Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 16:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can I run Puppy within DSL?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
VJ

Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 06:48    Post_subject:  Can I run Puppy within DSL?  

I'm looking for a small distro for my USB key, and Puppy is edging it at the moment, but I need to know one thing, can it boot up inside another operating system like DSL? I prefer Puppy because it's less US centric, eg it runs GAIM instead of NAIM, so I can chat to my mates on MSN (the major IM client here in the UK) and it dosn't 'cheat' by taking up more & more space like DSL does.

Thanks

_________________
share & enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 07:12    Post_subject:  

Pupppy runs from CD.

Insert CD, reboot Computer - go.

On a USB-Stick it depends.
Some people use it together with other systems using a boot-loader like grub.
Some people boot from a floppy (as not every USB-device can boot puppy directly).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
VJ

Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 07:40    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the reply, but that's not quite what I meant, according to the DSL website:
"Boot from within a host operating system (that's right, it can run *inside* Windows)"
I was wondering if Puppy could do the same, or configured to do the same?

_________________
share & enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 07:47    Post_subject:  

DSL uses Qemu.
There is a Qemu-Puppy:
http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html

But Qemu emulates a second Computer with BIOS and so on.
That makes it slow, and so you loose one of Puppys main advantages: speed. (Qemu runs slow even on my Celeron 2,2 Ghz)

It takes just some seconds to boot the "real" puppy, and most DSL-apps should be available for Puppy, too.
In fact, some additional Dotpups are simply converted DSL-packages.

So I would suggest to use a "real" puppy instead of a slow Qemu-solution.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
VJ

Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 07:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Puppy it is then; It was for the apps & size I prefered Puppy to start with, so I doubt I'll be downloading too many more Smile
I may have to use Qemu to boot Puppy on my Uni computers (the only reason I was asking this question), of course e3lsewhere I'll boot into puppy (or my other distro of choice Ubuntu; installed on my home PC).

_________________
share & enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ke4nt

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 01:33    Post_subject:  

Another thing to try is the free vmware player, for either linux or M$ ..
Bootup your .iso using vmware, and you can use many different
OSes from within another one..

http://www.vmware.com/download/player/

73
ke4nt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 14:56    Post_subject: Re: Can I run Puppy within DSL?  

VJ wrote:
I prefer Puppy because it's less US centric, eg it runs GAIM instead of NAIM, so I can chat to my mates on MSN (the major IM client here in the UK) and it dosn't 'cheat' by taking up more & more space like DSL does.
Thanks


How did you mean this?

DSL base is smaller than Puppy base, an will never go over 50MB.

Of course, both distributions are extendable.

Also, DSL runs fine with german keyboard-layout, so I woud'lnt call it US-centric.

It is mainly a matter of taste which Distro do someone prefer, I think

As MU said, many extensions can be used on both systems.
Back to top
Blue Shadow
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 15:06    Post_subject:  

Sorry, forgot to insert my Nickname

Greets,
Blue Shadow
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0746s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0263s) ][ GZIP on ]