentage in my post above are what it is showing when working fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 12:59    Post_subject:  

Well; I'm totally bamboozled for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 13:44    Post_subject:  

just increase your pupsave file to 13gigs like I did and don't think about it Smile lol
I actually had it down to 8 gigs within 4 days, compiling browsers etc, Firefox takes 500MB of compiling space alone.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 13:55    Post_subject:  

Quote:
just increase your pupsave file to 13gigs


No pup_save file with a FULL install...

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0797s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]