Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 05:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Tecra/Protege stops booting at Xvesa and Xorg (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 14:58    Post subject: Still hopefull....  

I had the final crash it looks like on my desktop last night - installing fedora and like what I see so far. Can't even safe boot into Windows. Evil or Very Mad

I'm still hopeful that I can get Puppy onto my laptop. I found these 2 links and will proceed to try them and see what results I get Very Happy

http://www.x.org/archive/X11R6.8.0/doc/neomagic.4.html
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=146452

I'll start with x.org since it explicately makes mention of my card (MagicGraph 128XD (NM2160)) and possible configuration considerations.

Here goes nothing! Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 20:38    Post subject:
Subject description: I'm toast...
 

Well, I think I'm about ready to give up. I think I messed up following the instructions in the one thread, or the changes took place but absolutely nothing has changed.

Thought I might try some other distros/installations using a boot floppy but can't mount my floppy drive on my desktop to create a boot floppy, can't boot into Windows, blahblahblah....

II guess it's time to flatten both my laptop and desktop or throw them both out the window and go buy Macs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6666
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 23:23    Post subject:  

Jacqui,

not sounding very promising! How did you try installing fedora on the desktop? Is the floppy completely ratso, or only under windows? Because if the desktop had a CDR drive, and the floppy drive could boot, then you could try sbootmanager floppy to coerce a CDR to boot puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 23:39    Post subject:  

Things on my desktop seem to be going ok Confused Do I dare say it Shocked

I'm still running Puppy on my desktop. I thought I'd try Fedora using a DVD install but I've been mucking with my laptop all night Wink I haven't been having much luck though Crying or Very sad

It ends up the floppy on my desktop was/is mounted even though the 'mount' dialog shows it's not and fails when I try to mount it. I found it was mounted only when I was exploring the file structure and saw it listed in the mnt directory. So I should be able to create a boot floppy. I was thinking it might be another way I could try to help install another distribution onto my laptop if I can't get Puppy working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2008, 12:54    Post subject:  

I did some more research and found some floppy drivers for my cd drive on my laptop...wow, that was long winded Wink

I'll try it tonight and hope it works and will expand the options available to me for experimenting and getting something installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2008, 15:06    Post subject: NeoMagic Video Chipsets on Linux/X Window System  

Found this link specific to NeoMagic chipsets that I'm hoping will help:
http://linuxmafia.com/faq/Hardware/neomagic.html

Since my problem has now become more specific to video I thought it might be appropriate to start a new thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=217839#217839

Thanks guys...you've been great (and given me hope). Can you maybe help me out over on the other thread to get my video working? Smile

Jacqui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harryc

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 15:48    Post subject:  

I have a Toshiba Portege 3110ct with a Trident Cyber 9525 video chipset. I've seen this particular machine mentioned several times in this thread, but it is unclear if a fix for it made it into any particular version on Puppy. I am coming here fresh off of trying to get DSL to run Xvesa unsuccessfully on this machine. Does anyone have an answer for me, or can I help in any way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6666
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 22:48    Post subject:  

Hello Harryc,

unfortunately I don't think JacquiG ever found a solution to
her graphics problem. Two additional compounding
problems, with getting puppy working on her computer,
were limited RAM, and inability to get puppy to boot
from the default live CD, due to external usb CD.

Just from general forum reading, it seems some have
success getting their trident cyber graphics working,
whereas others,like JacquiG, are unsuccessful.

So how much RAM does your laptop have? And if you
can boot from a CD, that's the simplest thing to try &
see whether Puppy's xorgwizard will work for you or
not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 22:51    Post subject:  

harryc,
Puppy 4.00+ should work with it. It will force you to use xorg, which is all that works with that hardware. Be sure you have at least 128MB RAM+swap partition.

It will probably freeze during first bootup, with an instruction to press ctrl-c. Do that and then select xorg. Please report what happens. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harryc

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 06:28    Post subject:  

Hi Richard, thanks for the reply, Puppy 4.0 worked exactly as you've described. This has been very challenging hardware to get Linux installed on, and I've finally found a home for it at Puppy. Thank-you!

@muggins, I have 128MB RAM. I cheated a bit on the install. I physically removed my hard drive and installed it in a Thinkpad, then I installed Puppy 4.0, then I put the drive back in the Portege. It came right up after the xorg/resolution selection process.

Last edited by harryc on Fri 05 Sep 2008, 06:38; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6666
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 06:35    Post subject:  

Harryc,

good to hear you were successful. I think Richard did all the hard work of getting xorgwizard to recognise the tridents. I'm curious how much RAM you had though? If you open a console and type free, what does it display?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harryc

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 06:43    Post subject:  

muggins - I have 128MB of RAM and 256MB swap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 11:30    Post subject:  

harryc,
I am pleased that puppy4 worked for you as I expected. It can be made to avoid the ctrl-c game if you can give me a bit of information to include in future puppys.

Could you post the last line of file /etc/xorgoverrides here? I can then have that added to the standard puppy. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harryc

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 12:08    Post subject:  

Richard, I skimmed over your post too fast and didn't pay attention to the ctrl-C. I did not have to do that. I just selected xorg, and the LCD and resolution. The last line of /etc/xorgoverrides is;
oem:Trident CYBER 8820.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tonny

Joined: 05 Sep 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 13:35    Post subject:  

Hello

harryc or rerwin , can you take a look at my post?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=33188

(problem with Trident Cyber 9382 video chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0687s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]