Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 10:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How the CUPS Printer Wizard Works with Gutenprint
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9030
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 14:09    Post subject:  How the CUPS Printer Wizard Works with Gutenprint  

[Edit] This article only applies to the version of CUPS in Puppy 4.1.2 and earlier. For a discussion of dynamic PPD files, read here.

The CUPS printer wizard in the Setup menu has an interesting behavior. It generates the Gutenprint PPD files at the start, then deletes them at the end.

This means that when adding a printer, you only see the full complement of drivers if you work through the wizard. If you go directly to the CUPS web interface at http://localhost:631/, you get a much smaller selection.

You can check this by looking in /usr/share/cups/model/gutenprint/5.0
If it's empty, the Gutenprint drivers won't be listed when you try to add a printer.

You can check out the wizard itself in the file /usr/sbin/cups_shell. Open it as text. Look for the "rm" command at the end.

You can create the files manually with the command: cups-genppd.5.0

Check out the above folder to verify that they were created.

Then restart CUPS with: /etc/init.d/cups restart

Go to the CUPS web interface and add a new printer. The Gutenprint entries should now be listed.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sun 07 Jun 2009, 07:15; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 11:33    Post subject:  

this is especially helpful for me, as every time the power goes out i have to rebuild it all again. . .

Confused

and after i rebuilt it just now, they all disappeared again before i could get the printer re-installed

is there ANY other way to print besides cups?

Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2009, 01:02    Post subject:  

bugman,
I keep a backup copy of /etc/cups in case I need to reinstall. I just copy over the top of the default /etc/cups and then restart cups as rcrsn51 explained and I'm good to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 486
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 20:45    Post subject: Printing Instantly Solved!
Subject description: Thanks to the Forum
 

Everything about Puppy is amazing: It took three minutes for me to get a complete and effective solution to my annoying problem. Thanks, rcrsn51.
Can this strange behavior be corrected in a future Puppy? And while I'm at it, creating a link to the smbspool file is also an annoyance. I hope that can be fixed later, too.
Meanwhile, I can print beautiful poetry and other stuff without having to acknowledge the existence of Windows in the other room.
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9030
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 08:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
And while I'm at it, creating a link to the smbspool file is also an annoyance. I hope that can be fixed later, too.


I agree. But apparently it has still not been fixed in the new 4.2 release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 09:34    Post subject:  

rcrsn51

Best let WhoDo know, then it'll get fixed [hopefully]

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9030
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 09:42    Post subject:  

He knows. And it was reported again by Hillside on the weekend. This has been an issue since 3.9x.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0690s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]