Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 07:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
PCMCIA 3com network cards don't work in Satellite 220
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
soberon


Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Location: México

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 23:37    Post subject:  PCMCIA 3com network cards don't work in Satellite 220  

I just installed (option 2) Puppy 1.0.6 in my old love, a Toshiba Satellite 220 80 Mb RAM 1.4 Gb HD, as oly OS. Everything works fine EXCEPT (allways are a devil in paradise Is'n it?) the net card and the modem card, both tipe "credit card".
The net card is a 3com 3CCFE574BT. The app for configurate it works well and in the "modules" list appears the card model and so BUT when I select it the prompt says fail; same history for modem card... What is wrong? Somebody can help me? Please!!! As a reference, I tryed with Damn Smal Linux (live) and EVERYTHING works fine... My first option is Puppy if I can fix it with your kind help.
Thanks in advance Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 23:57    Post subject:  

I haven't used a modem in about 5 years, so I cannot help you there.

Let's start with the network card:

What do you mean by
Quote:
The app for configurate it works well


What app are you using to configure?
How do you know it works well?

Quote:
I select it the prompt says fail

When you select it where?
What is the exact error message you get?

If I know what you are doing, I will be able to notice if you are doing something wrong or if it's a configuration problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2005, 00:03    Post subject:  

While I wait for your answer lets go back to the basics:

Is this a wired or wireless card? ( I broswed quickly and I think its wired)

Is the card connected to an available network?

Please post the results of the following command
Code:
ifconfig -a


Post it as a file as you did the one for the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0454s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]