Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 02:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
IBM t41 with Cisco Aironet wireless: how to get working?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
stabu

Joined: 21 May 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 18:13    Post subject:  IBM t41 with Cisco Aironet wireless: how to get working?  

I try to keep a track of the small linux distros and most, if not all, are still on 2.4 kernels. As I have a IBM t41 with built in wlan cisco aironet, now supported by post 2.6.5 kernels, Well I was delighted to see the new release from Puppy.

OK, so it saw the t41's wlan, because it lit up the icon on the panel. However, I couldn't automatically generate myself an ip from my wireless router, which was a pain as none of the usual suspects pump nor dhclient seemed to be available.

does the distro have some commandline way of getting an ip address?

Otherwise it seemed a cool distro with gxine working quite well (except for full screen, but I expected that).

I'd probably try and get some sort of temporary file storage on a USB stick and use the live CD with it, without touching the HD. Still experiemnting though.

And those are my first impressions. Well done Puppy Master!

I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 19:39    Post subject:  

We are working on wireless!

If you come up with any solutions, like you install any packages/tools form elsewhere and they work, let us know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 20:15    Post subject:  

Would not describe myself as an expert, but I do have wireless working on Puppy, so here goes.
1. Open an RXVT window and check that Puppy really sees your wireless card with the command iwconfig (no params). That should show your wireless connection with name - typically wlan0.
2. Assuming you have an access point or router to talk to, you will then need to customise the wireless configuration with a command along the lines of:
iwconfig wlan0 channel 7 essid pupppplaypen mode managed key s:puppy
Of course you have to know the channel, SSID, mode and WEP key for this command to work. Italics used for the items you need to customise.
3. Once you are connected to the wireless network, you need to set the IP address (ignoring the use of DHCP for the time being) with a command looking like:
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.41 netmask 255.255.255.0
The above assumes that your local net has an address range of 192.168.1.xxx - commonly the case.
4. Now for a route command to tell Puppy the way to other kennels:
route add -net default gw 192.168.1.254 netmask 0.0.0.0
The gateway (gw) is the router gateway on your managed network.
5. Now open ROX and find /etc/resolv.conf; use Open as Text
Enter the DNS name server addresses given by your ISP, e.g.
nameserver 202.63.39.130
nameserver 202.63.43.130

Save the file and exit ROX.
6. Test that the connection works via Ping, e.g.
ping www.google.com
Use ctrl+c to exit from ping.
7. If that works, you can open your browser and sift the puppy litter on the internet.
8. The commands can be put into a script once they work.

Apologies if some of this is very basic. Hope it yelps - er - helps.
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 23:38    Post subject: Wifi Info  

any one with further info can add it here:

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/WiFi

(click on edit - bottom of screen - use the edit commands and save

or just add to comments for someone to add

- to register on the Wiki use a CamelCase name as it says on the front page

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Thu 02 Jun 2005, 23:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2005, 20:05    Post subject:  

I just finished a page in the wiki on using ndiswrapper in Puppy. It serves as a general guide, if the above does not work - Puppy does not directly support your card.

It is located on the wiki page at -->main wiki page-->faq-->How do I section.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2005, 11:52    Post subject: wireless  

Just for info, I have Puppy running on a Dell Inspiron 1000 laptop with a Netgear MA401 Wireless PCMCIA card. Puppy sees this card as a standard ethernet card and I configured it from the ethernet/network wizard, no problem. These cards are fairly cheap on eBay if your in a pinch.

Dusty
d957@yahoo.com
Back to top
maxdbase
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 02:21    Post subject: wifi  

saw your post about the Net Gear MA 401. Did any drivers have to be installed or any tweaking?
Back to top
jimj

Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Sioux Falls SD

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 02:33    Post subject: Re: IBM t41 with Cisco Aironet wireless: how to get working?  

stabu wrote:

OK, so it saw the t41's wlan, because it lit up the icon on the panel. However, I couldn't automatically generate myself an ip from my wireless router, which was a pain as none of the usual suspects pump nor dhclient seemed to be available.

does the distro have some commandline way of getting an ip address?

Puppy has gone back to the 2.4 kernels, but I'd guess that your wireless card can still work. If it's a G card look at the madwifi drivers here:
http://mymirrors.homelinux.org/puppy/wireless/
If it's a B card this post might help:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=28188
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arr164

Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 16:32    Post subject: No internet on HP DV2100
Subject description: No internet
 

HP DV2100, Celeron 1.6 GHz with 1 GB RAM.
I could connect to open wireless networks with 4.1.1, but not to my own WEP secured router!
Now the 4.2.0 doesn't even connect to open routers. Here it goes:
I try to scan for networks and :

error! Failed to raise interface eth1.
Failed command was: ifconfig eth1 up
error returned was: ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: no such file or directory

Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 20:50    Post subject:  

This thread is 4 years old.
The hardware under discussion is a Cisco/Aironet wifi device, completely unrelated to your Broadcom device.
You should post a new thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0165s) ][ GZIP on ]