Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 15:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HD capacity limitation for Linux?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 12:18    Post_subject:  HD capacity limitation for Linux?  

I would like to build my own PC with a 250GB HD and run it exclusively with a Puppy live CD. Tiger Direct has a great deal on a Seagate HD but being an ex-windows user I'm aware of the following:

Please Note: In order to properly access the full capacity of an ATA interface hard drive or partition larger than 137GB and properly support 48-bit logical block addressing, Windows XP Service Pack 1 or Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 are required. This issue does not affect SCSI hard drives.

Is this an issue I need to be concerned with using Puppy? If not, how do I perform the initial format so it's usable under Puppy? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 12:29    Post_subject:  

I have a 200 Gig USB-Harddisk, just works fine.
I set up several partitions, the largest is 70 GB.

I made 3 primary partitions of 10 GB (you can choose which one is "active" if you want to boot from that), and one extended with some logical drives in it.

I used this program:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3444

Some people prefer the grafical qtparted, that comes with many live-CDs like knoppix or mepsis.
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3438&highlight=qtparted

There also is a program for Puppy in development:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3261
It has bugs, so don't use it on harddrives with important files on it. But as you set up a new drive, use it, and give some feedback to the developper to help improving it.

Read here for some basics (create a swapfile and more):
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2355
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aahhaaa


Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Location: Lower Michigan, North America

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 12:59    Post_subject:  

just an FYI note for others reading this thread-
there is also an issue with older mobos in BIOS supporting LBA for huge HDs...
For a while large HDs were sold with a special card like the Promise TX2 to solve this. Sometimes it didn't.
Card is interesting however, in that it adds 2 more EIDE connectors to the machine. No idea if the card works in Linux tho.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 16:29    Post_subject:  

aahhaaa wrote:
just an FYI note...there is also an issue with older mobos in BIOS supporting LBA for huge HDs...

Yes, I read about that when I ran into the 137 GB Windows limit without warning when I put in a new 200GB hard drive. To make things as confusing as possible, I believe the BIOS limit is around the same size as the Windows limit, but not exactly the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trialex
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 21:47    Post_subject:  

Having just installed a 200GB drive its XP SP2, not SP1. Puppy recognised it as 200GB.
Back to top
sunburnt_
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 19:44    Post_subject:  

I beleave the 2.4 kernel will do a 2TB HD size ( could be bigger ).
Win98 will see >137GB as said with a controller card, or some motherboards have drivers that fix 98, VIA is one of them, I have a 160GB & 98 sees all of it after installing the VIA miniport driver.
Other MB makes probably have them too, or there's a driver for $10 made by Rudolph Loe I beleave his name was.
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0559s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]