Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 12:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
A slideshow screensaver .pet?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
figgles

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2008, 09:12    Post_subject:  A slideshow screensaver .pet?  

I looked around and found a .pup screensaver with a slideshow function -- is there such a thing as a .pet? I'm running 4.1.

TIA!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2008, 12:46    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello figgles,

You could just install the .pup with the dotpuphandler (installed from Petget.).
Or you can go to the dir the pup is in, open a console (the "`" key) and type:
pup2pet pupname.pup...ie..pup2pet PuppyBasicScreensaver02.pup....
However, many .pups will need upgrading to work on 4.xx Puppy, dependancies, ect...
I made a .pet in 3.01 with the above mentioned .pup, which Im guessing is the one you are wanting? Works in 3.01, will test in 4.1 after a reboot..Will post it if it works...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sideburns

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 56
Location: Freedonia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2008, 16:35    Post_subject:  

Please do. I'd like to have something more than the minimalist screensaver built into the Xvesa X server.
_________________
Registered Linux user #470359
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
figgles

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2008, 20:44    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
...You could just install the .pup with the dotpuphandler (installed from Petget.). / Or you can go to the dir the pup is in, open a console (the "`" key) and type: / pup2pet pupname.pup...ie..pup2pet PuppyBasicScreensaver02.pup.... / However, many .pups will need upgrading to work on 4.xx Puppy, dependancies, ect... / I made a .pet in 3.01 with the above mentioned .pup, which Im guessing is the one you are wanting? Works in 3.01, will test in 4.1 after a reboot..Will post it if it works...
The GtkBasic-Screensaver.pup didn't work after loading via the dotpuphandler, which the pet repo strongly admonished me as something I shouldn't do. I have uninstalled it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2008, 00:08    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello figgles,
Well, heres a first draft..
It will run on 4.1, but needs updating...
Just the xdesktopwaves module works right now.
Im looking for a CLI image viewer to get the slideshow working, as the one its written to use isnt in 4.1..
My Wife will love this one when its done..
Other than the waves one, the rest will have to be revamped, a lot...
Its a start, and I wanted to create one for my Wife..She likes the waves
OK but a slideshow will make her very happy!!!

@This .pet does register with petget so you can remove it easily...
It creates a menu item in Desktop...
The pet is in the tar.gz...

@ With the waves on, move the cursor!!!
Screensaver.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Screensaver.tar.gz 
Filesize  60 KB 
Downloaded  398 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
figgles

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2008, 04:46    Post_subject:  

excellent; works as you recommend if I follow your directions. Though .pet, it installed via the dotpup menu extension, albeit fine. The waves module taxes the CPU. I'm looking forward to the slideshow implementation -- much thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2008, 06:02    Post_subject:  

Waves and eye candy
Reminds me 'I Want candy' by none other than 'Bow Wow Wow'
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KNHcaIJETZo

scalerx is in Puppy - may be useful
qiv and xli are small command line image viewers that are not presently in 4.1 but have been in Puppy
look under multimedia under help in Puppy for further possibilities . . .

Keep up the good work - I liked the waves Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 12:26    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,

Well, Ive hit a stumbling block...Heres the deal:
Although Im still messing with the Pbas screensaver, I really wanted to simplify things.
So I set out to create a Bash script to call the slideshow, ect..
That part was easy..(I hacked up an old auto-screenlocking script..)
So I have this script that polls the keyboard and mouse for activity, and when X minutes
pass, it calls Muggins Slideshow module. Voila, a screensaver slideshow!
I have a working gui to chose to run the screensaver, or the slideshow by itself, Petted up
the whole thing, (with the required SDLimage libs) ,i nstalls fine, menu entry, ect..

One last thing though... Rolling Eyes
After X minutes of inactivity, the script calls the slideshow..
After another X minutes, it calls it again...and again...
After about an hour, you have 20 slideshows running..LOL..
After the initial running, each subsequent slideshow opens in a window..
Looks really cool, but not what I had in mind...
And I dont want to do a kill and restart loop..

So what I need is a piece of bash script that polls if a certain module is running..
Sort of an " If module "X" isnt running already, start it" in place of my "run module "X"
Maybe Ill look into how Pprocess or KP does it...
Im sure it is simple and obvious, but hey, Im new at this....

Also, Im thinking of expanding it to include a choice of Slideshow, Gxine, or Lock the screen w/ the digital clock module ect...

Any thoughts/suggestions???
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 13:23    Post_subject:  

PuppyLover? What you might be able to do---and take this from a former programmer who has since lost ALL of his programming knowledge (you probably know the story by now?)---have the script do the poll like every 10 minutes, okie? No activity in 10 minutes? Slideshow starts and then the script itself goes into a "timed session", say like 165 hours? Wink In other words, "an incredibly long amount of time" and then THAT timed session stops once the keyboard/mouse is triggered---where it returns once more to the 10 minute polling all over again.

Just an endless loop of two different polling sessions, one of 10 minutes and one of an incredibly long amount of time, once enabled.

That would be one way IMHO. But then as I said from the beginning basically: "What do I know?" Wink

Hope that helped?

Amicalement mon ami!

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sideburns

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 56
Location: Freedonia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 13:36    Post_subject:  

The obvious solution is to create a shell variable (Let's say $TESTING.) and set it to one. Then, when it's time to run your poll, you say:

if $TESTING ...

When you start the slide show, set $TESTING to 0 and the if statement becomes false, and the script doesn't poll. As you don't export the variable, it won't interfere with any other scripts using the same name for a variable.

_________________
Registered Linux user #470359
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 15:02    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
So what I need is a piece of bash script that polls if a certain module is running

The command ps shows which processes are running.

The command pidof name gives the pid (process identifier) of process 'name' (if it's running), or nothing (if there's no process 'name' running). If multiple instances of 'name' are running, all pids are returned.

Herewith you can craft the test:
Code:
[ "$(pidof name)" ] && exit    # already running
... (not yet running, start it)

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 16:41    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@erikson,
Thank You!!! That is exactly (I think) what I need... Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Will get back later...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5780
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 17:08    Post_subject:  

Puppy 4.1 includes xli, and runs a slideshow like this
Code:
xli -fullscreen -delay 5  /root/my-pictures/*.png

To remove window borders, - add to /root/.jwmrc:
Code:
<Group>
<Class>xli</Class>
<Name>xli</Name>
<Option>noborder</Option>
<Option>notitle</Option>
<Option>layer:2</Option>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>

Well, the traybar is still there .... haven't looked at it more ...

Good luck!
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 18:14    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Puppy 4.1 includes xli


I am deprived Embarassed
I am using 4.1.1 Standard - It has no xli . . .
What am I missing? (so to speak)

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ScarEye

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 07 Dec 2008, 00:56    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
Puppy 4.1 includes xli


I am deprived Embarassed
I am using 4.1.1 Standard - It has no xli . . .
What am I missing? (so to speak)



Hey guys new to puppy linux just installed it like 10 minutes ago but lov'in it so far. I don't have xli either. I am running version 4.1.1. Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0874s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]