Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 02:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Access a Windows Shared Printer from Puppy 4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8548
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 16 May 2008, 23:00    Post subject:  How to Access a Windows Shared Printer from Puppy 4  

Puppy 4 has the CUPS printing system built-in. However there is a small bug that must be fixed before it can access a Windows shared printer.

This exercise assumes that you have found a suitable PPD file for your Windows printer and installed it in /usr/share/cups/model. Read here for more information.

Before starting, go to your Windows computer and locate its machine name and the name of the shared printer. The printer name is the one-word identifier assigned by Windows. Look for it under the Sharing tab of the printer's properties.

Important! CUPS cannot deal with a printer name if it contains spaces. You have two choices. Rename the printer in the Windows Sharing dialog. Or replace the spaces with the code %20 when you enter the name in CUPS.

You can also use the Windows computer's IP address instead of its machine name.

You may need to modify your PC's firewall to allow network printing. Some users who are using a security package like Norton have a firewall running without knowing it. Forum member als123 reported this:

Quote:
In the Norton's Personal Firewall: Trust Control, Active Tab. (This should be your home network) Select it and click on Properties Select "Allow All network activity on this network"


Now launch Puppy and verify that you have the file /opt/samba/bin/smbspool

Then go to the folder /usr/lib/cups/backend

Inside this folder you need to make a symlink to the above smbspool file and name it "smb". In later versions of 4.x, this symlink may already be present. If not, open a console and type:
Code:
ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool  /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb

(The "ln" command is spelled with a lower-case ell.)

Check again in /usr/lib/cups/backend and verify that the symlink has been created.

[Edit] Several users of 4.2.x have reported that although the symlink exists, it does not work properly. The solution is to manually delete and recreate it.
Code:
rm /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb
ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb

Restart CUPS with the following command:
Code:
/etc/init.d/cups restart

Run the CUPS Printer Wizard from the Setup menu. You can also go directly to the CUPS web interface at http://localhost:631/, but read this first.

Go to Admin Tasks and start adding a new printer.

At the bottom of the Device list you can now select "Windows Printer via Samba". (If this entry is not present, then your "smb" symlink is corrupted. Use the above steps to recreate it.)

Enter the device URI as

smb://PCNAME/PRINTERNAME

Select your printer manufacturer and model.

Go to Manage Printers and print a test page.

You may have problems if the Windows host denies access to the Puppy client. In that case, you should try a URI that provides authentication. For example,

smb://WORKGROUP/PCNAME/PRINTERNAME
or
smb://USERNAME:PASSWORD@WORKGROUP/PCNAME/PRINTERNAME
or
smb://Administrator@windows_IP_address/printer_share_name

Also, member gerry has reported this:

Quote:
If you are getting the CIFS problem, then (in 4.1.2) I have to open Pnethood and mount the printer with "Use CIFS" box ticked.


Here is another troubleshooting technique. Go to a console and type

Code:
smbclient -NL PCNAME


This should list the name of the shared printer on the PC.

If you need to set up printing from a Windows machine to a Puppy printer, read here.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sun 05 Jul 2009, 17:23; edited 41 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 17 May 2008, 04:00    Post subject:  

Even if the shared printer is not linux compatible it is possible to get it to work using the instructions here:
http://puppylinux.org/wiki/how-tos/general/genericsharedpostscriptprinteronwindows

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tata888

Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 05:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
This exercise assumes that you have found a suitable PPD file for your Windows printer and installed it in /usr/share/cups/model.


I don't get it by suitable PPD

How do I get this?
and how do I install this ?

Puppy Linux is my only hope as the other linux can't work in my aged computer ( P3 600 128 6G)

Thanx before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8548
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 06:19    Post subject:  

To find a PPD file for your printer, go here.

Look up your BJC-1000 printer in the database.

The results can be confusing, but the best recommendation for a driver looks like the BJC600. Scroll down the page to its entry and click on "Directly Download PPD".

Copy this file to /usr/share/cups/model and continue with the instructions.

However, before attempting the network setup, it would be a good idea to connect the BJC-1000 directly to your Puppy machine and get it working as a local printer. This will give you some practice working with CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tata888

Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 22:19    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn5,

Thanks to your advice now I know what PPD is, but the problem starts here.

I managed to download the PPD for BJC 265 in the form of BJC 250 then I ensured that I had this smbspool.
The next instruction was to copy the ppd file in//share/cups/model.
Then I create a symlink by using the command given and I managed to add printer, but when I tried to print the test page I couldn't even print it in my local printer.

What did I do wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8548
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 07:29    Post subject:  

Turn the printer OFF and send another test page. Then check under Jobs. Is the print job queued up?

Turn the printer ON. Check again under Jobs. Did the job get sent? If so, it sounds like you have the wrong printer driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tata888

Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 21:29    Post subject:  

Sorry to trouble you again.

I'm not sure if I did right or wrong. I'll just tell all the steps in detail.

1) I install the smbspool and copy paste it into the
/usr/bin/smbspool
2) download and install CUPS
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Printing/cups-install-v0.3.pup∞
3) Then I went to your link to get the ppd for bjc 250 as it was the closest to bjc 265sp
4) I folloewed the next instructions which was to install it in /usr/share/cups/model.

5) /opt/samba/bin/smbspool ( is this the same with my smbspool?)

Then go to the folder /usr/lib/cups/backend

Inside this folder you need to make a symlink to the smbspool file and name it "smb". Open a console and type:

ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool smb ( I did this)

Restart CUPS with the following command (or reboot Puppy):

/etc/init.d/cups restart

Open the CUPS web interface at http://localhost:631/

Go to Admin Tasks and start adding a new printer. ( Yup I did this, too)

but when I try to print test page I see this :

Canon Canon BJC-250 - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.0.0
Description:
Location:
Printer State: idle, accepting jobs.
Device URI: parallel:/dev/lp0

Then I tried to print test page ......then sometimes it works but sometimes it doesn't now. why is it unstable ?

Is it because I use the different CUPS instead of just mere ppd file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8548
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 23:07    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy are you using? The latest version 4 already has CUPS installed, so there was no need to download anything other than the PPD file for your particular printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 03:11    Post subject:  

Works perfectly, even for my set-up with the Canon proprietary driver. It's important to know how to configure your firewall on the Windows machine to give Puppy access. If you get a message saying "Unable to connect to CIFS host, ....", then that's probably the problem.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 333
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 05:13    Post subject:  

I'm getting this error:

"Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED)"

What does it mean?

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 10:33    Post subject:  

After not needing to print to the Windows printer for a couple of weeks, I suddenly find that it doesn'nt work any more. Before I get down to finding why, here are some observations that I've noted when it WAS working:

When I set it up, at the "re-start CUPS or re-boot" stage, I re-booted.

Firewall: I use a third party security suite, that takes care of virus/malware/firewall, so I keep the windows firewall OFF. So be aware that if you've configured your third party firewall ok, and the Windows firewall is still active, Puppy may not be able to get through.

Your Windows machine: I use XP.

You need to be logged in. On my machine:

EDIT: further experience shows this is WRONG- you don't need to be logged in.

EDIT: several lines deleted here:



Now to find out why it's stopped working........

Gerry

Last edited by gerry on Sun 16 Nov 2008, 13:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 10:41    Post subject:  

@tata888- the device URI is wrong. At the stage where you have the device list on screen, at the bottom you should see the "Windows Printer via SAMBA" option, and you then put in smb://...........

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mpierrat25


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 105
Location: France (25)

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 11:19    Post subject:  

@gerry,

Thanks for your reply.

No my XP account is not password protected. Account is 'Propriétaire' should I mention account name in the URI ?

Could a wrong driver give the same message about CIFS ?

This is because I discovered that I'm not be able to print with this driver directly to the usb printer.

So I get a debian package for MFC210C , but I do not known how to install it in Puppy env. Could you help

regards,
mp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8548
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 11:56    Post subject:  

Here are some other URI's you can try:

smb://WORKGROUP/PCNAME/PRINTERNAME

smb://guest@WORKGROUP/PCNAME/PRINTERNAME

smb://user:password@WORKGROUP/PCNAME/PRINTERNAME
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 12:11    Post subject:  

@mpierrat25

Menu > XArchive archiver

includes a facility for unpacking a .deb package. I've never tried it.........

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0875s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]