Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 03:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
KOffice 1.6.3 for 4.00 and 4.06 ***& 3.01*** New Version
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 11:35    Post subject:  

As I understand Bootmanager, if the box Ignore above user selection... is checked then Puppy will automatically load any sfs file that is in /mnt/home that has the same number as your version of Puppy. For instance, if the box is checked and there is a file named K-Office_400.sfs in /mnt/home then your Puppy 4.00 will automatically load it--but if you are using Puppy 4.06 then it will *not* automatically load it (hence the renaming). I think I have seen this misfire, which is why I suggest unchecking the box and Adding the properly named sfs file to the Right side, clicking OK and rebooting. However, it should also work to check the ox if the K-Office sfs is located in /mnt/home and the number matches your Puppy version.

I have checked this with default versions of Puppy 4.00 and 4.06 on frugal installs and Live-CD installs. As I understand it, there is a problem with using sfs files in a full install--not exactly a problem, it is just not meant to work in this way.

To help me check this out, if there is a problem could you please do the following checklist?

Puppy Version? 4.00 or 4.06 - only

Install method: frugal or Live-CD - only (USB should work but not tested - Full *should not* work)

K-Office_400.sfs or K-Office 4.06.sfs - must match Puppy version and be located in /mnt/home

Bootmanager shows K_Offifce_400.sfs or K-Office_406 in Right side

check /usr/share/applications/kde/ after reboot

Thanks for your troubleshooting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 13:50    Post subject:  

Ok quick update...i managed to unpack with latest unsquashfs from debian then repack with older mksquashfs...now mounts ok..seems 3.3 incompatible with 3.1 .

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 14:59    Post subject:  

Quick update no2.......I can run kword in puppy 2.12 using the remade sfs.....all seems to work...open files/compose/print.....complains about desktop/mime type files in console but I don't think 2.12 uses them.


excellent

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 19:21    Post subject:  

So I could finally start to test KOffice and begun with a spreadsheet created in OOo. (ods)
Quite some sheets are present.
So I opened the Kspread and selected open.
After a while Kspead just vanished from memory.
The spreadsheet isn't that big, just 246KB.

I tried another then, much smaller.
It loaded, but as there are vlookup functions in there, I can't work with it in Kspread.

I tried a odt document.
That one loaded. It wasn't very big and just some text and scanned pictures.
Another one had a problem with the footer being on 2 lines instead of one.
Another was a two column table with overflow on several pages.
I only got the first few lines in the table cells.

Word documents .doc aren't accepted.

Slideshow .ptt aren't accepted.

There was no help. No wonder that the sfs file is smaller then the OOo's one. When comparisons are to made, it should be done with the same contents.

So not a comfortable start.
Probably when one starts with the Koffice environment, one can do the work which is needed to be done, but as with the Microsoft Office suite, one is trapped in the proprietary environment.
Koffice doesn't seem to support the odx formats fully. (yet?)

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Tue 26 Aug 2008, 19:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 19:35    Post subject: Console Messages to Ignore
Subject description: @mikeb
 

According to the K-Office developers I talked to many of the K-Office messages are not critical, more in the line of information for the developers. I'm sure it would be great to get rid of them all, but my experience of KDE is that all of the apps pepper the screen with messages. That used to really bug me--it's what made me start looking at leaner, tighter programs and end up with puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Thu 28 Aug 2008, 08:27    Post subject:  

Ok further info

On puppy 2.12 i updated libart_lgpl_2 and libstdc++.so.6.

Every application now launches. I've only tested kword in detail so far but I suspect I will get the same functionality as others are having on puppy 3 and 4.

So apart from the above and using an older version of mksquashfs this package is useable on older puppies. Smile ..will test on 2.02 later.

Ooo one question....is it possible to do a little theming...the base color is full white and would be nice to tone it down a bit. I guess there is no theming in the package as such as its not meant to be a full kde setup.

Another observation is that what does function seems stable and runs at a fair speed...eg kword performs as well as say abiword.

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Thu 28 Aug 2008, 16:10    Post subject:  

ok interesting spin off from this project.
I downloaded (debian) ktorrent as a test and it ran happily (on 2.12) using this packages kde elements...so possibility of further kde apps without the full kde desktop. Smile


mike

Last edited by mikeb on Sun 09 Aug 2009, 11:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Aug 2008, 20:43    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
ok interesting spin off from this project.
I downloaded (debian) ktorrent as a test and it ran happily (on 2.12) using this packages kde elements...so possibility of further kde apps without the full kde desktop. Smile


mike


Hi mike

Sure you can use just about any KDE application as long as you have the missing libs, I've been doing it for a few months now Smile
If you look at my thread here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27513&start=105
You'll see that I made my own base, its 23MB and I can run Bibletime, Kword, KCPUload, Kdock, and a few others on it Smile
If you wanted to try Kcpuload here's a pet package
to run it open a command line and type kcpuload
it automatically docks on Jwm & Icewm
and has a nice right click menu with options on the taskbar.
ttuuxxx
kcpuload.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.75 KB
 Viewed   1247 Time(s)

kcpuload.png

CPU-Load-kde.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  CPU-Load-kde.pet 
Filesize  53.59 KB 
Downloaded  478 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Fri 29 Aug 2008, 07:04    Post subject:  

Cheers for the info ttuuxxx.

Koffice package includes qt 3.3.8 too...so for anything that requires it eg vbox this is another space saver Smile

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 15:48    Post subject:  

Ok dumb non kde expert question here.....

What is needed in addition to this package to have the kde desktop as well...looking at the contents list of the kde357.sfs posted a while ago it seems like nearly everything is there and since this package is behaving very well my curiosity and appetite have been stimulated

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 16:55    Post subject: K-Office for 3.01 as well as 4.00 and 4.06
Subject description: Correspondence with K-Office developers
 

In the first message in this thread I posted a link to a version of K-Office for Puppy 3.01 (Karbon is broken and I can't fix it). I also posted a link to a discussion I had with K-Office developers. Here's that link again

http://www.puppylinux.org/community/blogs/playdayz/correspondence-with-k-office-developers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Matu

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Location: Europe, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 04:27    Post subject:  

Hi playdayz,

thanks for your work on K-Office sfs files. Unfortunately I couldn't download the one for puppy 3.01. Clicking on the link gives me 403 error in FF3.

Matu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 04:46    Post subject:  

Matu wrote:
Hi playdayz,

thanks for your work on K-Office sfs files. Unfortunately I couldn't download the one for puppy 3.01. Clicking on the link gives me 403 error in FF3.

Me too, but I use Seamonkey. Trying Save Link Target As only gives a 1kb download not 79Mb.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 11:50    Post subject: Download K-Offfice for 3.01 [Solved]
Subject description: Forgot to change permissions
 

@WhoDo, Matu

I apologize for the inconvenience. I forgot to change the permissions on the file, so that I was able to download it in testing, but you couldn't. Thanks for letting me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8213

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 15:04    Post subject:  

Hi playdayz

Quote:
K-Office for Puppy 3.01 (Karbon is broken and I can't fix it).


have you tried updating libart_lgpl_2 (v20) and libstdc++.ao.6 (v9) in puppy 3

these stopped karbon working in puppy 2

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0851s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]