Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 11:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
NOP 4.1 Released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Oct 2008, 14:24    Post_subject:  

uuhhhmm actually you can just mount the sfs and copy the contents out as per here http://www.puppylinux.com/hard-puppy.htm scroll down to installing c++ compiler and folow the same instructions

unsquashing would take much longer since you would be doing a lot of coping instead of just extracting it to where it is supposed to be as per the link

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Thu 30 Oct 2008, 17:00    Post_subject:  

i use OpenOffice.sfs with "hot mount"(i so called...)
click on sfs( or open with filemnt) and go inside to /program and find swriter( or soffice) and then click on it and you'll get a running writer aplication
then go to options and choose enable quick-start( sorry if some terms are not matching, i have russian interface in OOO)and youll see a tray icon from where you can choose any app of the suite.
do not forget exit from quick start before unmounting sfs

here is what it looks like in boxpup( slightly customised look:)
http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/7774/oootr9.jpg

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2008, 09:10    Post_subject: Icon for Strawberry NOP  

Dear Puppians,

Although I use my own "puppy distro" (qt3, qt4, KDE libs, GNOME libs, IceWM, Rox, OO 3.0, FF, dev libs, Slack 12.0), all in Mac OSX style, I can contribute an "icon" I recently modded that might fit the bill for a Stawberry NOP. Hope you like it, in spite of the overt culinary associations.

With kind regards,
vovchik
strawberry-orb.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.08 KB
 Viewed   2289 Time(s)

strawberry-orb.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shand

Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 28
Location: China

PostPosted: Sun 02 Nov 2008, 08:09    Post_subject:  

Caneri wrote:
Hi Gray,

Here's a high speed link to use

http://puppylinux.igsobe.com/puppylinux/tpp/NOP/puppy-410-NOP.iso

md5sum is correct on the server here

http://puppylinux.igsobe.com/puppylinux/tpp/NOP/puppy-410-NOP_md5sum.txt

Best,
Eric


Hi,
Not Download........,Why?

"Failed to Connect
The connection was refused when attempting to contact puppylinux.igsobe.com.
Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2008, 01:58    Post_subject:    

Hi gray...i'm a puppy linux newbie...Your NOP is great...it looks like a windows vista environment...it is easy to setup...especially in file mangement..it is fast...by the way How to change the window theme manger? good luck and more power
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2008, 07:47    Post_subject:  

look at the XFCE settings manager- there's an item on window manager set up
_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 17:27    Post_subject: NOP 4.1 (.1) Revision 1 released
Sub_title: update
 

Updated to Revision 1 - see main post
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 22:53    Post_subject:  

gray,

This update of the iso is not working out for me. I end up with a CD of puppy-410-NOP-r1.iso that runs as a live CD but doesn't upgrade.

I created it thus:
xdelta3 -d -s puppy-410-NOP.iso puppy-410-NOP_to_r1.delta puppy-410-NOP-r1.iso

The mdf checksum for puppy-410-NOP_to_r1.delta is correct. Doubtless I'm doing something wrong.

Does this new iso include Opera9.62 and the new xfce?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 00:04    Post_subject: upgrade problems  

Henry:

Puppy 4.1 has the annoying habit of copying the pup_410.sfs to the hard drive where the pupsave file is located whether you want it to or not (or even know about it Twisted Evil ) So to upgrade you have to boot puppy with the pfix=ram option, then locate where the pup_410.sfs file is and delete it (or replace it with the one from the new CD).
Then reboot as normal. I tried to retrain the puppy to break it of this bad habit, but I am afraid the intricacies of the init script confused me some Crying or Very sad .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shand

Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 28
Location: China

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 02:56    Post_subject:  

is NOP4.1.1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 02:56    Post_subject:  

Thanks, gray,

That oversight being dealt with, it upgrades my working configuration nicely. There's a later version of Thunar, and everything seems to work as before, except that Opera will not run at all. (If I use pfix=ram Opera 9.62 runs.)

Trying to run opera in terminal, I get this:
sh-3.00# opera
The Opera binary is not located at "/usr/lib/opera/9.60/opera".
Please modify the wrapper script at "/usr/bin/opera".
sh-3.00#

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 03:16    Post_subject:  

Hi all. I am in the process of switching from 4.1.1 frugal to the brilliant NOP, but have hit a problem. I seem unable to install previously downloaded dot.pup files. Previously in 4.1, I just clicked on these, and they autoinstalled, but in NOP, they open with archive manager. I hope its not too basic a question, but how do I overcome this?
ps. dotpuphandler is installed from the repos.
In the meantime, thanks for this brilliant Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 08:20    Post_subject: NOP r1  

shand : It is 4.10 based but with 4.1.1 fixes, so effectively 4.1.1

Henry: odd, that script should be top layer and so point to the correct place. You will probably have to edit the /usr/bin/opera script to point to 9.62 i.e OPERA_BINARYDIR=/usr/lib/opera/9.62

DaveS: Right click on a pup file and select Open with other application. Select use a custom command at the bottom of the popup gui and enter dotpuprox.sh as the application. Pup files have not been officially supported for a while in Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 10:29    Post_subject:  

Thanks, gray ! !
Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Thanks Gray. Sometimes there are odd .pups that I cannot get as .pets, and pup2pet sometimes does not work. I love this distro. The display on my laptop is light years better than the standard 4.1.1. Certainly the equivalent of Xubuntu, maybe better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]