Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 02:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to make Pinnacle PCTV Stick 72e work?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 13:53    Post subject:  How to make Pinnacle PCTV Stick 72e work?  

Hi,

with a Pinnacle PCTV Stick 72e and Puppy4 :
Does it need module dvb_usb_dib0700 ?
/dev/dvb doesnt exist.
Any help would be welcome.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 23:04    Post subject: Re: Make Pinnacle PCTV Stick 72e work  

linuxcbon wrote:
/dev/dvb doesnt exist.

You need the DVB device nodes. These can be created with the MAKEDEV-DVB.sh script from
http://puppyfiles.org/dotpupsde/dotpups/Multimedia/Mplayer-1.0rc1/
If you search the forum for "MADEDEV-DVB" you will find other examples of people using digital TV tuners in Puppy.

linuxcbon wrote:
Does it need module dvb_usb_dib0700 ?

Yes. I think Puppy already has this DVB driver. But you will definitely need to obtain the appropriate firmware. See here -
http://lists-archives.org/video4linux/20980-linux-driver-for-tnt-pinnacle-pctv-dvb-t-72e.html

As you can see from that discussion, the PCTV 72e appears to not work properly at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 11:39    Post subject:  

I put the firmware.
I did the MAKEDEV-DVB.sh
I scanned channels to channels.conf
But gxine doesnt work and mplayer neither.
What did I miss ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2008, 04:07    Post subject:  

HERE IS HOW I GOT IT TO WORK :
I copied the firmware dvb-usb-dib0700-1.10.fw in /lib/firmware/
I plugged the stick in
I created the DVB device nodes with the script MAKEDEV-DVB.sh
I created a text file fr-Paris containing
Code:
# Paris - France (DVB-T transmitter of the Eiffel tower)
# T freq bw fec_hi fec_lo mod transmission-mode guard-interval hierarchy
T 474166000 8MHz 2/3 NONE QAM64 8k 1/32 NONE
T 498166000 8MHz 2/3 NONE QAM64 8k 1/32 NONE
T 522166000 8MHz 2/3 NONE QAM64 8k 1/32 NONE
T 562166000 8MHz 2/3 NONE QAM64 8k 1/32 NONE
T 586166000 8MHz 3/4 NONE QAM64 8k 1/8 NONE
I installed linuxtv-DVB-apps-1.1.1.pet
And did
Code:
# scan fr-Paris | tee channels.conf
# cp channels.conf /root/.xine/
Run gxin and select File->DVB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 01:59    Post subject:  

Puppy 4.1, Pinnacle PCTV DVB-T Stick solo (without remote control, 34 Euro at MediaMarkt)

I installed:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Multimedia/Mplayer-1.0rc1/linuxtv-DVB-apps-1.1.1.pet

ran in a consolewindow:
MAKEDEV-DVB.sh

Then downloaded and extracted:
http://www.johannes-bauer.com/dvbt/dvbt-scanaid-0.03.tar.bz2

I could find no frequency list for Karlsruhe, so I used the slow scan:

cd dvbt-scanaid-0.03
./Create_Scanning_Table
scan Scanlist.txt >/root/.xine/channels.conf


This takes around 20 minutes, but must only be done once!
Then edit /root/.xine/channels.conf, and remove the entries, that are listed twice.

Then start gxine, and choose DVB.

To switch a channel:
Use these keys on the numpad:

9 and 3

Or pageup / pagedown

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 05:55    Post subject:  

I wrote a small application.
It is a DVBT channelswitcher for gxine.

See attached screenshot (I cannot snapshot the running program, so gxine looks black on the screenshot).
It requires the current Puppybasic and Gtkbasic.
You can get them in one package by installing
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/testing/puppy4.1-k2.6.27/Muppyfiler-gtkbasic.pet

Mark
Gtb-DVB.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Gtb-DVB.pet 
Filesize  9.99 KB 
Downloaded  655 Time(s) 
Gtb-DVB.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.24 KB
 Viewed   976 Time(s)

Gtb-DVB.jpg


_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Sun 19 Oct 2008, 09:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2008, 08:33    Post subject:  

I updated the pet and the screenshot.
You now can record movies from the TV program to disk.

If you don't want to use my pet:
gxine can record like this:

Recording:
edit /root/.gxine/config
Set the savefolder:
media.capture.save_dir:/root/videos/

Start gxine like this:
gxine dvb://DasErste#save:1.wmv

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4309
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2009, 23:20    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
I wrote a small application.
It is a DVBT channelswitcher for gxine.

See attached screenshot (I cannot snapshot the running program, so gxine looks black on the screenshot).
It requires the current Puppybasic and Gtkbasic.
You can get them in one package by installing
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/testing/puppy4.1-k2.6.27/Muppyfiler-gtkbasic.pet

Mark


The PET doesn't want to download ...

I am trying to get gxine and your app to recognize and use my AVerMedia Hybrid Volar Max USB TV tuner.

It is recognized in System Information and AVerMedia provides Linux drivers on their Web site.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
arfon


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Location: North Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 07:38    Post subject:  Hybrid Volar DVB-T / Analog ?  

Hi edoc et al

Did you ever get the Hybrid Volar working ?

In the UK, I'm looking to buy either:

- AVerTV Hybrid Volar HD H830, or
- AVerTV Hybrid Volar HX A827

Both of these are USB, DVB-T plus Analog - hence the "Hybrid", and will plug into a laptop or a netbook (eeePC 901).

Avermedia provide a Linux driver for the A827 and LinuxTV suggests that it might be possible to get the HD working.

So it looks promising for the drivers but I was wondering if anybody ever got either of these to work with a recent version of Puppy. Have done searches and found lots of other useful posts but was looking for some product specific experience before purchasing.

Best regards
Arfon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
arfon


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Location: North Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 07:38    Post subject:  

double posting removed Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4309
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 17:00    Post subject:  

I got distracted and then CUPS choked again, so I am chasing that.

Have you looked at this thread?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=439096#439096

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
arfon


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Location: North Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 14:02    Post subject:  

Hi edoc

Yes, saw that and have ordered a similar device to John Lewis (I ordered a AverTv Volar Red HD+ which is like a black Volar HD but has a remote which may come in handy and didn't cost much more)

However the 2, I mentioned above, have Analog capability and can take in a VCR feed for example which would be really useful. These devices have different chipsets to the AF9015 in the Volar HD.

Will experiment and get familiar with the Volar HD first then get up to speed with a Puppy Media Centre before I venture into Hybrid land.

Let me know if you make any progress in the meantime
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0712s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]