Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 18:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Tecra/Protege stops booting at Xvesa and Xorg (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 22:32    Post subject:  

Created swap file and confirmed it's presence in XP
Booted into Linux and typed at command
mkswap /mnt/home/pup.swp

Message returned:
mkswap: can't open '/mnt/home/pup.swp' : No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 23:21    Post subject:  

Yes,

sorry about that. puppy doesn't have a /mnt/home yet, as it hasn't got to the stage of saving your configuration in a pup_save.2fs file.

Instead try:

Code:

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/data
mkswap /mnt/data/pup.swp
swapon /mnt/data/pup.swp


Then, if the above is successful, (which you can tell by running the command free), then try running xorgwizard, and see whether it gets past the black screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 23:34    Post subject:  

No problem...

Ok, typed in
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/data
Returned
mkswapmount: /dev/hda1 already mounted or /mnt/data busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/hda1 is mounted on /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2

Typed in
mkswap /mnt/data/pup.swp
Returned
mkswap: can't open '/mnt/data/pup.swp' : No such file or directory

Thinking these are not desirable results I stopped there and posted here... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 23:54    Post subject:  

JacquiG,

If you enter ls /pup.swp is it found?

Then, (assuming yes), try mkswap /pup.swp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 00:09    Post subject:  

ls: cannot access /pup.swp: No such file or directory

Odd, it's there in Windows ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 00:46    Post subject:  

Hmmm, it must be mounting c:\ somewhere, maybe it's /mnt/hda1 already? Does ls /mnt/hda1/pup.swp give a positive response?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 00:49    Post subject:  

nope...
ls: cannot access /mnt/hda1/pup.swp: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 01:14    Post subject:  

JacquiG,

what response do you get if you just enter ls? (this is nix equivalent of dos dir).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 09:14    Post subject:  

# ls

Choices ftpd my-applications puppy-reference Startup
File-Sharing ghttpd my-documents spot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 08:31    Post subject:  

Richard: read the first post again (and the follow up) -- it is a NeoMagic.

Muggins: I think this might be a case of the Windows ALL CAPS disease... but also, does Dingo have hd[a-z]? Doesn't it use the PATA drivers?

Jacqui: Since Windows is case-insensitive (and stupid, in general...), it tends to write filenames in caps, so you might have the file as PUPSWAP.SWP...
You should try something like
Code:
ls /mnt/hda1/[Pp]*
and see if that's the case.
If it is, just rename the file:
Code:
mv /mnt/hda1/PUPSWAP.SWP /mnt/hda1/pupswap.swp


If the file isn't on /mnt/hda1, you could try /mnt/sda1 and if that doesn't exist, try looking at the output of
Code:
mount | grep '^/dev'
and see what the mountpoint is.

As for the shmfs, you could try Ctrl+b while in mp to search for "shmfs", but it might not be there. I'll have a look at Barry's scripts and see where he mounts it (this isn't critical, it's just that, as far as I can recall, Barry uses a quarter of your free memory for it... which is a waste).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 09:47    Post subject:  

Dougal,

I don't know about p4 & PATA, but this is certainly becoming an epic adventure. It occurred to me that, rather than trying to activate a swapfile on ntfs, Jacqui could, temporarily, have a swapfile on a usbkey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 17:32    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal...

Code:
ls /mnt/hda1/[Pp]*
Returned
ls: cannot access /mnt/hda1/[Pp]*: No such file or directory

I wish I could offer more help in my own defence, but I know nothing about Linux/Puppy. Thanks again guys, I really appreciate it and hope you'll be able to brag that you got me up and running Very Happy

I don't seem to be able to get very far... Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JacquiG


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 17:44    Post subject:  

Ok, got something to work Shocked making progress....

Code:
mount | grep '^/dev'
Returned
/dev/hda1 on /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2 type fuseblk (rw,noatime,user_id=0,group_id=0
/dev/loop0 on /initrd/pup_ro2 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 03:46    Post subject:  

Jacqui,

what about trying to create, temporarily, swapfile on a usbkey? Is it formatted as vfat? If so, you can try booting windows, copying the created pup.swp to the usbkey, then rebooting puppy, &:

Code:
mount /dev/sda1 /mount/data -t vfat
mkswap /mnt/data/pup.swp
swapon /mnt/data/pup.swp
free                              (To see whether swap actually being recognised)
xorgwizard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 04:54    Post subject:  

JacquiG wrote:
/dev/hda1 on /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2 type fuseblk (rw,noatime,user_id=0,group_id=0

Ok, so it's mounted on /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2 (normal with a frugal install, just usually you have /mnt/home as a link...)

Now try
Code:
ls /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/[Pp]*

and you'll probably see it.

Then all you need to do is:
- if the name is in caps:
Code:
mv /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/PUPSWAP.SWP /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/pupswap.swp


- run mkswap on it
Code:
mkswap /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/pupswap.swp


- add enabling it to rc.local:
Code:
echo 'swapon /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/pupswap.swp' >>/etc/rc.d/rc.local


Note that there's still a chance you'll have a problem after that, due to the NeoMagic card -- you'll need rerwin to help you with that.

NB- forget about the shmfs thing -- I checked and Barry has disabled it in Puppy4...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0781s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]