Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 23:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
4.1full install does not boot after power loss (USB related)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon 22 Dec 2008, 16:49    Post subject:  4.1full install does not boot after power loss (USB related)
Subject description: [SOLVED]
 

Hi,

+ Puppy 4.1.0 full install
+ USB Keyboard and mouse (PS2 not an option)
+ Was running fine for a few days
+ The machine suffered power loss when puppy was running and now does not boot - hangs with"#" after doing the USB 1 2 3..10 and does not accept any keyboard input
+ I can boot puppy from CD, mount my HD and view the files/folders of my puppy install, but booting from the HD always results in the hang. Note that when booting from CD the "Waiting for modules to complete loading" runs quicker - it does "usb 1" then is done.

I've found loads of useful information in other threads, particularly with regard to setting up journaling to try and prevent this sort of thing happening again (which I will do).

In the meantime my problem remains trying to get the system to boot again. I've tried running fsck on the file system (after booting from CD) but that has not solved the problem.

Having a look at the bit in the /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit where it does the "Waitingfor modules to complete loading" bit the while loop exits after 10 iterations. So when I see "usb 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10" what that really means is that the usb module did not load ?

One other thing I notice is that when trying to boot from HD I get this message:

Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: line 23: /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE: Read-only filesystem


I'm not sure if this is normal or a symptom.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Last edited by viperpiper on Sat 10 Jan 2009, 07:48; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 14:03    Post subject:  

This problem is repeatable with 4.1.2:

+ Clean install of 4.1.2 (formatted HDD)
+ Turned on journaling (kernel and fstab)
+ Restarted Puppy a few times - no problems.
+ Deliberately caused a power loss
+ Puppy will now not boot with the same problem.The first boot after power loss I got a screen saying a serial mouse was detected, but was unable to do anything on this screen as the keyboard was not working. Powercycled again and now puppy just hangs in the same place as before. The only difference is the "Waitingfor modules to complete loading" now does: "1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 usb-storage 11 12 13 14 15"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 15:48    Post subject:  

I may be talking rubbish here, and this is a hunch, but have you tried booting with

Puppy pfix=purge

at the 5 second bootscreen from a live CD boot

I think it should still pick up the filesystem from the hard drive, ..... but may be wrong

pfix=purge is the filesystem repair parameter, AFAIK

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 17:51    Post subject:  

Hi Aitch,

Thanks for the suggestion. I gave pfix=purge a try, and as with a normal boot from CD it boots fine, but when I restart and try to boot from the hard drive again the same problem occurs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 21:51    Post subject:  

I guess you need to delete Oldmousedevice and Mousedevice files inside etc folder. Hope it will work after rebooting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 07:13    Post subject:  

Hi d4p,

Thanks for the suggestion but deleting Oldmousedevice and Mousedevice did not help. The only difference is that after deleting them I get to the Mouse configuration screen during startup but as before am unable to do anything in that screen because the keyboard does not work.

I think the problem is related to the modules not being loaded properly, but don't know enough about how Puppy works to fix this.

Does anyone know what actions Puppy takes when doing an ordered shutdown?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 13:26    Post subject:  

I had a look at the shutdown scripts looking for the difference between a clean shutdown and an unexpected poweroff. I noticed that one of the things the shutdown script does is to clean up some temporary files. I booted from CD and did this manually, and now I am able to boot Very Happy

To cope with this in the future (as this is repeatable every time I have a powerloss) I added the following to my /etc/rc.sysini script just after the line
Quote:
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
:

Code:
#If we were not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /tmp/RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(Cleaning up after unclean shutdown)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2> /dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2> /dev/null
fi

#create a file in tmp that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /tmp/RUNNING


My puppy linux box will now boot after a power loss without me having to boot from CD to fix things.

I was wondering if anyone had a better way of doing this?
I guess for some people it might be worth copying the temp files to another location before deleting them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 19:27    Post subject:  

I dont have a better way, it will work if you replace with ps2 keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 23:43    Post subject:  

upgrade install is possible also
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 385
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 19:38    Post subject:  

viperpiper wrote:
. . . I noticed that one of the things the shutdown script does is to clean up some temporary files. I booted from CD and did this manually, and now I am able to boot Very Happy. . .

faced with the same problem in 4.1.2 I have found your posting and did exactly as you recommend - deleted all the contents of /tmp/ folder
and this has solved the problem - I was able to restart with no problem
big THANK YOU Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4393
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 23:29    Post subject:  

Just booted with pupy pfix=ram and deleted the entire content of /tmp then rebooted, same failure.

I have previously run Clean and Purge and replaced the Frugal system files from a known-good iso CD

What else might I try, please?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4393
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 00:31    Post subject:  

viperpiper wrote:
I had a look at the shutdown scripts looking for the difference between a clean shutdown and an unexpected poweroff. I noticed that one of the things the shutdown script does is to clean up some temporary files. I booted from CD and did this manually, and now I am able to boot Very Happy

To cope with this in the future (as this is repeatable every time I have a powerloss) I added the following to my /etc/rc.sysini script just after the line
Quote:
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
:

Code:
#If we were not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /tmp/RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(Cleaning up after unclean shutdown)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2> /dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2> /dev/null
fi

#create a file in tmp that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /tmp/RUNNING


My puppy linux box will now boot after a power loss without me having to boot from CD to fix things.

I was wondering if anyone had a better way of doing this?
I guess for some people it might be worth copying the temp files to another location before deleting them?


Did thi manually and did the edit as well, should I have let it create a new pup_save on reboot?

Still getting the failure at "Setting up the layered filesystem"

That is followed by "Bumping the last lines of /tmp/bootinit.log" and then 11 lines of stuff then

Pausing for 60 seconds ...

Then "Performing a 'switch_root' to the layered filesystem....kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted a kill init!

Then it locks up everything.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 10:57    Post subject:  

Edoc you have a frugal setup so this fix probably doesn't apply but I have a HD install which does exactly this so I'm off to test the fix...should be incorporated into puppy Smile

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
viperpiper


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 10:22    Post subject:  

Hi Edoc,

Sorry, but looks like your problem is different - as mikeb said I suspect that my particular problem and solution only apply to the full setup. I would suggest creating a new topic detailing the exact problem and error messages shown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 10:54    Post subject:  

Excellent...tested several times and recovered just fine plus no longer losing alsa this way....wonder if that's related...perhaps one could narrow down what exactly causes the lockup.

nice find anyway..appreciated

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1002s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]