pnethood - samba share mounter

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#161 Post by HairyWill »

So now it looks like I'm building the mount command incorrectly in func_mount. Please could you post the exact mount command that works. I think I have been using it with empty values for the username and password options, maybe they should not be there at all.

I don't understand what you mean by session username :oops:
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
Sit Heel Speak
Posts: 2595
Joined: Fri 31 Mar 2006, 03:22
Location: downwind

#162 Post by Sit Heel Speak »

When I say "the session has a username" I mean the username you type in, along with a session password, to start the Win98 session:
http://i37.tinypic.com/zl41vd.jpg

These are not my real IP's and password but you get the idea. Khublai, the XP machine, has no password on its shares, and no username either. Chepenoy (named after Chepe Noyon, also spelled "Jebe" if you're wondering) is Win98SE. It works the same on Chagatai, the Win98-1 machine (Subotai, my T21 Thinkpad, died last Saturday).

I use an existing ext3 partition, /mnt/sda4, as the share mountpoint but it could just as easily be /root/mnt/CHEPENOY and /root/mnt/KHUBLAI like LinNeighborhood does it. You would need to first mkdir /root/mnt of course.

Code: Select all

mount-FULL -t cifs "//192.168.1.100/CHEPENOY_C" "/mnt/sda4/CHEPENOY_C" -o "servernetbiosname=CHEPENOY,username=,password=sesame, iocharset=utf8"

Code: Select all

mount-FULL -t cifs "//192.168.1.101/C" "/mnt/sda4/KHUBLAI_C" -o "servernetbiosname=KHUBLAI,username=,password=, iocharset=utf8"
It also works just fine without the

Code: Select all

, iocharset=utf8
part.

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#163 Post by HairyWill »

Thanks for that. I'm baffled, pnethood-0.64 and 0.65 both include the netbiosname option and the mount command generated should match the one you posted.
You could try adding the following into /usr/local/apps/pnethood/func_mount at line 28 before the actual mount is performed.

Code: Select all

gxmessage "mount-FULL -t cifs //${IP}/${SHARE} ${MOUNTPOINT} 
-o ${SERVERNETBIOSNAME}username=${USERNAME},password=${PASSWORD}"
This should allow you to verify the mount command being used.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

menno
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 23:21
Location: Bedum (Nederland)
Contact:

smbmount

#164 Post by menno »

Well I saw that You use in smbmount the IP number .

As far I know that doesn't work it should be the machinename .
As far I understand the samba manuals it say the de "service" should be been writen in U(niversal)N(ame)C(ode) text .

For some unknow reasen the cifs doesn't if frugel installetion .
It gives error on the unionfs system .

User avatar
Béèm
Posts: 11763
Joined: Wed 22 Nov 2006, 00:47
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

Re: smbmount

#165 Post by Béèm »

menno wrote:Well I saw that You use in smbmount the IP number .

As far I know that doesn't work it should be the machinename .
As far I understand the samba manuals it say the de "service" should be been writen in U(niversal)N(ame)C(ode) text .

For some unknow reasen the cifs doesn't if frugel installetion .
It gives error on the unionfs system .
I give in a rxvt pnethood 10.0.0.10 and that works perfectly well.
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
[url=http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage]Consult Wikka[/url]
Use peppyy's [url=http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html]puppysearch[/url]

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: smbmount

#166 Post by HairyWill »

menno wrote:Well I saw that You use in smbmount the IP number .

As far I know that doesn't work it should be the machinename .
As far I understand the samba manuals it say the de "service" should be been writen in U(niversal)N(ame)C(ode) text .

For some unknow reasen the cifs doesn't if frugel installetion .
It gives error on the unionfs system .
thanks for the feedback, I think I used the IP because it made it easier to deal with existing mounts if you do a rescan and smbmount via IP works for me. If it causes problems for others then I should rethink this.

Failure to load the cifs module might be cured by setting the kernel boot flag to use aufs instead of unionfs. I presume you are using a puppy that includes cifs such as 4.00.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

menno
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 23:21
Location: Bedum (Nederland)
Contact:

#167 Post by menno »

HairyWill :
Failure to load the cifs module might be cured by setting the kernel boot flag to use aufs instead of unionfs. I presume you are using a puppy that includes cifs such as 4.00.

In my hardisk instalation of 4.0 it has unionfs and cifs loaded .
If I start from a CD , i have know idea how to set the boot parameters it to unionfs . (maybe it default ?)

Béèm :
I give in a rxvt pnethood 10.0.0.10 and that works perfectly well.

I tryed it . It finds the otherside but cann't mount .

It very hard why something works on machine A and doesn't work on machine B .

User avatar
Béèm
Posts: 11763
Joined: Wed 22 Nov 2006, 00:47
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

#168 Post by Béèm »

menno wrote:Béèm :
I give in a rxvt pnethood 10.0.0.10 and that works perfectly well.

I tried it . It finds the other side but can't mount .
Are you sure the other side is correctly defined as a shared resource?
Which Windows?
If XP Pro, I have no experience and it can be more tricky.
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
[url=http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage]Consult Wikka[/url]
Use peppyy's [url=http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html]puppysearch[/url]

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#169 Post by disciple »

Well I saw that You use in smbmount the IP number .

As far I know that doesn't work it should be the machinename .
It generally seems to work, but not with Win95/98 servers.
thanks for the feedback, I think I used the IP because it made it easier to deal with existing mounts if you do a rescan and smbmount via IP works for me. If it causes problems for others then I should rethink this.
I had assumed you weren't supporting smbmount anymore HW, as nothing has happened since I reported this:
It works great for me - as long as I use cifs obviously. I think I'm using the standard Dingo for the client.
If I don't use cifs, it fails to mount Win98 shares, and if I mount non-Win98 shares with spaces, it still has the old problem, where if I open pnethood with a share already mounted, it has a tab for the machine, but with an underscore instead of the space etc... as I described before.
So there are currently two problems with pnethood using smbmount:
- spaces in shares, and
- mounting with IP instead of hostname.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#170 Post by HairyWill »

disciple wrote:
Well I saw that You use in smbmount the IP number .

As far I know that doesn't work it should be the machinename .
It generally seems to work, but not with Win95/98 servers.
ah yes, I think both $IP and $MACHINE will contain the IP in this scenario, at some point it needs to do an ip to netbiosname lookup.
I had assumed you weren't supporting smbmount anymore HW, as nothing has happened since I reported this:

So there are currently two problems with pnethood using smbmount:
- spaces in shares, and
- mounting with IP instead of hostname.
I had forgotten that there are still permissions problems with samba servers and cifs so it is important that pnethood still supports smb. I would also like to cleanup and properly separate the code that does the scanning from the GUI generation. This would make it simple to rewrite the GUI in gkbasic which I would like as an option.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

linuxcbon
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu 09 Aug 2007, 22:54

#171 Post by linuxcbon »

Is it a bug ? In puppy 4.1 beta retro

Code: Select all

# /usr/local/apps/pnethood/AppRun
du: cannot access `/tmp/pnethood/log': No such file or directory
/usr/local/apps/pnethood/pnethood: line 18: [: too many arguments

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#172 Post by HairyWill »

no, just bad programming, it causes no functional problem
thanks for reporting it
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#173 Post by vtpup »

I've been running Pnethood 0.65 on Puppy 4.1.1 and have been getting mixed results accessing an Ubuntu based Samba server at 192.168.1.111 host name: steve-desktop

1.) If I open the Pnethood graphical interface I usually either get no servers found or sometimes steve-desktop is found and given a tab, but no shares show up. There are in fact 5 shared folders. Hitting rescan or refresh generally doesn't make any difference -- even hitting them repeatedly.

2.) If I use the console and enter Pnethood with no server listed, I get the same results.

3.) If I use the console and enter Pnethood 192.168.1.111 the server is opened immediately and all shares are properly shown withe the host name listed in the tab as the IP address.

EDIT: That last sentence is ambiguous -- I meant that the server tab shows a server name of 192.168.1.111 (not steve-desktop)
Last edited by vtpup on Fri 05 Dec 2008, 20:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#174 Post by HairyWill »

what about starting from the console
pnethood steve-desktop
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#175 Post by vtpup »

Very strange:

Code: Select all

# pnethood steve-desktop
smb mounting enabled
cifs mounting enabled
then a very long delay -- with no graphical interface showing, then
ping: bad address 'steve-desktop'
/usr/local/apps/pnethood/pnethood: line 1: 10024 Terminated gtkdialog3 --program=MSG_SCANNING_MACHINE --center
And graphical interface shows up, but showing what looks like a directory listing of initrd on this (client) computer -- as shares for steve-desktop -- see attached screenshot pnetscreen.png if this forum accepts attachments..
Attachments
pnetscreen.png
(140.81 KiB) Downloaded 1494 times

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#176 Post by HairyWill »

vtpup wrote:3.) If I use the console and enter Pnethood 192.168.1.111 the server is opened immediately and all shares are properly shown withe the host name listed in the tab as the IP address.
That is what I would expect to happen.

The screenshot you posted shows a bug, those entries are caused by faulty parsing of the output from mount when looking for already mounted smb/cifs shares.

Given that your server is shown correctly if you specify the ip address I suspect the problem is to do with the scan by nbtscan for servers. Try this

Code: Select all

nbtscan 192.168.0.0/16
and

Code: Select all

nbtscan -t 10000 192.168.0.0/16
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#177 Post by vtpup »

Code: Select all

# nbtscan 192.168.0.0/16
Doing NBT name scan for addresses from 192.168.0.0/16

IP address       NetBIOS Name     Server    User             MAC address
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
192.168.1.0     Sendto failed: Permission denied
192.168.1.111    STEVE-DESKTOP    <server>  STEVE-DESKTOP    00-00-00-00-00-00
and

Code: Select all

nbtscan -t 10000 192.168.0.0/16
Doing NBT name scan for addresses from 192.168.0.0/16

IP address       NetBIOS Name     Server    User             MAC address
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
192.168.1.0     Sendto failed: Permission denied
192.168.1.111    STEVE-DESKTOP    <server>  STEVE-DESKTOP    00-00-00-00-00-00

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#178 Post by HairyWill »

what about
smbclient -NL 192.168.1.111
smbclient -NL STEVE-DESKTOP
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#179 Post by vtpup »

Code: Select all

# smbclient -NL 192.168.1.111
Anonymous login successful
Domain=[PUPLINK] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.26a]

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
        VMware          Disk
        Projects        Disk
        Downloads       Disk
        Transfer        Disk
        LinuxDataDisk   Disk
        Labels          Disk
        Data Directory  Disk
        IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (Samba 3.0.26a)
        tp0             Printer   Canon_S600
        PDF_file_generator Printer   Writes PDF file
Anonymous login successful
Domain=[PUPLINK] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.26a]

        Server               Comment
        ---------            -------
        STEVE-DESKTOP        Samba 3.0.26a

        Workgroup            Master
        ---------            -------
        PUPLINK
-and-

Code: Select all

# smbclient -NL STEVE-DESKTOP
Connection to STEVE-DESKTOP failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
Samba server flakey? Or is it smbclient?

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#180 Post by HairyWill »

Looks there is a problem with netbios name resolution somewhere. I don't really understand properly how it is done. The problem could be your network appliance. Considering that nbtscan returns the ip and name pnethood should work out how to copy.

I will have to look at this in more detail but it is going to be a few weeks. Thanks for the feedback.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

Post Reply