Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 20:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Acpitool: commandline ACPI status program for laptops
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2008, 08:31    Post subject:  Acpitool: commandline ACPI status program for laptops  

http://freeunix.dyndns.org:8088/site2/acpitool.shtml

Quote:

AcpiTool is (yet another) Linux ACPI client. It's a small command-line application, intended to be a replacement for the apm tool. The primary target audience are laptop users, since these people are most interested in stuff like battery status, thermal status and the ability to put their precious laptop to sleep. Most of this does not apply to desktop systems.

Besides "basic" ACPI information like battery status, AC presence, etc . . . , Acpitool also supports various extensions for Toshiba, Asus and IBM Thinkpad laptops, allowing you to change the LCD brightness level, toggle fan on/off, and more.

The program simply accesses the /proc/acpi or /sysfs entries to get/set acpi values. Hence, you need a computer running a Linux kernel from the 2.4.x or 2.6.x series with acpi enabled, to use this program.


Code:

# acpitool --help
 Usage: acpitool [option] . . .
 Shows ACPI information from the /proc/acpi filesystem, like battery status,
 temperature, or ac power. Can also suspend your machine (if supported).

   -a, --ac_adapter   AC adapter information
   -A, --Asus         show supported Asus ACPI extensions (LCD brightness level, video out routing DSTD/acpi4asus info)
   -b                 battery status, available batteries only
   -c, --cpu          CPU information (type, speed, cache size, frequency scaling, c-states, . . .)
   -B, --battery      battery status, all info on all battery entries
   -e                 show just about everything
   -f, --fan          show fan status
   -F x               force fan on (x=1) or switch back to auto mode (x=0). (Toshiba only)
   -h, --help         show this help screen
   -j                 eject ultrabay device (Thinkpad only)
   -l x               set LCD brightness level to x, where x is 0..7 (Toshiba and Thinkpad only)
   -m x               switch the mail led on (x=1) or off (x=0) (Asus only)
   -n x               switch the wireless led on (x=1) or off (x=0). (Asus only)
   -o x               set LCD on (x=1) or off (x=0). (Asus only)
   -s, --suspend      suspend to memory (sleep state S3), if supported
   -S                 suspend to disk (sleep state S4), if supported
   -t, --thermal      thermal information, including trip_points
   -T, --Toshiba      show supported Toshiba ACPI extensions (LCD brightness level, video out routing, fan status)
   -v                 be more verbose (more detailed error messages, only usefull combined with other options)
   -V, --version      show application version number and release date
   -w, --wakeup       show wakeup capable devices
   -W x               enable/disable wakeup capable device x. The x can be seen when invoking -w first.
   -z x               set Asus LCD brightness level to x, where x is 0..15 (Asus only).

 If invoked without options, acpitool displays information about available batteries,
 AC adapter and thermal information.

 For more info, type man acpitool at the prompt.

 AcpiTool v0.5, released 24-Jul-2008
 Homepage: http://freeunix.dyndns.org:8000/site2/acpitool.shtml
acpitool-0.5.1-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  acpitool-0.5.1-i486.pet 
Filesize  29.36 KB 
Downloaded  6611 Time(s) 

Last edited by muggins on Tue 18 Aug 2009, 20:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 06:38    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tool; now my Dell Latitude suspends correctly. I wasn't able to suspend via the keyboard with a USB mouse. (pointer would disappear...also couldn't restart x)

I noticed that when using ACPI, the CPU runs at max most of the time. When I boot without it, the CPU runs at min most of the time. (I'll run a few times and post the stats.)

ACPI ON:

time_in_state:
997500 80419
731500 18609
total_trans= 957
current frequency: 997500

ACPI=OFF

time_in_state:
997500 1586
731500 11713
total_trans= 21
current frequency: 731500

Edit: I guess the CPU just has more to do with ACPI on. After an hour or so, it's doing much better...using minumum CPU state over 1.5 X max; also doing a good job cooling.

Edit2: After a day just sitting there (not using), with ACPI on it's using max CPU almost 4X as much as min; seems like a real waste of energy compared with APM.

time_in_state:
997500 3834850
731500 998955
total_trans= 39415
current frequency: 997500

Last edited by jpeps on Sun 27 Jul 2008, 01:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 18:55    Post subject:  

hi muggins,

yes it's great
Code:
acpitool -s
works for me (too), it's brilliant.

with this and the scaling-governor-tips from

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28443

it's getting better every day.

now i had to set up my fn-keys with xbindkeys and ... my laptops will be setup'ed quite nice.

cheers
aragon

p.s. ok, after that i had to discover how temp and fan-readout works with my lenovo, but this is a new chapter as i don't need this...

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2008, 07:36    Post subject:  

i just tried to run acpitool -s on my desktop computer
it really turned off
but when i pushed the button i got the desktop i left in just 3 seconds

what is really happening?

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2008, 23:40    Post subject:  

Hello Magerlab,

the -s option is for suspend/sleep, which I imagine must be like standby.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monson


Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2008, 21:38    Post subject:  

Hello,

I also installed acpitool on my toshiba laptop, but it is a very old toshiba laptop.

I'd like to know if in the livecd of puppy4, is the vmlinuz-kernel generally acpi-enabled or not because I booted with "acpi=force" and acpitool says I have no acpi-extensions installed, not even Toshiba.

Does a tool exist that allows to enable acpi on laptops that may have a bios bug, being the reason why acpi is not detected by puppy?

Bye,

Monson.

_________________
DE:Wer nicht wa:hlt, hat nichts zu melden/maulen. EN:Those not voting have nothing to say/moan about.
Puppy 4.21; CD2HDD; AMD64 & X86. Slow: Laptop x86-PI@133MHz-64mb RAM (modded Puppy); Fast:Laptop AMD64X2@2.2GHz-4gb RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2008, 23:24    Post subject:  

Hi Monson,

what about do get from entering the following?

Code:
ls /proc/acpi
ls /proc/acpi/toshiba


Also what model toshiba do you have? Do you know what sort of BIOS it has? Toshiba? Phoenix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 12:35    Post subject:  

This is a wonderful tool! Thank you so much. I think with a bit more research thyis is just what I have been looking for.

Interesting, on my T30 Thinkpad the -s suspends the lcd but not the backlight, of course that is done with the lid button but it is really interesting to see the strange patterns when the power is removed from the controller.

I will look into the sensors for these buttons and see if I can get it to work automatically.

I have not had a PupTop that suspended correctly since apm on the old 600e Thinkpads. This is a major step forward in Mobile Puppy. I am running 4.0 full hd.

Edit: I created a script to run the command and a hotkey F4 and that is good. The laptop wakes with the Fn key or when the lid is opened but there is a catch of the backlight staying on. After suspending, the cover switch does ot shut the backlight off.

Still searching but really hopeful Smile
Edit2:
terminal in proc/acpi reports the following when the lid switch is pressed and released.
Code:
# cat event
ibm/hotkey HKEY 00000080 00005001
ibm/hotkey HKEY 00000080 00005002



Fn+F4 reports
Code:

ibm/hotkey HKEY 00000080 00001004


Who knows how to translate this information into commands?
If I could use the 5001 which shuts the backlight off and sleep2 then the acpitool -s it would be perfect.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
joeboy

Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2008, 05:41    Post subject:  

I've tried it on my Asus eeepc 701. the sleep command acpitool -s works. but the only way to wake it up is with tne powerbutton and the worst is after waking up the display is still dark. Maybe the backlight is off.

does somebody know how to fix it?

regards Joeboy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volsung


Joined: 27 Sep 2007
Posts: 160
Location: A house with broken Windows

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 12:00    Post subject:  

Might want to check this out:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_ACPI_suspend-to-ram

One problem that is not listed here: on my eee 701, I find my wireless dead after a resume. A scan reveals that no access points are available regardless of how many times I toggle the wireless card on and off. Anyone else with this problem?
Quote:

I've tried it on my Asus eeepc 701. the sleep command acpitool -s works. but the only way to wake it up is with tne powerbutton


Just for the record, the default xandros OS does this as well, so I think it is a hardware thing rather than something wrong with this. I actually like that it does this.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 21:53    Post subject:  

I had not installed the acpitool on my newest laptop with 3.01 and when I ran the suggested test from the thinkwiki
Code:
# echo mem > /sys/power/state


It suspended fine. I forgot that you need to use the Fn key to wake it up so I was a bit nervous for a minute. It still does not shut off the backlight. I have found there is an app called radeontool which does that. I will see if I can get that working next.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2008, 00:15    Post subject:  

Ok I a stuck again. Tere seeme to be very little doccumentation for radeontool.

I was able to find a .deb and undeb it but it reports.
Code:
# radeontool
Radeon hardware not found in lspci output.


I checked with the 3DCC and it reports.

Code:
Your /var/log/Xorg.0.log reports you have this card:

(--) PCI:*(1:0:0) ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M7 LW [Radeon Mobility 7500] rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/27, 0xc0100000/16, I/O @ 0x3000/8


lspci reports
Code:
 lspci
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:1a30 (rev 04)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 8086:1a31 (rev 04)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:2482 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:2484 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:2487 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 42)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:248c (rev 02)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:248a (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:2483 (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Class 0401: 8086:2485 (rev 02)
00:1f.6 Class 0703: 8086:2486 (rev 02)
01:00.0 Class 0300: 1002:4c57
02:00.0 Class 0607: 104c:ac55 (rev 01)
02:00.1 Class 0607: 104c:ac55 (rev 01)
02:02.0 Class 0607: 104c:ac50 (rev 01)
02:08.0 Class 0200: 8086:1031 (rev 42)
03:00.0 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
03:00.1 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
03:00.2 Class 0c03: 1033:00e0 (rev 04)


I have read that you can rename the device radeon but I have no idea how to do that.

hardinfo reports a pci device
Code:

Class 0607      : 104c:ac55

the vendor id,
Code:
oem vendor 1014:0517
bus, device, function  1,0,0


relates to the correct video adapter Radeon 7500 128mb prefetchable, etc.

Perhaps something is being improperly detected. Is there another tool that could give me more information or do I already have more than enough?[/code]

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
peter_jammo

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 13:25    Post subject:  

I've installed acpitool on my Toshiba Tecra 8100 in an attempt to troubleshoot a non running fan.

None of the fan or temperature commands seem to work, and when I try the -T command I get:

Sorry, but no Toshiba ACPI extensions were found on this system.

Edit after remembering how to copy/paste


# acpitool -e
Kernel version : 2.6.25.16 - ACPI version : 20070126
-----------------------------------------------------------
Battery status : <not available>

AC adapter : <info not available or off-line>
Fan : <not available>

CPU type : Pentium III (Coppermine)
CPU speed : 697.433 MHz
Cache size : 256 KB
Bogomips : 1395.89
Function Show_CPU_Info : could not read directory /proc/acpi/processor/
Make sure your kernel has ACPI processor support enabled.

Thermal info : <not available>

wakeup devices : <not available>




Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 16:07    Post subject:  

peter,

if you run lsmod does it show the toshiba_acpi module as being loaded? If not, try adding it to the Bootmanager list of modules to load, reboot, and see whether that makes any diff. (Menu->System->BootManager)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2009, 16:16    Post subject:  

Plus it says here that:

Quote:
Another important note: This driver does not work on all Toshiba laptops, particularly those models which seem to have a BIOS or other firmware which was not developed by Toshiba itself. New reverse engineering work will have to be done on these machines, or Toshiba will have to disclose the necessary details. (For support of machines with Phoenx BIOS, try the [Omnibook driver].) The error you will see in this case is:

$ modprobe toshiba_acpi
FATAL: Error inserting toshiba_acpi
(.../kernel/drivers/acpi/toshiba_acpi.ko): No such device

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]