Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Boxpup 4.1.2 released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 10:55    Post_subject:  

very nice to have an update to my favorite pupplet
also i want to thank gray for xfce4 pet and updates of opera



is there a way to increase font of hdbar?
it always resets to 6 inspite of my settings....

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 18:53    Post_subject: hotbar font size  

Magerlab, if you look in /etc/hotbar folder there is a script called restart_bar.
The font size is set in that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 03:57    Post_subject:  

Ok, i 'll look at that script
_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 18:03    Post_subject: oops  

Sorry Magerlab, wrong script Embarassed

The font is set in pup_event_frontend_d which is in the /sbin folder

In function add_desktopfile_func at line 73

Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 22 Dec 2008, 12:48    Post_subject:  

How can we prevent Opera (or any other program) to cover wbar/lxpanel/tint/drive icons on Maximize?
_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Dec 2008, 19:10    Post_subject: Openbox config  

@T_Hobbit :

Use the Margins setting in the Openbox Configuration Manager in the Desktop Menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
miaso

Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 24 Dec 2008, 23:04    Post_subject: why some files can't be found on my removeable disks?  

Why some files can't be found on my removeable disks?
Don' t surrpot NTFS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 26 Dec 2008, 05:29    Post_subject:  

You did it again!

Thanks Gray,
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year for all of you!

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 03:58    Post_subject: Cups HPIJS  

Is there a reason why the current Puppy and derivatives use only the Gutenprint drivers in Cups.I find them to be painfully slow with my HP5550 Deskjet printer.With Puppy 4.1.1 I can load the old cups version 0.3 Pet and as it has the HPIJS drivers in it ,it appears to combine with the included one and my printer works well with the recommended foomatic driver. With Box(which is otherwise really good)this does not happen for some reason.Also after doing the above gutenprint doesnt work either.
I have also downloaded the HPIJS package with the package manager but it will not operate with the existing Box Cups Package.
I would love to use Box but without the printer working it is less than ideal.
Any thoughts anyone.
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 08:01    Post_subject:  

Printer problems...
I still need help on how to config an USB printer connected to USB port of my WiFi router (Asus WL-500G Premium).

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
doggiebowwow

Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 17:02    Post_subject:  

I just registered to give kudos to gray for creating such an elegant pupplet. I like the choice of software that was bundled in compared with the main puppy linux. I support the idea of using Opera as the built in browser - it already has built in irc,mail rss,note taking and bittorent functionality (and so much more) built in. I wish that the big red O icon for opera was used though instead of the 'globe' icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wosifat

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Madison Heights, VA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2009, 23:22    Post_subject:  

Did anyone figure out that problem with looking for the old pup_410.sfs file? I have stock Puppy41 installed on the HD frugal, and the last time I tried to run Boxpup after saving the session, it loaded the info for Puppy41 instead of Boxpup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
eliza_a

Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2009, 12:58    Post_subject: pidgin
Sub_title: boxpup didn't have pidgin ...
 

I prefer pidgin to ayttm and now there's a pet that works with boxpup Smile

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=262752

thank you for writing it ttuuxxx

e.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 12:46    Post_subject: How do I add icons or menu items to the desktop?  

I am very impressed with Boxpup and have added some programs running on wine. Everything works fine from the command line but I would like to create desktop icons or menu entries for them. I have tried to send the executables to the desktop but it appears to be locked. Does it come that way by default? If so, how do I unlock it?

Later: I have now edited /root/.wbar so I have that sorted. Smile I have also replaced the Internet icon with Opera icon. A copy is attached below for anyone who wants it. Copy it into /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps and amend the entry for "Internet" to point to it.

However, I would still like to know how to edit the right-click menu on the desktop for additional applications I don't want to include in wbar. How do manual additions affect the "refresh menu" option?
opera.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.8 KB
 Viewed   1137 Time(s)

opera.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wosifat

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Madison Heights, VA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 21:50    Post_subject:  

The latest...
Someone finally told me how to get Pysol working, and I'm loving boxpup. Just got a laptop, and want to get a battery monitor in conky, but can't find the conkyrc file. It's not in /root. Where is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0904s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0238s) ][ GZIP on ]