Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 01:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
gDesklets 0.36 beta (Only for Puppy-3)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 13:12    Post_subject:  

Hey Wolfie;

lovely bit of bling, now all you need to do, is to edit it to 640x480,

IMHO, I think, to stop it screwing my forum page up

Perhaps then, post it on a blog on the Community Website, Here

We need some more bling Wink Laughing

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wolfwatcher51

Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 13:10    Post_subject:  

Hello everybody,

Long story short, I had to give up on puppy301 on my laptop. Even with all of Mark's help, it just refused to run xorg. It did not want to do wireless out of the box either. No xorg and incorrect resolution in xvesa was the deal killer for me.

So, I did a frugal install of puppy 4 and gave xorg a whirl, amazingly, it worked!

Now I am back here asking what it is about gdesklets that makes it puppy3 only? I really liked my desktop with gdesklets on my puppy301.

Remembering my noobness, is there a way to use gdesklets in puppy4?

Is there a gdesklets for puppy 4 coming?

Any help/information would be greatly appreciated, Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 08:36    Post_subject:  

I just found out, that the Gnome-libraries are NOT required for Gdesklets!

I made a pet of the gdesklets from gnomeslack.org.
It complained about gnome-vfs, and exited.
But the problem was not gnomevfs, but the "log" function of Python, that is not available.
So it exited, because it could not handle an error-message.
I don't know, what module is needed to correct that, my python knowledge is rather poor.
So I just commented it in /usr/lib/gdesklets/utils/vfs.py (line 29).
Now gdesklets run without gnome-libs!

Just if you want to run a gnome-specific desklet, like the panel mentioned earlieron, you would need them.

I made a PET of my gdesklets, with some pre-installed as shown on the attached screenshot.
So you need ONLY the python-cssm in addition, nothing else Very Happy

http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU.pet
mirror:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU.pet

It is 7 MB, because it includes the pre-installed desklets and localization.

Mark
gdesklets.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.26 KB
 Viewed   1098 Time(s)

gdesklets.jpg


_________________
my recommended links

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 04:38    Post_subject:  

MU,

Any chance of a puppy 4 version of the gdesklets?

I've asked wow for a big favour:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27864&search_id=1320829250&start=60

It would be so good if we could get a gnome libraries pet for puppy 4. It makes it easy to get gthumb, dia and gdesklets working.

I was hoping wow muight create:
gnome-python.pet (for gdesklets)
libgnome.pet (gnome and gnomeui for gthumb, dia)
gnome-vfs (for all the good stuff)

I guess dbus might have to be seperate as well.

what are your thoughts on this?

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 05:01    Post_subject:  

In Muppy0083, I added several Gnome-libs and the Panel.
I now saw, that this was an error, because then I was not able to use SFS files, that include other versions of these libs.
So I'd recommend, to use a gnome.sfs, if you want to run Gnome applications.

A Gnome.sfs of reasonable size (85 MB) for Puppy 4 can be found at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27864

Myself, I work on a 600 MB version for Muppy0084, I can release an alpha maybe tonight.

Note, that gdesklets do NOT need Gnome-libs, as mentioned in my last post.

You should be able to run Gdesklets in Puppy4 with:
1.) [python_for_CCSM.pet] by tombh [8.6 MB] (python-2.5; pycairo-1.2.6; pygobject-2.12.3; pygtk-2.10.3 ).
2.) the Gdesklets.pet from my former message.

I did not check that myself yet, so just try it, and please report, if you get errors about missing libraries when typing in a console:
gdesklets

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 06:42    Post_subject:  

MU,

thanks for your swift reply.

I'm really looking to integrate this into my own puplet (which i'm building from unleashed). So the sfs isn't a worry.

I will test gdesklets in puppy 4 this week.

Thanks,

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 20:11    Post_subject:  

I updated my gdesklets pet and added 200 clocks!.
Changes:
erratic modules quickly fill the logfile with warnings.
Mine was over 4 MB after some hours.
I fixed this by a code-modification:
/usr/lib/gdesklets/utils/__init__.py
Line 47:
Code:
     #MU deactivated his, because log becomes very huge
    # /root/.gdesklets/logs/gdesklets%3A0.0.log
    #print >> sys.stderr, out


The pet also is smaller now, as I removed the desklets from /root, they are now in /usr/lib/gdesklets/Displays.
Before, they were in both places, in different versions.

I also included the 7 clocks from ttuuxx.

http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU.pet
Mirror:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU.pet

And I made a second pet, that is much larger (20 MB extracted).
It includes 200 clocks from the Freeware program clocx (http://www.clocx.net/).

http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU-200clocks.pet
Mirror:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU-200clocks.pet


You can see a small preview of those clocks here:
http://noforum.de/pics/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU-200clocks.jpg
http://noforum.de/pics/gdesklets-0.36-i586-2gsb-MU-200clocks2.jpg

----------------------------------------------------
To add own clocks, place the .png files in:
/usr/lib/gdesklets/Displays/Clock/gfx/clocks
Then type in a console:
cd /usr/lib/gdesklets/Displays/Clock/gfx/clocks
./_build_code

After some seconds you have a new file clock.display.
Replace the one in cd /usr/lib/gdesklets/Displays/Clock/ with it, and restart the desklets.


Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 03:32    Post_subject:  

when gdesklets start, they suck up a lot of CPU power, what slows down other apps.
You get better results, if you edit /usr/bin/gdesklets to:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /usr/lib/gdesklets/
nice -n 19 ./gdesklets "$@"


I updated my .pets with this modification.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 00:13    Post_subject:  

I made a pet with 4 huge planet clocks.

- Sun (strong corona, light corona, no corona)
- earth
- neptune
- venus

The attached screenshot is scaled down ~50%, and shows the high quality.

Made them from pictures here:
http://www.hschulte.de/Daten/Kosmos/Dateien/download.html
The earth I found somewhere else.

After installing the dotpup type in a consolewindow:

Code:
cd /usr/lib/gdesklets/Displays/Clock/gfx/clocks
./_build_code
cp -ax clock.display ../../


Then restart the clock, and you can find the new ones in the options.

I also included sonne.xcf, if you want to alter the transparency of the corona in Gimp.

Download (2.6 MB):
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-planet-clocks.pet
mirror:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/gdesklets-planet-clocks.pet
Mark
gdesklets-planet-clocks.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.26 KB
 Viewed   2062 Time(s)

gdesklets-planet-clocks.jpg


_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3203
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 14:25    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Mark,
As you can see, Gdesklets works great on Buddapup Dingo w/Enlightenment.
??? Is there a way to make the Gdesklets background transparent, to show the desktop background behind them????
Serenity with Gdesklets.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   83.64 KB
 Viewed   835 Time(s)

Serenity with Gdesklets.jpg


_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 14:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks again Mark and Wow!
gdesklets work fine in PuppyRus( wich is a mix between puppy 3 and 4

also i would like to know where can python be used in puppy

is it possible to make a request for compiling chidsplay ( wich i know uses python)- a child game suite

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 14:37    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr

No, you cannot make them transparent.

E17 uses a composite-manager.
It is much faster than "xcompmgr", but basically uses the same technique.
The technique is to use the X composite extension, that allows to render transparent Bitmaps.

Gdesklets are written in Gtk2.
Via google I found out, that older versions of gdesklets had an option to check, that they could render transparent backgrounds using the composite extension.

Unfortunately, this worked only with Gtk2 older than version 2.8.
So it was removed in newer versions of gdesklets.
I tried such an old version myself with xcompmgr, but no luck...
Puppy uses Gtk 2.10 (Puppy3) or 2.12 (Puppy4).
I think, the Puppy 2 versions used 2.8.

Just Puppy 1 used 2.4 if I remember well. That one would work.
But with that one, many new applications will not run, so it is not worth to port that back.

One thing that might work:
get somewhere Gtk 2.4.
Store it in /usr/lib/gtk24
Then run gdesklets .035.3 (older version) like this:

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/gtk24:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
gdesklets

But as gdesklets use Pygtk (Gtk-wrappers for python), here would be another problem.
I don't know, how they would react to such a change.
I fear, also a patched copy of Python had to be used.
So such tricks would not be trivial at all...


I currently use compiz (that uses OpenGL), that plays great with gdesklets.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3203
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 20:03    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello Mark,
Boy am I Blind!!! Gdesklets are transparent..To the Jwm desktop. What I mistook for a static background was actually the default Dingo desktop background, behind Enlightenment.
So all I have to do is drop out of Enlightenment into Jwm, set my background, then return to Enlightenment and choose the same background..Viola...Transparency!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2008, 07:20    Post_subject:  

ah very cool.
So enlightenment has a very clever way, to handle this.
Hmmm... yes, it could be, that it detects, that they are not windows, but panels.
So it ignores them.

xcompmgr is supposed to do the same with the option -C , but this did not work for me.
So xcompmgr had to be patched to recognize the desklet-class as panel.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 17:41    Post_subject:  

I redid my puppy, where can I get python for ccsm.pet? The link is bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1035s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]