Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 23:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Gnome 2.20.3 SFS (Only for Puppy4)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 11:27    Post_subject:  

I modified the black theme with the sliders from the non-black.

Here is a pet with both, they include the modification for Rox (300 kb):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gtk-themes/SlicknesS-Muppy-plus-black.pet
mirror:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gtk-themes/SlicknesS-Muppy-plus-black.pet

They will not overwrite other themes, as I expanded their names to "Muppy".
They include the metacity-themes, but the screenshot was made in Icewm.

Screenshot:


Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2008, 19:56    Post_subject:  

Is there a newer version of a gnome 2.20.3 sfs?
I just read that MU is working in a 2.22 one, but 700MB and in the context of Muppy.
Could this 2.22 one be used as a replacement of the 2.10.3?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2008, 03:36    Post_subject:  

2.22 will be only for Muppy, until people could sort out, what else must be added so that it works in Dingo.
This is not trivial.

But frankly spoken - I was a bit disappointed.
From 700 MB you expect "so much".
But there are few applications and all the locale, that require so much space.
Especially the developer related stuff like Mono.

For a "normal user", wows version already includes the most interesting programs, what is really remarkable for this small size.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2008, 14:21    Post_subject:  

I tried a gnome version, can't remember the version' until I saw wow's one.
I liked it and got used to the configuration facility and nautilus.
But then I got a performance issue with OOo. OOo really crawled with whatever appicaltion (writer, calc) I used.
I had to stop using Gnome and had to use JWM.

Also I have an issue with hal for mounting and unmounting.
I had no desktop icons for the resources and used still rox to mount and unmount them.

So I hoped a newer version could solve these issues.
Well I'll wait and see.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2008, 20:04    Post_subject:  

@Béèm: Make sure that you have added the haldaemon group/user, then run this command to delete all the .wh.* files from the pup_save file:
Code:
find /initrd/pup_r* -name .wh.* -delete -print

Now reboot the computer, exit X and run these commands to manually start:
dbus service:
Code:
/etc/init.rd/rc.dbus start

Start HAL service:
Code:
/etc/init.rd/rc.hal start

Start the udev service:
Code:
/etc/init.rd/rc.udev start

And finally type 'xwin gnome-session' to launch the GNOME desktop environment.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2008, 21:17    Post_subject:  

Thank you wow,
All .wh.* files are deleted. a bunch of them

Performance of OOo seems somewhat better now.
Could it be caused by the .wh.* files?

Now for the commands on the X prompt.
/etc/init.rd/..... should read /etc/init.d/.....
dbus started ok
hal started ok
when starting udev I got: /sbin/udevtrigger --retry-failed.
So I suppose udev didn't get started.

In Dingo405 there is something weird also.
On ro2 I have my ntfs XP partition mounted automatically.
Didn't had that before.
So there is only room left to load 2 sfs files through the bootmanager.

3.16 AM here. Time to go to bed now.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2008, 14:09    Post_subject:  

I'm curious about something: Anyone here in this thread ever try---with a hard drive install of 4.00---mounting the Gnome.sfs file and actually going through the daunting task of a manual install of this Gnome onto the drive to see whether it should work?

Seems so, if it works via a CD/Frugal mounting, then theoretically it should work just as well by copying the files all over one-by-one, eh?

I did the same thing with the OOo.org .sfs file which was far larger but that basically involved just a copy over to /opt for the most part. I mounted the Gnome one last night... and as expected there are a tonne of files. Wink Miss one and I know it could be disasterous. LOL!

Just wondered if anyone had tried it?

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 04:56    Post_subject:  

More to udev not being started in my case.
I get some messages scrolling fastly during boot saying:
Quote:
udev [2061] devplug unknown.
Is there a cure for this?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 05:01    Post_subject:  

you seem to miss a group.
/etc/groups should contain:

plugdev:x:507:

In my Gnome 2.22 there are several more.
You can compare and edit these of your full installation with the one from WOWs sfs or a frugal installation using it:
/etc/
groups
shadow
gshadow
passwd

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 06:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks Mark,
I added plugdev:x:507:

But I still have other error msg's:
udev [2061] look_up_group 'disk' not found/unknown.
udev [2061] look_up_group 'cdrom' not found/unknown.
(not sure about the correct wording)
The msg's go quickly over the screen, and I don't see them in some log file.

So something is still missing somewhere.
Strange, as I use wow's sfs.
Shouldn't those be there then?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 06:34    Post_subject:  

hm yes, had a look at wows sfs, these groups seem to miss, too.
Gnome can be a real mess, but at least some applications should start.
You might type in JWM in a console things like:
gnome-panel
epiphany
gnome[tab to see more]

That gives clues about what misses.
Anyway, here are my files:

/etc/group
Code:
root:x:0:
daemon:x:1:
tty:x:2:
ppp:x:200:
users:x:500:
nobody:x:65534:
guest:x:501:
spot:x:502:spot
bin::2:root,bin,daemon
audio::17:
503:x:503:messagebus
haldaemon:x:3:
video:x:504:
cdrom:x:505:
disk:x:506:
plugdev:x:507:hal,root
uucp:x:508:
kmem:x:509:
lp:x:510:
floppy:x:511:
power:x:512:avahi::86:avahi
netdev::85:avahi
gdm::95:gdm
netdev::87:avahi
sabayon::63:sabayon
stb-admin::87:
storage:x:95:hal,root
vboxusers:x:513:root


gshadow
Code:
root:::root
bin:::root,bin,daemon
daemon:::root,bin,daemon
sys:::root,bin,adm
adm:::root,adm,daemon
tty:::
disk:::root
lp:::daemon,lp
mem:::
kmem:::
nobody:::
users:::
utmp:x::
floppy:x::
pppusers:x::
nogroup:!::
spot:!::
503:!::
haldaemon:!::
video:!::
power:!::
postgres:!::
pulse:!::
pulse-rt:!::
pulse-access:!::
vboxusers:!::


shadow (contains the encrypted passwords)
Code:
root:$1$FD.MrIhr$BsfBOUpaBH4TPKcq0VcSk0:11329:0:99999:7:::
daemon:!:11141:0:99999:7:::
nobody:!:11141:0:99999:7:::
spot:!:12822:0:99999:7:::
bin:*:9797:0:::::
messagebus:!:0:99999:7:::
haldaemon:!:13993:0:99999:7:::
avahi:*:86:0:::::
gdm:*:95:0:::::
sabayon:*:9797:0:::::


passwd
Code:
root:x:0:0:root:/root:/bin/sh
daemon:x:1:1::/:
nobody:x:65534:65534::/tmp:
spot:x:502:502:Linux User,,,:/root/spot:/bin/sh
bin:x:2:2:bin:/bin:
messagebus:x:503:503:Linux User,,,:/tmp:/bin/sh
haldaemon:x:504:3:Linux User,,,:/home/haldaemon:/bin/sh
avahi:x:86:86:avahi:/etc/avahi:
gdm:x:95:95:gdm:/etc/X11/gdm:
sabayon:x:63:63:Sabayon user:/var/sabayon:/bin/false


gnome relies on other settings, too.
Critical seems to be
/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults/
Make sure, it has the same values as in WOWs sfs.
But these might be altered by Gnome itself afterwards.

Gnome uses config and registry files spread all over the filesystem.
The programs it depends on, have them elsewhere.
This is a mess to find out, what interacts with what.
Once you start the panel with wrong/missing settings, it is broken.
It then might be best, to replace completely with the original the
/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults/

One thing that might work for full installations:
download Muppy0084beta1 LIVE and Gnome.
Merge with SFS-Combiner msy_084.sfs and Gnome.sfs, so that you have a very large msy_084.sfs.
Then boot this frugal or burn a CD, and with this, create a full installation.
But I did NOT test this myself.

Sorry that I can't be more precise, but it took me 3 weeks fulltime to get Gnome to work (almost) as expected.
At least the issues mentioned above, might help you to find out, where the problem is.

One thing concerning HAL:
to fix automount problems, edit:
/etc/dbus-1/system.d/hal.conf

from:
Code:
    <deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.SystemPowerManagement"/>
    <deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.VideoAdapterPM"/>
    <deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.LaptopPanel"/>
    <deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume"/>
    <deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume.Crypto"/>

to:
Code:
    <!-- deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.SystemPowerManagement"/ -->
    <!-- deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.VideoAdapterPM"/ -->
    <!-- deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.LaptopPanel"/ -->
    <!-- deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume"/ -->
    <!-- deny send_interface="org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume.Crypto"/ -->


Without this, it conflicts with other settings in this file.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 07:56    Post_subject:  

Quel galère alors, ce gnome.
I copied your /etc/group to mine and I have the hotplug icons now.
Thanks.

Having used your KDE3.5.8 and finding it somewhat slow specially when using OOo, I discovered wow's gnome.
I liked the configuration possibility of it and performance was better then with KDE, so I started to use it.
Alltho JWM is still faster I regret the lack of a user-friendly configuration facility. Things start to be better, but still gnome is superior from this aspect.

Bernard

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 08:11    Post_subject:  

yes, I think KDE 3.4 or so I used in Muppy007 was very fast, but 3.5.8 much slower in Muppy008.
But 3.5.8 also was more complete.
I think, also wows Gnome runs faster than my 2.22, because I included almost everything.
So for example the scripts that build the menus, must check many more icons.
I know from my own panel, that this can drastically slow things down.
So it is very important to have these smaller versions, like wows 2.20 or Kirks KDE 3.5.7.
Like this we have the choice - if the small ones suit our needs - great, enjoy the speed.
I not, because e.g. we depend on an application that requires "all" libs, then we must "bite in the sour apple" and use a full Gnome/KDE, but at least we can run this app then.

Time to sleep... Wink
bonne nuit, Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 10:39    Post_subject:  

Fait des beau rêves, Bernard
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 10:02    Post_subject:  

WOW,

Thanks again for this great gnome distribution.

Have you gotten Gnome Commander or some other two-pane file manager to work in this distribution? There are pet files available for XFE, however, I haven't been able to get XFE to work.

Another note, I am using your 2.20.3 sfs together with Mu's KDE 3.5.8 sfs. It works great and provides some nice KDE programs.

Thanks again,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1012s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]