Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 09:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
aspire one remaster
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
elling

Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 03 Dec 2008, 15:45    Post subject:  

Sounds good Smile
What about the fanspeed control?
The fan sounds like an airplane Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Wed 03 Dec 2008, 19:51    Post subject:  

haven't played with fan control yet. May try before release if I get the other items working, if not maybe next one. If anyone has had any luck with fan control in puppy let me know how you did it.

Thanks
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 06:26    Post subject:  

elling wrote:
What about the fanspeed control?

Fanspeed control requires being able to read/write to the AAOne's embedded controller, and so far no one has written a utility or module to do this, but it can be done with a Perl script.
There are two approaches. The first is the "acerfand" shell script which manages a perl script called "acer_ec.pl" -
http://the.taoofmac.com/media/Acer/Aspire%20One/AA1notes.html

The second approach is a series of perl scripts (fanlow, fanhigh, fanoff) which are activated by hotkeys.
http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3189

In both cases you would need to install perl, possibly from Petget, although this is a stripped down version of perl.

UPDATE May 25 2009:
Acer fan control driver now available here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=308940#308940

Last edited by tempestuous on Mon 25 May 2009, 03:02; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elling

Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 12:31    Post subject:  

Could those 2 downlodable scripts be used for Puppy?

They work fine in Ubuntu and Mandriva..but I tried in Puppy,and nothing happend.
Maybe because of I didnt had Perl installed Confused

http://n00.be/archives/758/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2527
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 15:02    Post subject: AspireOne loud fan = failure  

The first ACER AspireOne I had also had a very loud FAN (Windows & puppy) so loud the speakers had a hardtime being heard. I ran regular puppy version from RAM setting. And Just powered off without regular shutdown. Flipped it on its' front (fan side up) allowed it to cool. And after a few minutes I needed to do sometime in windows and the little guy did not even make it pass boot.
Just three weeks, Costco allowed me full refund which I used the pay for another just like the last. The second ACER fan is MUCH quieter (like you should expect for such a low power machine)
Hope You saved the store slip, get it replaced!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 16:35    Post subject:  

Hi matey, looks great. Can I ask what you did to create this, an how it's different from the Asus eeepc's? Is there much difference? Looks like you're using Cairo-dock from the screenshot... are you using false transparency or compositing? Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 17:05    Post subject:  

elling wrote:
Could those 2 downlodable scripts be used for Puppy?

Yes. That's why I mentioned it.

elling wrote:
Maybe because of I didnt had Perl installed

tempestuous wrote:
You would need to install perl...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 20:00    Post subject:  

I am using openbox and cairo-dock fake transparency. I tried ripple but X would not start. Based it on mu,s .27 kernel remaster, sound works wireless works wireless switch works, mic works, both sd slots work if inserted @ boot.

Help I need

a script that I can assign to the switch monitor function key to switch to an external monitor. I am having some succes with xrandr and once I work out the command I will ask for advice.

Just working on the rest of the function keys the kernel recognizes all of them so I just have to assign them commands.

If any one has hibernate working let me know how and I will include it.

Shutdown on power button any one got that working.

I have assigned a button on cairo dock to bring up the openbox menu
assigned a button on cairo dock to bring up Prit's plogout
I use the systray from cairo dock not sure how to get a battery monitor on to it......anyone. using pwidgets destop battery app for now.

I am @ the point where I may be in over my head on a few things. If someone has hibernate working on the acer using puppy make it easy for me to include and I will. I have to release before xmas as these are gifts and I only get a couple of hours a week to work on them, time is quickly running out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 00:49    Post subject:  

This should work to power down Puppy using the power button:

acpid-1.0.8-i486.pet

Add these two lines to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

modprobe button
acpid

The proper scripts are included in the pet file. Look in /etc/acpi after installing to get a better idea.

This may come in handy for controlling other features, ie. closing the cover, etc.

JB
acpid-1.0.8-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  acpid-1.0.8-i486.pet 
Filesize  14.29 KB 
Downloaded  695 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 02:08    Post subject:  

This will suspend when closing the lid:

Download the follow pet:

acpitool-0.5.pet

place the following two files in the proper directories

/etc/acpi/suspend.sh
/etc/acpi/events/suspend

If acpid is already running and you want to test kill it (killall acpid) and restart (acpid).

Close the lid, in a few seconds, you should have a flashing power light. Tap it once to bring up your desktop. Things to be looked at.... Wifi / LAN connection (mine stayed connected after brief testing) and maybe sound.

Enjoy,
JB
suspend-scripts.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  suspend-scripts.tar.gz 
Filesize  254 Bytes 
Downloaded  705 Time(s) 
acpitool-0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  acpitool-0.5.pet 
Filesize  25.97 KB 
Downloaded  643 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 03:13    Post subject:  

Thanks I will try as soon as I get a chance to work on it again.

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 07:56    Post subject:  

iscraigh wrote:
I am using openbox and cairo-dock fake transparency. I tried ripple but X would not start. Based it on mu,s .27 kernel remaster, sound works wireless works wireless switch works, mic works, both sd slots work if inserted @ boot.

Help I need

a script that I can assign to the switch monitor function key to switch to an external monitor. I am having some succes with xrandr and once I work out the command I will ask for advice.

Just working on the rest of the function keys the kernel recognizes all of them so I just have to assign them commands.

If any one has hibernate working let me know how and I will include it.

Shutdown on power button any one got that working.

I have assigned a button on cairo dock to bring up the openbox menu
assigned a button on cairo dock to bring up Prit's plogout
I use the systray from cairo dock not sure how to get a battery monitor on to it......anyone. using pwidgets destop battery app for now.

I am @ the point where I may be in over my head on a few things. If someone has hibernate working on the acer using puppy make it easy for me to include and I will. I have to release before xmas as these are gifts and I only get a couple of hours a week to work on them, time is quickly running out.


Hi matey, sounds great. For Ripple, you need to choose the x24 resolution in xorgwizard to start X, otherwise it will crash. Would love you to be able to try it again on your laptop, would be great to add support in Ripple for that.

I'd be really happy to see how we could work together in our seperate projects, I too am very short for time. Fortunately Ripple is more of a long term goal. If the aspire one supports compiz-fusion (which is very likely), I'm happy to help you get that running with your remaster. You'd likely have to use another windows manager for it, or do what I'm doing in Ripple, use compiz-fusion itself as the windows manager. One of my goals for Ripple is to support as wide a range of hardware as possible, and I'd love all the baby laptops to be included. For Ripple to work properly though, they need to support compiz-fusion. For the battery monitor, I use the asapm_shell script, then hide it on the widget layer. Cairo-dock supports a hidden widget layer with fake transparency, though as I use compiz I haven't tried it. No luck on a stable suspend script, though there were some interesting posts in tempestuos's 'extras' thread. I've earmarked this for a future project, but not ready for it yet.

Have you looked at Pebble? It's a bootsplash program by pizzasgood that adds a beautiful touch to the start of Puppy. Not sure why it's not in the official release yet. Perhaps Puppy is too focused on being 'utilitarian'. Anyway, if you take a look at eeetiger, or TigerPup (eeetiger should work on the acer, just to try the bootsplash), you'll see what I mean. Cheers matey,

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boscobearbank


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Location: MN

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 13:50    Post subject:  

iscraigh wrote:
Both sd card readers work if the card is in @ boot.

Had this problem with Fedora, but there's a way to get the sd card slots working even if there's no card in the slot at boot. Not on my AA1 right now, but I believe the solution was to make sure mmc_core, mmc_block, sdhci, pciehp, and (I think) sdhci_pci get loaded at boot and pciehp_force=1 is fed to the kernel.

Looking forward to adding a (reasonably fully) working Puppy to my AA1!

_________________
Bosco Bearbank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 17:05    Post subject:  

Compiz-fusion works on the Aspire One, and apparently is included, or at least able to be enabled, on the default Linpus system. This means that Ripple should work, and that all the effects from the Ripple pupplet are possible. One possibility is you could look at having compiz-fusion as an option which could be turned on, and use compiz-fusion as the windows manager in place of open box, or choose to use open box without compiz-fusion. Happy to help if you'd like to get this going. Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 18:03    Post subject:  

It would be great to have compiz working, I will pm you for some help next week. Perhaps incorporating the aspire fixes and the no compiz option into ripple would be an idea.

Bob: I have seen the solutions with the pciehp but that module is not included in puppy and as I am basing it on the .27 kernel I would need to get it compiled for me.

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0878s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]