Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 10:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I set up a router with Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 02:47    Post subject:  How do I set up a router with Puppy?  

Hi,

I want to do this:

i have a ADSL-flatrate.
I have an old Pentium 200.
I want to set it up with Puppy and Apache, so that it is always online and can serve you with Dotpups.

I also have a Notebook.
I need it to work and to surf the Web.
So i want to connect it with the ethernet-network-card to the Puppy-Webserver (you call it Gateway then?) to access the Web.

Question:
What do I have to set up for that?
I can set up Apache with httpd.conf, but my knowledge of Networks is not good.
I think I need a program on the Webserver-machine, thats leads the notebook through to the Web?

Thanks, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 03:22    Post subject: Re: Puppy-Gateway?  

I am assuming you jave an ADSL modem connected to one computer and to the internet? It sounds like the easiest solution is a router.

An ethernet router takes two or more inputs and has one input to your modem.

You can think of it splitting and queing the system. Are you using cable or wifi? Wifi is the same without the cable.

Maybe someone has a router they can provide? That would be the simplest solution. Be interested in others suggestions.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 03:25    Post subject:  

I have cable.
I think routers are not very expensive, 30-40 Euro.

That sounds like a good solution.

But as I would use the P200 for nothing else, it could serve as a router too, no?
It just needs a second Ethernet-Card, one for the ADSL-modem, one for the Notebook.
Those cards just cost 5-15 Euro.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 03:40    Post subject:  

yep 30-40 Euro new.

Yes I understand what you are trying to do as I had a similar idea. With a dedicated router there will be no speed loss but if the computer is routing and serving I have a feeling this will be less effective (can someone explain this?). There is nothing to go wrong with routers (except the connections so even second hand they tend to be OK).

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 03:44    Post subject:  

No, there should be no loss in speed.
Ethernetcards have 10 Mbit or 100 Mbit.

My ADSL just has 2 Mbit.
In big companies, Gateways route hundrets of clients to the web.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 05:09    Post subject: Previous posts  

This is great.

Rarsa has posted detailed instructions in this forum about setting up the network like that, and dvw86 has setup a server like that sometime ago - he may have some ideas.

Edit: Maybe i saw that in another forum Embarassed Will check on it and PM you.

Rarsa's post is here, but may be different from what you need - http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2163

Last edited by raffy on Fri 11 Nov 2005, 05:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 05:12    Post subject:  

Thanks raffy, I will try to find it tonight, when I repaired my computer (the fan is dying).

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 05:58    Post subject:  

Two NICS, use ' ifconfig ' to set their addresses and netmask and ' route' to set the tables.
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 11:09    Post subject:  

Raffy,

My post is for a completelly different problem.

MU,

Here is a good link http://www.homenethelp.com/web/faq/sharing-linux-router.asp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 12:06    Post subject:  

I've done that exact thing with OS X as the web server and gateway. Setting up OS X to do that is much different than Puppy though. While it worked fine, I still ended up just getting a router. The router was (A) easier to set up for port forwarding when it came to applications like Bit-Torrent (B) costs less to have on all the time and (C) takes up less space on the desk. My server also started getting a lot of traffic and even though I have a 3 meg connection, it slowed down to almost dial up speeds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aahhaaa


Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Location: Lower Michigan, North America

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 12:19    Post subject:  

I was reading up on routers recently, different kinds of networking. One of their more complex functions is traffic direction, and config'ing seems important. If you have people d/ling different files at the same time, there are priority demands on your HD, RAM, & CPU bus, you'd want to be sure to give your primary computer a high priority.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 15:35    Post subject:  

aahhaaa wrote:
I was reading up on routers recently, different kinds of networking. One of their more complex functions is traffic direction, and config'ing seems important. If you have people d/ling different files at the same time, there are priority demands on your HD, RAM, & CPU bus, you'd want to be sure to give your primary computer a high priority.


That is correct. Some of the nicer routers will let you limit how much bandwidth each service or port can use. As I found out, this is something to consider when serving up large files for a popular Linux OS Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 17:06    Post subject:  

I bought a second nic today, and will try to use the P200 as router and Webserver in the next days.
Thanks for all tips so far Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 17:19    Post subject: Simple Internet connection sharing  

Found it! I guess this is for simple Internet connection sharing, meaning, use an existing connection, but use two network cards in one PC:
Quote:
I use the Internet from eth0 and i try to share connection (NAT) to eth1.
I set eth1 with ip 192.168.0.1 mask 255.255.255.0 .
eth0 is with net ip (real) , mask 255.255.255.0 gateway + DNS

I set other computers which are connected to eth1 with ip's 192.168.0.2/255,
mask 255.255.255.0 and gateway 192.168.0.1
I can ping all ip's but they can't ping me .

and then set :

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

No Internet on computers connected to eth1 (no ping to ip which are in the network with the net)

then set:

iptables - t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j SNAT -to-source "netip"

add:

iptables -A PREROUTING -i eth0 -j DNAT --to-destination 192.168.0.1

enable forwarding too with

echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

I have been keeping this set of instructions (culled from different forums) for a day like this, but have not tried it yet Embarassed (especially that last line - must be different for Puppy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 17:38    Post subject:  

Thanks Raffy, I also will search my german board with these keywords.
There were many threads with IPtables in the past years.

There also should be a HowTo in the web.
I will try to document, how I realize it on puppy then Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0744s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]