Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 00:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Solving Wifi encryption problems (WEP/WPA) in Puppy 4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jun 2008, 05:49    Post subject:
Subject description: wpa_supplicant configurate file ap-scan values
 

JustGreg wrote:
One should use ap_scan=1 for networks that broadcast the SSID and ap_scan=2 for networks with a hidden SSID.

I "half-knew" this, but thanks for spelling it out.
I think rarsa has already dealt with this situation in the Network Wizard - the default value in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf is "ap_scan=2" and the gui shows the "AP Scan:" selection as "Hidden" - refer attached image.
When "Hidden" is deselected, the other two values become available - "Supplic." and "Driver". I assume that "Supplic." sets "ap_scan=1" and "Driver" sets "ap_scan=0".

I'm thinking that it would be more clear for users if "Supplic." was re-labelled "SSID broadcast" and "Hidden" was re-labelled "SSID hidden".

I realise you probably can't test whether the Wizard sets the correct values because of the various other bugs with the Wizard under Puppy4.x, but it appears that Barry has now sorted these bugs and hopefully you will be able to check the Wizard when Puppy 4.1 is released.
ap_scan-hidden.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   11.46 KB
 Viewed   3293 Time(s)

ap_scan-hidden.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
astrogreek

Joined: 21 May 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun 2008, 04:55    Post subject: Re: Solving Wifi encryption problems (WEP/WPA) in Puppy 4  

tempestuous wrote:
I thought that crypto_blkcipher was related to WEP encryption, but I see from JustGreg's results in Puppy4.01alpha2 that the crypto_blkcipher module is loaded after a WPA connection ... so maybe it's necessary for both WEP and WPA.

astrogreek wrote:
When I tried to load I got a message saying "driver not found"

astrogreek it's really important to reveal the exact Puppy version you are using when asking for help. It's also useful to reveal the device and the driver (module) in question.
The crypto_blkcipher module definitely exists in the experimental Puppy4-k2.6.25, and Puppy4.1 alpha1 and alpha2.
The crypto_blkcipher does not exist in earlier Puppy versions.

Generally, wifi in Puppy4.x is still under development and testing.
Wifi under Puppy3.x is quite solid.

Well, I have tried Puppy 3.01, Puppy-4.00-k2.6.21.7, puppy-4.00-with-2.6.25-kernel. By device, do you mean my wireless card? It's an Intel PRO Wireless 2200 BG. Reveal the driver module; I don't understand.. As far as I can tell, the modules you listed are loaded, except the crypto_blkcipher module (I used the 2.6.21.7 kernel when I tried loading that module). My connection uses WEP. The modem does not belong to me; it's nextdoor in my landlord's flat, so I cannot mess with its settings. Please bear in mind I am (almost) new to Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun 2008, 06:41    Post subject:  

astrogreek wrote:
By device, do you mean my wireless card? It's an Intel PRO Wireless 2200 BG.

Yes, yes. That means that your wifi driver should be the ipw2200.
But there are so many questions still remaining about your circumstances.
This forum thread is, after all, not about wifi connectivity in general. It was created specifically to deal with encryption-related connectivity problems.
We don't know whether you can establish a wifi connection with encryption (WEP/WPA) turned off. This is an important diagnostic step, and if your landlord won't temporarily disable encryption for you to test, you should probably borrow a different wifi router specifically to test with.

In fact, we don't even know whether the ipw2200 module has successfully loaded and created an interface. Encryption may be completely unrelated to your problem.
I suggest you read the Wifi HOWTO here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shri


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jun 2008, 08:39    Post subject: Hi
Subject description: Problem with ZTE modem.
 

Hi to all
i am useing puppy2.02 with kernel 2.6.16.7.when i am connect to modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) its can't connect. Sad
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=(none)
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

when i am useing Minisys kernel 2.6.21.7 its get connected to my pc.
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cp2101
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

how to get cp2101.ko file for kernel 2.6.16.7 or any other source code to download this file.or any other tips or trics to connect modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) with kernel 2.6.16.7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jun 2008, 10:18    Post subject:  

Your device is a wireless modem, not a wifi network adaptor.
It is not relevant to this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
astrogreek

Joined: 21 May 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 04:57    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
astrogreek wrote:
By device, do you mean my wireless card? It's an Intel PRO Wireless 2200 BG.

Yes, yes. That means that your wifi driver should be the ipw2200.
But there are so many questions still remaining about your circumstances.
This forum thread is, after all, not about wifi connectivity in general. It was created specifically to deal with encryption-related connectivity problems.
We don't know whether you can establish a wifi connection with encryption (WEP/WPA) turned off. This is an important diagnostic step, and if your landlord won't temporarily disable encryption for you to test, you should probably borrow a different wifi router specifically to test with.

In fact, we don't even know whether the ipw2200 module has successfully loaded and created an interface. Encryption may be completely unrelated to your problem.
I suggest you read the Wifi HOWTO here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

SOLVED! I noticed in my wireless setup in Xubuntu the mention of ascii key; I did some Googling and found that I had to add s: before my key to make it work, like this:
iwconfig [interface] s:mykey (set key as an ASCII string)
I followed the guide from the Wifi HOWTO (which I have done many times in the past without success), with the only difference the addition of the "s:" before my key.

There seems to be no option in the network wizard to select hex or ascii, or any mention anywhere that this might be an issue. No Linux newbie should have to struggle like this to get on the internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 04:20    Post subject:  

astrogreek wrote:
SOLVED! I noticed in my wireless setup in Xubuntu the mention of ascii key; I did some Googling and found that I had to add s: before my key to make it work, like this:
iwconfig [interface] s:mykey (set key as an ASCII string)
I followed the guide from the Wifi HOWTO (which I have done many times in the past without success), with the only difference the addition of the "s:" before my key.

There seems to be no option in the network wizard to select hex or ascii, or any mention anywhere that this might be an issue. No Linux newbie should have to struggle like this to get on the internet.

I recall raising the matter of the "s:" option some time ago, but it was decided it is unnecessary... I think the wizard converts ascii keys to hex, then uses the hex.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ken_cat

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 22:08    Post subject:  

Dougal wrote:

I recall raising the matter of the "s:" option some time ago, but it was decided it is unnecessary... I think the wizard converts ascii keys to hex, then uses the hex.


This would be true from what I have seen. After entering the ascii WPA passphrase(key?) into the Network Wizard, and after connection, I have found the hex version of the key is in the wpa_supplicant.conf file as psk=xxxxxxxxxxxx.

It actually replaced the ascii key that I originally had typed into the wpa_supplicant file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ken_cat

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 22:33    Post subject: wlan_tkip  

FYI for anyone searching and reading.

Using ath_pci (D-Link WNA-1330), I had to "modprobe wlan_tkip" before using the commandline scripts to connect to the router.

see here for description: http://leaf.dragonflybsd.org/cgi/web-man?command=wlan_tkip&section=4

Network Wizard must call this up when using it, and that is how I discovered it was needed when connecting manually (using lsmod before and after using NW).

It seems to be the only encryption module loaded. I don't see any of the others mentioned here on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lilleguard-liste

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 42
Location: Loppa (Norway)

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 18:55    Post subject: WPA connection works only 5-10 seconds
Subject description: wpa, ipw2100, dell inspiron 510m, dingo, puppy 4, troubleshoot
 

Hey!
Finally I booted up Puppy 3.01 and connected to a WPA encrypted wireless network without any problem.

I've tried connecting to this network with Puppy 4.00 (and the newest 4.1 alpha as well) without success. The closest I've come using dingo, was 5 or 6 seconds internet connection. After each reboot it is possible to do that with the network wizard, but only once. Obviously (beeing a linux newbie) I don't know what is wrong. But I find it very interesting that puppy 3 doesn't have any trouble connecting. I've also tried Linux Mint and xubuntu on this Dell Inspiron 510m, and they connect without any trouble.

If anyone has any interest in exploring this issue furthermore, please let me know, and I will gladly assist.

lilleguard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JPsDad

Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jan 2009, 21:34    Post subject: Lost WEP connectivity with Puppy 4.12 , 3.01 & 2.15ce
Subject description: WEP previously worked, no longer can connect except open network.
 

I have been able to use WEP 64 for many months, using versions2.15CE, 3.01, 4.0, 4.11 and 4.12. My computer has IPW2200B/G. When I started having problems with 4.12, I tried my old USB drives with the older versions, and they no longer work. Sad
I have used a 10 digit (phone) number as Key which I enter into the router as hex. At times in the past I needed to hyphenate the number when entering it into the network wizard:
1234-5678-90
which it apparently converted to something. Surprised

I read this thread with only slight understanding. I did the lsmod |grep crypto
and did have 2 with WEP in their name. Any suggestions???

FWIW, WinXP connects automatically, but does not have near the range that I get with Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0899s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]