Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 07:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No audio sound Realtek ALC888 Intel 915 chipset Solved
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 04:59    Post subject:  No audio sound Realtek ALC888 Intel 915 chipset Solved
Subject description: How do I get sound to work
 

I have a Puppy 4.0 MultiSession DVD
puppy-4.00-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso
all works very well except audio in linux.
Audio works in windows xp.

But I want to go over to Linux.

I've tested Wubi install of Ubuntu 8.04
vbox install of Ubuntu 8.04
Ulteo colinux install on win xp
and now Puppy4.0 install and
none of them get audio going.

What shall I do next?

Last edited by nooby on Mon 07 Jul 2008, 01:43; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 20:31    Post subject:  

Best I can offer

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubuntu-help/100864-realtek-hd-audio-alc888.html

this is a 7.1 HD sound chipset, so you may need a later copy of alsa, as well

I haven't found any results, but tempestuous is the man to speak to

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 02:00    Post subject:  

Aitch, that one looks very promising for Ubuntu yes.

But then I need to learn how to do the same in Puppy too.

I try to test this within 6 hours.
Thanks very much for this tip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5238
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 06:19    Post subject:  

The ALSA drivers are constantly catching up with newer audio hardware, especially the Intel HDA family to chipsets.
There are instructions on how to tweak the ALSA snd-hda-intel driver to suit various models of HDA chipset here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22383
... but it may be easier just to upgrade. Puppy4.1alpha3 contains the recent ALSA version 1.0.16rc2, compared to Puppy4.0's ALSA 1.0.14.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 08:06    Post subject:  

tempestuous thanks.
To not take up your time I answer here and not in PM.

Would be cool to finally get sound. I've longed for sound over a year now.

I will use that the later puppy within one day or so. First I need to learn

I just need to learn how to end each puppy on multisession dvd
properly.
Now I get a windows blue screen and the motherboard
indicate it is overheating. The fan start to wind up alarminly fast.
so I need to hit the power button and hold it in for more than 4 sec
to get thing shut off but fortunately puppy survives on the DVD
and windows mbr survives too.

I also need to learn how to write the new on same DVD.

That is possible as I remember. I have maybe 7 sessions on it now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 12:53    Post subject:  

I downloaded that iso and used burnCDcc to burn it on a CD -R
and all works except sound.

sad that this is so hard to accomplish. I really like the CD/DVD
thing. Seems to be a clever thought up thing.

So if I could get sound going would be really nice.

what next could I possibly check on?

My wild guess is that one need a realtek program for
linux that works as the realtek set up prog for windows.

A small gui that show different combination of where the sound
is supposed to end up. On front or back and such.

If green or red should be mic or line in or line out.

Even in windows one have to activate the front socket.

I have this little shoebox.

Aopen XC Cube Mini MZ915 it try to find link to it.
http://xc.aopen.com.tw/CubeProduct_01.aspx?Auno=2170&mdstyl=22
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 16:17    Post subject:  

@tempestuous

Is the *buntu thread a wild idea, maybe?

Could nooby run wine and install the full windows driver/soundapp for this HD soundchip?

I know it's a large program but he has both processor power & ram capability

maybe just until linux catches up?

Has anyone tried this, running a windoze HD sound driver in wine?

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 18:39    Post subject:  

I should have gone to the folder and try to see how big and how many
files it has.

I did open the windows program and it says about itself

Realtek HD Sound Effect Manager. Driver ver 5.10.00.5123
It seems to need Direct X 9.0 or is that one built in? ALC880

Should I look in the program folder? RTLCPL is 9.24 meg big
and RTLHDCPL is 13.5 and there are lot of other things there.

Two folders some istallshield some 33 meg and realtech VR some 4.36 meg

Would wine in puppy be able to handle such together with Direct X
whatever that one do. Maybe they fail to work if not the whole win xp is there?

As my handle say I am not good at getting these stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 18:50    Post subject:  

I looked at the back, had not done that since I bought it two years ago. There are audio sockets there too so I tested to take the 3.5 mm plug
out of the front line out and put in same color back and the R-tek program
sensed that I had connected something and asked me what I preferred
it to be used for and I chosed line out.

So that is how the software is built. It sense where one connect things
and ask what one want to use it for so the linux set up should
have something similar or to direct by default to the front or to the back
green female socket

I go into puppy now to see if there is sound there in the back panel
and log in here and tell result but after that I have to go to bed
it is 0050AM in the morning here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 19:11    Post subject:  

My heart felt apologies to all of you.

This is why it sucks to be a newbie and
one with not enough fantasy either.

I should have been more inventive and
should have look on the back. I didn't
get how important such is. I mean in
win xp the front socket works so why
should it not in Linux. Somewhere in my
head there must have been a vague mem
going on. Harping on my consciousness.

Nooby you have not tested to plug it in
back there.

Now that I have with the 4.03 alpha from yesterday
it worked right away. Out of the box had no need
to do the alsa thing either.

should I. Maybe it destroy it?

So once again. A big hug to all of you who cared
to suggest things. Very generosu and friendly of
you guys.

I know we all are in it cause we love it and none
is paid so thank you all very much indeed.

Best regards from a crzy newbie in Europe.

wow I feel so utterly stupid that I didn't thought of
to look there on the right. I had only looked
on the left corner after sockets and there was
keyboard and mouse and the cable to the internet
and power and such. I should have looked closer
all over the place but it is tight with space on my
desktop so I had to use a torch and a mirror to
see anything at all back there.

I played a clip from TV that I'downloaded from them.
A music performance. So I have not tested the built
in sounds for doing things. Clips are more important.

well time for me to go to bed.

I test the official Dingo tomorrow and write result here
so others know if they differ for this hardware.

Thanks to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jul 2008, 03:38    Post subject:  

Tested the official distro of Puppy 4 Dingo
and that one worked with playing a video
and sound got routed to green socket at
back of computer. I had used the green front
socket for two years since I bought the computer
and it never occured to me to look after other sockets
I thought them was for Home theater sorround and
me had no such plans for my audio.
so solved thanks to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2008, 17:32    Post subject:  

sadly lost sound when I did the frugal install.

I might have downloaded a pup from David for HAM radio
that maybe helped get me sound. I I have to look into that again.

The iso I used was the test Barry uploaded 2.6.25 of 4.00

Edit. I have sound again. I reinstalled Puppy followed all the
instructions Barry have provided and it had sound out of the box.

Thanks. case solved
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0687s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]