Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 17 Aug 2019, 19:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to find out monitor frequencies?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
katrina


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 08:51    Post subject:  How to find out monitor frequencies?  

How do I find out what they are? The installation process didn't detect them properly. Sad It's an LCD screen on an MSI Wind U100. I know the resolution is 1024x600.

Currently, it's running a trial version of XP that the shop put in with no extra charge. :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6754
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 09:27    Post subject:  

If you kill the display, (by entering Control+Alt+Backspace), then run xorgwizard from the commandline, do either Xorg of Xvesa give you other options?

If they do, try selecting, then restart window manager with xwin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11267

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 09:30    Post subject:  

look in /etc/X11/xorg.conf for this section

Code:
Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     340   270   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "ACR"
   ModelName    "Acer AL1717"
   ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
   Option       "DPMS"
   HorizSync    24.0-80.0
   VertRefresh  49.0-75.0
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   EndSection


and set vert refresh......most lcd use 60 - 75 htz.....do it manually as it seems the auto detects isn't working.
Restart x to test...or there is xvidtune from the command prompt may help

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
katrina


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 09:45    Post subject:  

Hmm...

@mikeb I could be wrong, but shouldn't I already have puppy installed for there to be an xorg.conf for me to look at?

@muggins The other options do not match the resolution of the monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13282
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 10:47    Post subject:  

katrina, do you mean that XP is what is running on the computer now? You haven't tried to install Puppy at all? If so, can you boot Puppy from a CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2946
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 11:12    Post subject:  

what version of puppy are you trying with
I'm not certain but I think support for your display has only just been included in the 4.1 series which is still in beta

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
katrina


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 19:57    Post subject:  

@Flash Yes, XP is running on it now. I can boot from my LiveUSB, but I get stuck at the Puppy Video Wizard. It doesn't recognize my screen, so I have to input horizontal and vertical frequencies... which I don't know. Sad

@HairyWill Trying with Dingo.


Should I also try with Xvesa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pence

Joined: 30 Jul 2005
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 09:58    Post subject:  

The frequencies of some monitors can be adjusted on the monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
felip3

Joined: 19 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 10:17    Post subject:  

I think continue anyway and switch to console (ctrl+alt+f2) and then vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and change the refresh rates manually, i have done something similar with my old crt 800x600 monitor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0686s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0169s) ][ GZIP on ]