Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 21:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Pwidgets 2.4.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 205 [3066 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 203, 204, 205 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 12:12    Post subject:  

It is in the directory as :

ionic.ttf is this correct rather than IonicCharge.ttf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 18:17    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
It is in the directory as :

ionic.ttf is this correct rather than IonicCharge.ttf

Try copying your fonts to /root/.fonts directory - if it isn't there, create it. I installed the fonts that Zigbert supplied about 3 times and nothing. Then I manually put them in the /root/.fonts directory and voila!

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 18:22    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
It is in the directory as :

ionic.ttf is this correct rather than IonicCharge.ttf


Yes.

In the main post, zigbert said to run these 2 commands in terminal to update installed fonts
Code:
mkfontscale /usr/share/fonts/default/TTF
mkfontdir /usr/share/fonts/default/TTF


Hope that helps.

And just double check that 'ionic.ttf' is in /usr/share/fonts/default/TTF

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 19:13    Post subject:  

Making a .fonts and copying them across did nothing.

I ran the commands again to be sure.

ionic is in correct location. Paths correct.

Strangely it will show up in Abiword font menu as a choice and will print OK.

I tried the tray clock font change and it did not recognise it, but it would change font size according to instruction line Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 19:25    Post subject:  

Try running 'pwidgets' from the command line. Type
Code:
pwidgets
in a terminal. The GUI will show up. Select only the digital clock. Scan the output of the terminal carefully to see if there are any errors.
Also check the 'config file' for the digital clock.
It should look like this
Code:
#this is a Pwidgets config file
#the actual building of the graphics is defined in bottom of this file, - after 'TEXT'.

#Digital clock

#### PWIDGETS #####

HEIGHT=80
OFFSET_X=20


#### CONKY ####
#COLORS --- 0:headings 1:base-info 2:extra-info 3:markers 5:green 6:red
#Colors are defined in theme-files, - NOT here.
color0 A2914E
color1 666666
color2 bbbbbb
color3 ffab00
color5 499D3A
color6 red

background no
own_window yes
own_window_type override
#own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
own_window_transparent yes
#own_window_colour hotpink
double_buffer yes
total_run_times 0
update_interval 1
minimum_size 160 5
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
stippled_borders 2
border_margin 4
border_width 1
default_color white
default_shade_color 333333
default_outline_color red
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
use_spacer none
use_xft yes
xftfont Ionic Charge :size=42

TEXT
${color0}${time %H:%M:%S}

We will figure this out! Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 19:33    Post subject:  

Next to last line Ionic Charge not ionic and success Very Happy

many thanks for persevering with me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 19:35    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
Next to last line Ionic Charge not ionic and success Very Happy

many thanks for persevering with me.

Glad to help out! Puppy=can do! Very Happy

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 23:48    Post subject:  

Can someone tell me how to make a widget that will look like A) The System monitor at the top and B) The shutdown menu at the bottom of the attached screenshot of my Windows Sidebar? Also, would be nice to figure out how to change the background of the weather for what the weather is like outside. Though that may well be a far cry into the future..
Windows Sidebar.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   34.27 KB
 Viewed   1034 Time(s)

Windows Sidebar.JPG


_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 03:15    Post subject:  

FYI everyone,

I once got a problem with fonts too, in Zigbert's pet is in capital letters = MONOFONT.TTF, I got to change it to monofont.ttf to make it work, I dunno if this happens to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 03:26    Post subject:  

@evil20071:

I think it won't suit the nature of pwidgets/conky which is small enough to be put in the coming puppy 4.2 as an integrated application. Maybe you should try adesklet or gdesklet or google gadget for linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 03:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
I once got a problem with fonts too, in Zigbert's pet is in capital letters = MONOFONT.TTF, I got to change it to monofont.ttf to make it work, I dunno if this happens to others.


Bingo! Thanks trio. Finally got the calendar aligment properly set.

- Pistoi0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 04:49    Post subject:  

pistoi0 wrote:
Quote:
I once got a problem with fonts too, in Zigbert's pet is in capital letters = MONOFONT.TTF, I got to change it to monofont.ttf to make it work, I dunno if this happens to others.


Bingo! Thanks trio. Finally got the calendar aligment properly set.

- Pistoi0


Glad to help fellow puppians! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 04:57    Post subject: Re: conky config cpu-ram bar
Subject description: for new puppy/pwidgets user
 

trio wrote:
as the widgets keep building up, i made one pwidget item which consist of cpu-ram monitor in bars. it will give more space for pwidgets user to show more widgets on the list. Anyhow for you experienced users, this is just a child's drawing, but for new users, just copy the lines below and save it in the /root/.pwidgets/configs/ , you'll get a new widget instantly on the list when you start pwidgets control panel from the desktop start menu. and you can get so much more by making conky config files like this by yourself, please look up on the net....

#this is a Pwidgets config file
#the actual building of the graphics is defined in bottom of this file, - after 'TEXT'.

#Cpu-ram monitor

#### PWIDGETS #####

HEIGHT=65
OFFSET_X=20


#### CONKY ####
#color0:headings color1:base-info color2:extra-info color3:markers color5:green color6:red
color0 9C8F5B
color1 777777
color2 white
color3 ffab00
color5 499D3A
color6 red

background no
own_window yes
own_window_type override
#own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
own_window_transparent yes
#own_window_colour hotpink
double_buffer yes
total_run_times 0
update_interval 1
minimum_size 160 5
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
stippled_borders 2
border_margin 4
border_width 1
default_color white
default_shade_color 333333
default_outline_color red
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
use_spacer none
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu :style=bold:size=9

TEXT
${color0}R A M ${color5}${membar 10,110}

${color0}C P U ${color3}${cpubar 10,112}

${color0} Wifi ${color3}${wireless_link_bar 10,112 x}


@Evil20071:
If you want, you could try what I already posted before, change x to your network like eth0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 08:42    Post subject:  

Evil20071 wrote:
Can someone tell me how to make a widget that will look like A) The System monitor at the top and B) The shutdown menu at the bottom of the attached screenshot of my Windows Sidebar? Also, would be nice to figure out how to change the background of the weather for what the weather is like outside. Though that may well be a far cry into the future..

There are some pretty fancy Conky scripts out there - see http://www.gnome-look.org for some examples (search 'conky') - but the most worthwhile of these unfortunately use Python scripts that would add a motza to Puppy to support. Sorry about that. Conky itself is limited to text based stuff - fonts and ASCII text graphics characters AFAIK.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 10:48    Post subject:  

Hi guys, I found this GPL chinese weather screenlet, what I was thinking is maybe you could use the images for the weather?
well this is what one image looks like
http://www.gtk-apps.org/content/show.php/ChinaClearWeather?content=92657

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 205 [3066 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 203, 204, 205 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1098s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0349s) ][ GZIP on ]