Having some problems

Message
Author
mortuis99
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 05:21

#21 Post by mortuis99 »

When i had it set as eth0 i could use the connection wizard and it would find the network but NOT connect to it

i know the encryption in use id wpa/personal(got this info form another lappy)

this might help

User avatar
mark2
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun 20 Aug 2006, 19:35
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

#22 Post by mark2 »

as you're sure eth0 is the correct connection, 1st do the following
INSTRUCTIONS
Use Geany to modify the WPA configuration file to include your SSID and Personal Security Key (PSK).
Puppy already contains 2 different configuration files;
/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf - for WPA encryption
/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf - for WPA2 encryption
then

Code: Select all

rmmod bcm43xx

Code: Select all

modprobe bcm43xx

Code: Select all

ifconfig eth0 up
see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 336#159336
Remove stale wpa_supplicant file if it exists

Code: Select all

rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
Start wpa_supplicant with debugging enabled (-dd) in case of problems

Code: Select all

wpa_supplicant -i eth1 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
wpa_supplicant may take about 30 seconds to negotiate the connection.
Hopefully you will see a connection reported, then you can proceed to obtain an IP address (DHCP)

Code: Select all

rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth0
[img]http://www.markamos.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/yxudnslbsx.png[/img]
www.crowncarcare.co.uk

mortuis99
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 05:21

#23 Post by mortuis99 »

mark2 wrote:as you're sure eth0 is the correct connection, 1st do the following
INSTRUCTIONS
Use Geany to modify the WPA configuration file to include your SSID and Personal Security Key (PSK).
Puppy already contains 2 different configuration files;
/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf - for WPA encryption
/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf - for WPA2 encryption
this is the code i get here :

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
ssid="linksys"(I ADDED THIS)
psk="nicholas"(I ADDED THIS)
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
}


ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
ssid="linksys"(this was here)
psk=719ba8d194d3b177236949758acdef3713734e2cdf623e087a5e12b839a6d8ac(this was here)

proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
group=CCMP TKIP
}

which is right?

User avatar
mark2
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun 20 Aug 2006, 19:35
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

#24 Post by mark2 »

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
ssid="linksys"(this was here)
psk=719ba8d194d3b177236949758acdef3713734e2cdf623e087a5e12b839a6d8ac(this was here)

proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
group=CCMP TKIP
} 
The above has probably been filled in by the network wizard when you tried to connect initially.
psk="nicholas"(I ADDED THIS)
Not using WPA myself but the above looks wrong, add the psk line from the ist code box above in it's place, then try the commands.
[img]http://www.markamos.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/yxudnslbsx.png[/img]
www.crowncarcare.co.uk

User avatar
davids45
Posts: 1326
Joined: Sun 26 Nov 2006, 23:33
Location: Chatswood, NSW

#25 Post by davids45 »

G'day,
Sorry to butt in, but I occasionally get this long alpha-numeric pass-key instead of my human-scale pass-key which I had entered via the Network wizard.
I open /etc/wpa_supplicant.config and edit it to my short password, save it, and then re-boot. On starting up, I suggest you quickly check /etc/wpa_supplicant.config is still the way YOU want and then try setting up the network.
There seems to be a back-up wpa_supplicant.config file somewhere (or wizard file?) that is causing this problem.
I find shouting at the monitor also helps.
David S.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#26 Post by tempestuous »

I agree with all of the advice so far, except this -

Code: Select all

rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd has been configured differently in Puppy 4.x, so it should be -

Code: Select all

rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid
I have updated the Wifi HOWTO with this information.

mortuis99
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 05:21

#27 Post by mortuis99 »

hi i get to this point

Start wpa_supplicant with debugging enabled (-dd) in case of problems
Code:
wpa_supplicant -i eth1 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf -dd

wpa_supplicant may take about 30 seconds to negotiate the connection.

and it just does nothing but thinks

might i have done something wrong?

thanks

mortuis99
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 05:21

#28 Post by mortuis99 »

I restarted my quest to get my machine online. I reformatted my partition and reinstalled PUPPY 4 and restarted

I entered the code below

when you get to the desktop open a console and enter the following commands
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up

Code:
iwconfig eth0 essid "TURBONETT"


Code:
iwconfig eth0 mode managed


Code:
iwconfig eth0 key open 4F214AAC9D


Code:
dhcpcd eth0


when i entered this line i got the error :

# iwconfig eth0 key open 4F214AAC9D
# dhcpcd eth0
Error, eth0: timed out
Error, eth0: lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth0.info' does not exist
Warning, eth0: using IPV4LL address 169.254.223.189

i hope this is copied i had to do it by hand

thanks

:roll:

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#29 Post by tempestuous »

Be careful mortuis99, you are making several errors.
mortuis99 wrote:i know the encryption in use id wpa/personal(got this info form another lappy)
OK, so why are you trying to use iwconfig? iwconfig is only for WEP configuration.
mortuis99 wrote:/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf
...
which is right?
They're probably both right. wpa_supplicant.conf is for WPA encryption. wpa_supplicant2.conf is for WPA2 encryption. Your wpa_supplicant command should specify the correct version, depending on whether your wifi router is using WPA or WPA2. You must find out. If you use the wrong configuration file, your wifi connection will almost certainly fail.
"nicholas" is just your passphrase, it gets converted into a long string of characters which is your true WPA security key.
mortuis99 wrote:Code:
wpa_supplicant -i eth1 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf -dd
and it just does nothing but thinks
Your wifi interface is eth0, not eth1.

User avatar
Mixael
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 13:55
Location: Lake Charles, LA

#30 Post by Mixael »

It was apparent I didn't read all that I should have. tempestuous' HOWTO post at http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469 works quite well with my Linksys WPC54GS PCMCIA card using WEP encryption. The command script I use now on Puppy 4.0 is below where eth1 is my wireless card:

ifconfig eth1 down
ifconfig eth1 up
iwconfig eth1 essid "YOUR_WIRELESS_SSID"
iwconfig eth1 mode managed
iwconfig eth1 key open YOUR_HEX_WEP_KEY
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth1

My previous post detailed how to install a Windows driver using ndiswrapper. I no longer need to use it for this card, but just in case someone else is interested the relevant information follows:

I downloaded the driver version matching my card from linksys (in my case wpc54gs_driver_utility_v2.1.zip since version 1.2 doesn't have its own file). I burned the files bcmwl5.sys, lsbcmnds.inf, and lsbcmnds.cat to a CD from the downloaded zip file from subdirectory \Driver\NT (I don't know if the .cat file is needed but it was there with the other two files that are needed).

Next I deleted the existing lsbcmnd driver in Puppy:
cd /etc/ndiswrapper/lsbcmnds
rm *
cd ..
rmdir lsbcmnds

Then I installed the new driver files from CD:
cd /mnt/hdc
ndiswrapper -i lsbcmnds.inf
insmod /lib/modules/`uname-r`/misc/ndiswrapper.ko

From here I tried to use the network wizard. My wireless card is recognized as eth1, whereas my wired port is eth0. On the wizard I select WIRELESS, (create a profile, and save it the first time), LOAD PROFILE, SCAN (should see the wireless router), USE THIS PROFILE, AUTO DHCP.

Now check if the IP address was assigned with ifconfig. If you were assigned an incorrect IP address for your wireless router range, then it didn't work. Sometimes running the network wizard a second time may allow it to work.

mortuis99
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 05:21

#31 Post by mortuis99 »

when i turn encryption off i can get online easily
it is just when i have encryption ON that there is a problem.

thanks

Post Reply