Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile       

The time now is Mon 10 Aug 2020, 02:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
[SOLVED] wlan0, wifi0 seem to be working, but no network...
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 20:27    Post subject:  [SOLVED] wlan0, wifi0 seem to be working, but no network...  

I'm trying to get wireless working on a Toshiba Satellite with a Netgear MA401 PCMCIA card. It looks like Puppy is finding the card okay with hostap_cs as a module. It can see my home network, and I get all the way through the DHCP step with everything fine.

But I have no access. I can't ping my wireless router (get "Sendto: Network is unreachable." error) or get anything in the browser.

I have two blinky icons. One for wlan0, one for wifi0. Both indicate that data has been sent, but not received.

I've gotten this far with reading the forums and my 15-year-old UNIX experience from college, but I'm stumped. What's my next step?

Last edited by yoyology on Wed 21 Jan 2009, 02:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wallywest

Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 01:05    Post subject:  

I am having a similar problem and any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2009, 21:30    Post subject:  

what do get when you type "route" at the command line?
can you ping your gateway?

cheers

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 00:23    Post subject:  

To answer my own dumb question probably nothing.

have a look in dmesg and /var/log/messages for clues

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 01:51    Post subject:  

Strangely, on reboot, Puppy recognized the wireless card as eth1 instead of wlan0 or wifi0. EDIT: Also, it's using the orinoco_cs module now.

"route" results in:
Code:
Kernel IP Routing table
Destination  Gateway  Genmask  Flags Metric Ref  Use Iface
169.254.0.0  *     255.255.0.0  U      0      0     0    eth1


"ping 192.168.0.1" (my DLink router's IP) results in:
Code:
PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: Network is unreachable


"dmesg" gives me a whole lot I don't understand, but the last several lines seem significant:
Code:
eth1:New link status: Connected (0001)
eth1:New link status: AP Changed (0003)
eth1:New link status: Disconnected (0002)
eth1:New link status: Connected (0001)
eth1:New link status: AP Changed (0003)
eth1:New link status: Disconnected (0002)
...


None of that makes much sense to me, other than it seems it's trying repeatedly to connect, but isn't making it. Sorry for my newbieness.

As for /var/log/messages, I'm not really sure what I'm looking for. I see some stuff that implies that it's having trouble getting through the dhcpcd step.

FWIW, my wife has no trouble connecting to this same wireless router using her Dell laptop running Vista. I can reach the router from another desktop if I need to change any DHCP settings on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 03:36    Post subject:  

OK lets try
Code:
iwconfig


and
[/code]
cat /var/log/messages |grep dhcp

[/code]

and

[code]dmesg | grep orinoco

please post the output of these

Pete[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 03:39    Post subject:  

OK lets try
Code:
iwconfig


and
Code:

cat /var/log/messages |grep dhcp



and

Code:
dmesg | grep orinoco


please post the output of these

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 16:53    Post subject:  

Okay, forgive me if this looks ugly. I can't see an easy way to copy and paste the text in question, so I'm typing by hand.

Code:
# iwconfig
lo     no wireless extension.

eth0   no wireless extensions.

eth1   IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:""  Nickname:"Prism  I"
       Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:1C:10:3E:42:8C
       Bit Rate:11 Mb/s   Sensitivity:1/3
       Retry short limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
       Encryption key:off
       Power Management:off
       Link Quality=28/92  Signal level=-95 dBm  Noise level=-145 dBm
       Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
       Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0  Missed beacon:0

To make this one easier to type, I'm stripping out the date/time and other repeated info.
Code:
# cat /var/log/messages | grep dhcp
info dhcpcd 3.1.8 starting
info hardware address=00:09:5b:4c:05:c9
info broadcasting for a lease
debug sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x5c6794e7
debug waiting on select for 20 seconds
debug sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x5c6794e7
  {above line repeats five more times, at 3-second intervals}
err timed out
info trying to use old lease in `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.info'
err lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.info' does not exist.
info probing for an IPV4LL address
debug sending ARP probe #1
debug sending ARP probe #2
debug sending ARP probe #3
debug sending ARP claim #1
debug sending ARP claim #2
warn using IPV4LL address 169.254.12.208
info adding IP address 169.254.12.208/16
debug no dns information to write
debug writing /var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.info
debug exec "/etc/dhcpcd.sh" "/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.info" "new"
debug forking to background
debug waiting on select for 10 seconds
info exiting
...

then it redoes the same thing with a different xid (0x3286298e).
Code:
# dmesg | grep orinoco
orinoco 0.15 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au>, Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>, et al)
orinoco_cs 0.15 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au>, Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>, et al)
eth1: orinoco_cs at 0.0, irq 3, io 0x0100-0x013f
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 21:20    Post subject:  

Notice the line in iwconfig that says encryption key is off.

I like to watch

Code:
tail -f /var/log/messages


while I am setting up my network with the wizard.

Are you putting in your key?

watch the messages file closely as you press "use this profile"

If this gets you nowhere try configuring it by hand like this

Code:
iwconfig eth1 essid <YOUR WIRELESS APs NAME> key <YOUR KEY>


watch the log in another window

I think he dhcp is not working because the wifi card can't talk to the access point (no key) and is therefore homeless.

cheers

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 22:33    Post subject:  

Hmm. Two things.

When I did as you describe, I saw a line that read:
Code:
...user.warn kernel: Clocksource tsc unstable (delta - 71922986 ns)

just before it began the DHCP process.

When I attempted the iwconfig command you indicated, I got:
Code:
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    invalid argument "<my13letterkeyhere>"


I have the wireless access point set up with a 128bit ASCII key. Should I change to a hex key?
EDIT: Hang on. I just read the manpage for iwconfig and saw the switch (sSmile to enter an ASCII key. I did that and ran iwconfig with no arguments again, and it does now have an Encryption key listed - 26 hex digits grouped in fours. Trying DHCP again...

That looks good! I watched the messages file while doing DHCP, and packets were being exchanged.

Route gives me a gateway, and I can ping murga-linux.com! Smile

Thank you so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 23:11    Post subject:  

I'm posting this from the browser on my Toshiba laptop! Pete For The Win!

Thank you very much. This is wonderful.

Should I add a reply to the "cards confirmed to work" sticky about this card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
VK6FUN

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 127
Location: North Baandee, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 10:53    Post subject:  

You worked it out yourself mate. RTFM is not dead!

It would be good to make log and dmesg watching more newbie-friendly.

Most problems can be solved by recourse to them.

enjoy!

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yoyology

Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2009, 23:32    Post subject:  

This continues to work great, but I have to redo it every time I boot the PC. Is this a bug or a feature? Smile

In other words, is there a way to set it up to automatically connect to my home wireless network?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geodescent

Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2009, 00:21    Post subject:  

I have a similar problem using a Netgear MA401 rev. D card in an hp omnibook xe4100 running the latest version of Macpup Opera.

Things to note:
* Macpup auto-loads hostap_cs.
* If I actually go so far as to edit /etc/rc.d/MODULSCONFIG and put hostap_cs in the SKIPLIST, Macpup auto-loads orinoco_cs.
* My router's wifi connection is WPA encrypted with an 8-digit key that starts with a number.
* If, when orinoco_cs is loaded, I attempt to go through the network connection wizard, I am advised that WPA is not supported with orinoco_cs.
* If I insert the PCMCIA card after the system is booted, it does not light up at all. I don't think Macpup is monitoring the PCMCIA slot at all for hotplugging.


So I load the wizard wizard and enter the network configuration.
Then, I click Wireless.
Next, instead of scanning, I load my profile, which has everything left at the default aside from the fact that encryption is set to WPA/TKIP.
I click "Use this profile"
Okay so here's the output of tail -f /var/log/messages when I click Use this profile:
Code:
Jul 3 22:51:49 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: LinkStatus=2 (Disconnected)
Jul 3 22:51:49 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: LinkStatus: BSSID=44:44:44:44:44:44


At this point I get a dialog stating that Puppy is "scanning." After 30 seconds, it times out and the following additional output from tail -f /var/log/messages appears:

Code:
Jul 3 22:52:24 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: CMD=0x0121 => res=0x7f, resp0=0x0004
Jul 3 22:52:24 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: hfa384x_set_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS_WRITE failed (res=127, rid=fc48, len=2)
Jul 3 22:52:24 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: LinkStatus=2 (Disconnected)
Jul 3 22:52:24 (none) user.debug kernel: wifi0: LinkStatus: BSSID=44:44:44:44:44:44
Jul 3 22:52:24 (none) user.debug kernel: wlan0: Preferred AP (SIOCSIWAP) is used only in Managed mode whn host_roaming is enabled


Then I get a dialog saying "Unable to establish WPA connection."
When I click Details the dialog says:

Under connection info:
Code:
Access Point: None


Then, under Output of 'wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Code:
wpa_state=SCANNING



I get nowhere attempting an Auto-DHCP after that.

Here's what happens if, after this, I try to manually connect via terminal. Keep in mind that I do not really know or remember the steps required to connect via terminal, so there's a good chance I am missing a few commands, but here we go anyway:
Code:
# iwconfig wlan0 essid yimmy key s:7xxxxxxx
# dhcpcd wlan0


Then my tail spits out a bunch of stuff that I cannot get to in order to retype here (rvxt should be banned) because new messages indicating that association failed for wifi0 kep appearing, even if I kill any dhcpcd processes. Additionally, the following shows up in my rvxt winow in which I issued dhcpcd wlan0:
Code:
Error, wlan0: timed out
Error, wlan0: lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info' does not exist
Warning, wlan0: using IPV4LL address 169.254.221.185


I'm really at a loss here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2009, 01:04    Post subject:  

geodescent wrote:
If, when orinoco_cs is loaded, I attempt to go through the network connection wizard, I am advised that WPA is not supported with orinoco_cs.

Yes. The orinoco_cs Linux driver definitely does not support WPA encryption. So the author of the Network Wizard (Dougal) was correct to generate that warning.
Obviously if you want to use WPA encryption, you must un-blacklist the hostap_cs driver, which DOES support WPA encryption.

geodescent wrote:
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid yimmy key s:7xxxxxxx

That command is only relevant for WEP encryption. The iwconfig utility cannot be used for WPA encryption.

If you want to configure your wifi connection at the commandline, WPA instructions are here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=159336#159336
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1213s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0324s) ][ GZIP on ]