Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 05:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
thunar-volman. In built XFCE vfs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 19:56    Post subject:  thunar-volman. In built XFCE vfs  

I've seen a thread kicking around about a year ago, that described someones difficulty with installating thunar-volman.

The threads dissapeared. But i can't remember when the problems are with trying to get this working.

If i remember is was puppy's lack of HAL support.

Anyway, I'm very tempted to take on a project to get thunar-volman working in puppy with XFCE. I've heard it would be difficult, but i'm not scared.

I need advice as to what the problems are? Why puppy never took on a vfs?

Thanks,

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 20:38    Post subject:  

If you search on thunar volman with the link in my sig, you'll find quite some hits.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 08:13    Post subject:  

Ok,

I've found the thread and it's the only thread that mentions volman.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1737259520&t=26014

I wouldn't be raising a post on the 'cutting edge' part of this forum, if i didn't need advice for this.

I need to know:
why was hal not put into puppy in the first place? When hotpup was created was it not considered at the time? In fairness i'm not sure a XFCE vfs may have been around at the time.

I assuem the hal daemon is like any daemon and can be started just before WM startup?

Can anybody see any reasons why getting thunar-volman to work will be impossible in puppy?

Thanks,

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 10:24    Post subject:  

Was playing with xfce-4.4.2.sfs last night in puppy410 and couldn't get thunar to start. Kept getting a dbus missing error (or similar).
The desktop and everything else seemed ok. Oh yea...no "menu" in the menu bar. It also wouldn't let me add one.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Oct 2008, 07:57    Post subject:  

Trapster, sounds like you need to do a restart and get the sfs to load on restart.

OK guys, here's my problem.

I've taken wow's hal and libvolume_id from his gnome.sfs package and compiled it into my puplet.

to start hal i need to start two daemons, rc.messagebus and rc.hald. rc.messagebus starts dbus daemon (although i have a feeling XFCE is already doing this for me).

Code:
rc.messagebus start
works fine when i run it from the prompt and the prompt returns.
When i write rc.messagebus start in /etc/rc.d/rc.local. It also starts fine at startup.

BUT

from the prompt
Code:
rc.hald start
says 'hald --daemon=yes' under my prompt, but the prompt does not return. The daemon is started ok.

This maybe normal for a rc. script to not return to the prompt, but i'm not sure it is.

When i put
Code:
rc.hald start
in my rc.d/rc.local file, at startup the startup hangs....
I am guessing that it is waiting for rc.hald to return.

Does anybody know why this is happening?

n4l[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Wed 29 Oct 2008, 22:16    Post subject:  

nutts4life wrote:
When i put
Code:
rc.hald start
in my rc.d/rc.local file, at startup the startup hangs....
I am guessing that it is waiting for rc.hald to return.

Does anybody know why this is happening?

n4l[/code]


Perhaps dbus and hal are incomplete or have missing files. But don't worry about that, there're some easier ways (backup your pup_save file!!!!!):

1. Download and install Muppy 008.4c (final release) it has dbus, hal and udev. Now launch gslapt and install thunar from slackware repos.

2. Keep using that gnome.sfs. Now try to compile thunar volman from sources again.

3. Add the haldaemon user and group then download dbus, dbus-glib, hal and udev from http://packages.slackware.it/ run tgz2pet to install them. Copy or move rc.messagebus, rc.hald and rc.udev from /etc/rc.d/ to /etc/init.d, rc.messagebus must run before hal and hald before udev. Rename to 01xxx 02xxx 03xxx to start them in order. Disable puppy event manager if you have installed Puppy 4.1 to avoid conflicts with udev. Now Reboot the computer. Udev and HAL (from slackware) might require even more groups, use the addgroup command to fix it.


Good luck.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Oct 2008, 07:23    Post subject:  

wow,

your a genius and an encouragement.

I think i understand more.
So do you think your libraries etc from gnome.sfs will not work?

I noticed last night that i hadn't put udev in there and i did that, along with the rc.udev. I haven't tested it since though.

How do I disable the puppy event manager?
I don't much about the puppy event manager, I assuem this was what Barry K wrote instaed of udev?

I've already compiled thunar volman. It doesn't need to need any hal or udev libraries, it just needs to know they are there.

I'm hoping that thunar will not need to be re-compiled as thunar-volman is an extension, not part of the thunar release.

n4l.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 10:10    Post subject:  

Ok,

It's been a while, but here's what i have done:

I've upgraded by puplet to 4.1.1 so i have udev now.

I've recompiled hal.

I've now installed hal and thunar volman on my puplet.

when i run rc.dbus start from /etc/rc.d it starts fine and of course dbus-deamon is already running.

When i run rc.udev it fails saying it can't find /root/.udev. This only occurs if there is a udevd already running (which 4.1.1 does automatically).
When i run rc.hald start is starts as normal, but again does not return to the command prompt.

I disables all the options in the puppy event manager ui (except the automatic loading of modules).

My rc.local looks like:
rc.messagebus start
rc.hald start

# rc.udevd. No need to start this as this is done in rc.sysinit.

And restarted. It still crashed on startup and i have to re-install.

All haldeamon users and groups are in place

I don't really want to use slackware libs as i don't understand why this shouldn't work.

Any ideas?

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 22:30    Post subject:  

Try to remove "pup_event_backend_d" and "udevd" from /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit, then start udev from slackware's rc.udev. Don't forget to stop those services at shutdown.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10756
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 05:04    Post subject: Re: thunar-volman. In built XFCE vfs  

nutts4life wrote:
I've seen a thread kicking around about a year ago, that described someones difficulty with installating thunar-volman.

The threads dissapeared. But i can't remember when the problems are with trying to get this working.

If i remember is was puppy's lack of HAL support.

Anyway, I'm very tempted to take on a project to get thunar-volman working in puppy with XFCE. I've heard it would be difficult, but i'm not scared.

I need advice as to what the problems are? Why puppy never took on a vfs?

Thanks,

n4l


Just did a search for that thread using firefup's built in murga search and came up with a lot of pages, more than that missing thread is in there.
http://www.google.com/search?q=thunar-volman&sitesearch=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
verycd8

Joined: 10 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 00:55    Post subject:  

thunar-volman
install????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0764s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]