Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 15:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Are there WinModem drivers around for a Agere Systems AC'97?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 22:19    Post subject:  

Hi Richard.

Yes, did both of those, several times.
Also tried Puppy 4.00, which detects ttySL0, but wont do anything else.

In desperation, I have tried a number of other distros as well, but no joy there either. I'll use any distro that will get it working. I even checked-out FreeBSD today.

Dont mention this to anyone, but I am using WinXP on the lappie, cos it's the only thing I can get a useable modem with. I absolutely hate it.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 19:22    Post subject:  

Well, I am getting somewhere at last.

Now using Puppy 4.00 on lappie.
Ran modem-wizard > setup ttySL0 > saved.

After today's net session with Windose, rebooted to Puppy without switching-off.
Ran PupDial.. now connected and writing this.

Seems that the IRQ and port number need to be specified to PupDial/wvDial, or whatever.

Getting there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jun 2008, 21:35    Post subject:  

OK, what I am doing now is booting Windoze > dialling without phoneline connected > warm/soft rebooting to Puppy > modem-wizard > Pupdial.

Works well every time.
A pain? Yes.
Better than using Windoze? ABSOLUTELY.
Windoze should never be connected to ANY network, especially the internet.

I hope that someone smarter than me (and thats most ppl) can come up with a better way of doing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jun 2008, 02:27    Post subject:  

I had another go at this today, and it seems that what is needed is slmodem.
I saw in 2005 forum post that a slmodem dotpet was available on ibiblio.
I have searched there and every other repository I could think of, but cant locate it.

Edit:
Disregard the above.
I have slmodem installed, but dont know if it is configured right.
I am presuming that slmodem is the thing that opens the port, yes?

Anyone got any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jun 2008, 13:00    Post subject:  

koolie,
To straighten things out a bit, "slmodem" is the package for SmartLink chipsets, and is built into Puppy. It contains modules slamr and slusb. The line you added to /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG is what lets Puppy find the modem -- and it apparently did. If you want to make sure, use the BootManager to add slamr to the "add list". Then you shouldn't need the added line (above).

If you haven't already, be sure that the "Carrier Check" box in PupDial is not checked. Do you know whether the modem actually works for any version of linux? You have probably done it, but what happens when you use the Probe option of PupDial.

When testing, would you stay with 4.00, so I have a chance of being able to help. To gather evidence, could you boot with the parameter "loglevel=7", either the modded MODULESCONFIG or having "added" slamr to be loaded at bootup, try to connect, and then attach the files /tmp/bootsysinit.log, /tmp/logwvdialprobe, /tmp/pupdial.log, and /var/log/messages to a posting. Thanks.

Also, did you try 3.01, in case there is a subtle difference from 4.00?
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jun 2008, 21:01    Post subject:  

Hi Richard,
Thanks for taking the time to look into this.

Puppy detects ttySL0 at boot.

CarrierCheck=unchecked.
Using StupidMode.
Using the Probe option of PupDial = detects OK.
Clicking ttySL0 button = not detected.
Only using Puppy 4.00.
Tried to get 8 or 10 Linux distros to run on this lappie,
but only Puppy 2.17.1, Puppy 4.00 and SliTaz would run.
Booted with the parameter "loglevel=7" .. results attached.

I dont have Puppy 3.01 to try.

Hope you can make some sense out of all this.



Cheers.
logwvdialprobe.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  logwvdialprobe.gz 
Filesize  339 Bytes 
Downloaded  395 Time(s) 
bootsysinit.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootsysinit.log.gz 
Filesize  757 Bytes 
Downloaded  392 Time(s) 
messages.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  messages.gz 
Filesize  6.28 KB 
Downloaded  384 Time(s) 
pupdial.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pupdial.log.gz 
Filesize  123 Bytes 
Downloaded  384 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jun 2008, 15:28    Post subject:  

koolie,
Thanks for the data. I used to google for more insight. The plot is beginning to thicken, now.

I found a 2004 message from the person responsible for the slmodem package, which gives us some hope:
Quote:
From: Sasha Khapyorsky sashak@smlink.com
Date: Wed, 4 Feb 2004 19:04:05 +0200
To: marvstod@rcn.com
Subject: Re: [Fwd: Re: [M5457 AC-Link Modem]]


On Wed, 04 Feb 2004 09:25:15 -0500
Marvin Stodolsky <marvstod@rcn.com> wrote:

> =======
> From below, can you interpret:
>
>
> > slamr: mc97 codec is ADS74
> > slamr: cannot init card.
> > slamr: module license 'Smart Link Ltd.' taints kernel.
> > slamr: SmartLink AMRMO modem.
> > slamr: probe 10b9:5457 SL1800 card...
> > slamr: mc97 codec is ADS74
> > slamr: cannot init card.
>
> what is ADS74 ???

ADS74 is audio codec. Modem codec is not detected at all - known slamr' behaviour with 10b9:5457.

Actual status of this device is 'almost unsupported', at the moment I have very different reports:
- works (reason why I don't remove it from pci_table)
- doesn't work at all (sometime with crash on startup - ATD,ATA)
- works only after warm reboot from win

Main problem is that 'slamr' was not developed to support this device, but similar SL1800 (10b9:5459) - single AC97 codec modem pci card. Some non-trivial efforts are needed for 'slamr'. Also currently I don't have such machine (actually one very old exists in company, but it is unavailable for next one or two months).

Hope I will find some time when machine will be available and add support for this modem to 'intel8x0m' ALSA driver (more or the less as it is done for audio).
If you may find anybody who is ready to do it - excellent (I've tried, but without success). Also bad thing here is that this is almost undocumented hardware - spec draft exists under NDA.

Regards,
Sasha.

This suggests to me that we are using the wrong driver module. If Sasha followed through and updated the ALSA driver snd_intel8x0m, it should work for this modem.

First, would you verify that driver snd_intel8x0m is loaded (lsmod) already -- or what sound drivers (snd_something) are loaded. If it is loaded, that should be all we need.

Instead of adding to /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG the line:
Code:
slamr 0x000010b9 0x00005457 #v3.98 Agere Systems AC97 Modem
be sure it is removed from the file. If you are running on your old pup_save environment, just reboot to see what happens. (We need the /etc/init.d/slmodem (or zzslmodem) modem script to run, and it should already be in that directory.) Alternatively, if you run with a new environment (pfix=ram), then in a console, enter:
Code:
modprobe slamr
rmmod slamr
That should copy slmodem into /etc/init.d, for next boot; reboot and save, to test this out.

As a last resort, if the ALSA driver is not already loaded, you could try changing the added MODULESCONFIG entry to:
Code:
snd_intel8x0m  0x000010b9 0x00005457 #Agere Systems AC97 ALSA Modem


If Sasha never made the update he mentioned, then we are probably out of luck. I saw many, many reports of people having the same or similar problems, but Sasha's message was the only one that answered their requests for help.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jun 2008, 20:29    Post subject:  

@Richard,

I followed your suggestions to the letter, with no positive outcome.
However, I detected one thing which seems to be hindering this.
The native sound module, snd_ali5451 keeps loading even when blacklisted,
and it won't remove with rmmod.
This, I presume, is preventing snd_intel8x0m (which is loaded) from functioning.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun 2008, 09:56    Post subject:  

koolie,
That other module, snd_ali5451, is also considered an SL modem. We could modify the modem script to check it before checking for snd_intel8x0m. Maybe Sasha put the fix in ali5451 (fingers crossed).

But before doing anything, check out what I just found about this modem, dated 2006_April_26:
Quote:
== Checking PCI IDs through modem chip suppliers ==

Vendor 10b9 is Acer Labs, producing highly integrated motherboards and Ali components.
The tight integration unfortunately ofter blocks identification of the modem chipset.
Desired information may be gained by using a COMM console under MS Windows,
and using ATI commands to elicit chipset and driver information.
10b9:5450 ALI 5450 and 10b9:5451 ALI 5451 are controllers for unsupported "sound modems"


Providing detail for device at 0000:00:09.0
with vendor-ID:device-ID
----:----
Class 0703: 10b9:5457 Modem: ALi Corporation M5457 AC'97 Modem Controller (prog-if 00 [Generic])
SubSystem 161f:2027 Rioworks: Unknown device 2027
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 5
Checking for IRQ 5 sharing with modem.
XT-PIC ide1


-----PCI_IDs------- --CompilerVer-
Feature List: Primary Subsystem Distr KernelVer kernel default CPU
./scanModem test 10b9:5457 161f:2027 debian_version 2.6.12-9-386 3.4.5 4.0.2 i686
The following two Root commands should set up the modem.
sudo modprobe snd-intel8x0m
sudo slmodemd --alsa -c YOUR_COUNTRY modem:1
Get the SLMODEMD.gcc3.tar.gz from http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/smartlink/

The controller: 10b9:5457 ALI 5457 AC-Link
is capable of supporting soft modem chips from AT LEAST manufacturers:
Pctel
Conexant
Intel
Smartlink
The Subsystem PCI id does not itself identify the modem Codec.
Checking for autoloaded ALSA modem drivers
snd_intel8x0m 16836 0
snd_ac97_codec 72188 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451
snd_pcm 78344 4 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd 48644 11 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 10120 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_pcm
snd_ali5451 22596 2
snd_ac97_codec 72188 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451
snd_pcm 78344 4 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd 48644 11 snd_intel8x0m,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer

Driver snd-intel8x0m may enable codec acquisition
=== Begin mc97 codec query ===

Files under /proc/asound/ do not include modem codec information.
If more decisive information is not given below,
this is a tentative signature of a Conexant hsfmodem. Download a hsfmodem package from
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers or your installation CDs. For SuSE/Novell, install both
km_hsfmodem and hsfmodem packages, for drivers and configuration tools respectively.

=== End mc97 codec query ===

Beginning check for older ac97_codec modems.
An older ac97_modem codec was not detected.


Information on several modem chipset providers is provided below,
because ambiguities remain on the correct choice of supporting software.

== Checking PCI IDs through modem chip suppliers ==
== Checking PCI IDs through modem chip suppliers ==

Vendor 10b9 is Acer Labs, producing highly integrated motherboards and Ali components.
The tight integration unfortunately ofter blocks identification of the modem chipset.
Desired information may be gained by using a COMM console under MS Windows,
and using ATI commands to elicit chipset and driver information.
10b9:5450 ALI 5450 and 10b9:5451 ALI 5451 are controllers for unsupported "sound modems"


These messages may aid setup of soft modems under 10b9:M5457 controllers:
http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/archive-third/msg02518.html
http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/archive-third/msg02100.html
The slmodem-2.9.9 support was developed for 10b9:5459,
but there a range of reports the related 10b9:5457 modemd controllers:
fully functional;
functional only after a power on reboot from Microsoft windows;
hang/crash upon initiation of modem usage.

10b9:5457 Modem: ALi Corporation [M5457 AC-Link Modem]
SubSystem 1179:0001 Toshiba America Info Systems: Unknown device 0001
has an AgereSoftModem chip which may be supported by the Smartlink slmodem-2.9.9 driver


======= PCI_ID checking completed ======

This suggests that the presence of both snd drivers is correct. Before changing the script, let's gather more info. Since loglevel=7 lets puppy boot up, use it and capture the /var/log/messages and /tmp/bootsysinit.log, and attach them. Also, see if (1) slmodemd is running as a process (System>Pprocess process manager), which would show that the init script worked; (2) see if the /dev/modem and /dev/ttySL0 links are set up. Maybe that absence of /dev/ttySL0 is causing a problem (since it may not be created when snd-intel8x0m are loaded); if not there, try creating an empty file /dev/ttySL0 and rebooting..
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun 2008, 21:28    Post subject:  

Requested files attached.

slmodemd is not running.
/dev/modem and /dev/ttySL0 are there as broken links to /dev/pts/1.

Running slmodemd manually, it shows that it needs slamr loaded to create /dev/slamr0,
so I would presume that slamr should be loaded.
bootsysinit.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootsysinit.log.gz 
Filesize  818 Bytes 
Downloaded  396 Time(s) 
messages.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  messages.gz 
Filesize  5.98 KB 
Downloaded  392 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun 2008, 14:31    Post subject:  

koolie,
Thanks for the data. What can you tell me about the attempt to load "#slamr"?
Quote:
loading module #slamr
snd_intel8x0m
FATAL: Module #slamr not found.
That appears to be a bug, unless you entered that somewhere. There is no "#" in the module name. If puppy is picking that up internally, we may have something to work on!

I detect that you were not running puppy 4.00. To minimize the confounding factors in our troubleshooting, could you test with a P4.00 (kernel 2.6.21.7) system without all the added hardware I see in the data? Can you remove all PCcards (assuming the modem is built-in)? Can you do without the server package that I assume is associated with the error messages:
Quote:
/etc/init.d/wwwoffled: line 15: [: =: unary operator expected
/etc/init.d/wwwoffled: line 20: gprintf: command not found
/etc/init.d/wwwoffled: line 21: daemon: command not found
Who knows whether that affects our results.

Just to be sure we're in sync, leave out any blacklisted or added modules through the BootManager. We are depending on the fact that the modem-initialization script /etc/init.d/slmodem exists, which should detect the intel8x0m driver and act appropriately. There might be a bug in that code, since I have never been able to test with an ALSA modem; now is our chance! I have done extensive work on the 4.00 modem support, so know it best. Someday maybe it can be back-ported it to 3.01+.

So far, I think, the script has been there as a a result of the loading of slamr, however that got done. On a new, clean 4.00 system it won't be there automatically. To deal with that, when you boot up the clean system, type in a console:
Code:
modprobe slamr
rmmod slamr
When you reboot, the script should be in place and run. When booted up, the Connection Wizard should show the modem as ttySL0, if things work right, which I doubt. At that point, capture /tmp/bootsysinit.log and /var/log/messages.

After that, try the PupDial Probe option, just to see what happens. Then capture /tmp/logwvdialprobe. I don't expect much from the probe, but you never know.

Remember, even when we resolve this stuff, you may still have to use Windows to initialize the modem, But we need to be sure we have the correct driver, before giving up. Thanks for your continued help.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koolie

Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun 2008, 21:11    Post subject:  

Richard,
I had noticed the "#slamr" and wondered where that came from.
There is something odd there if you were detecting other tha P4.00 running.
I have only been running P4.00(k2.6.21.7) for the last 2 months. Maybe that came from some recycled script from P2.17.1.

I have now done a fresh clean installation which I will keep for testing this.
When you said to leave out any blacklisted or added modules through the boot manager, I couldn't work out whether you meant
to remove the default ones, or not to add new ones. I left the default ones.

Did modprobe slamr and rmmod slamr, rebooted and /etc/init.d/slmodem exists.
Captured /tmp/bootsysinit.log and /var/log/messages..

Ran modem-wizard..

# modem-wizard
error: mdm setup: cannot open dev `/dev/slamr0': No such device
error: cannot setup device `/dev/slamr0'
modem-stats: Can't open /dev/ttySL0 for reading and writing.
Usage: modem-stats [-c command] [-e end_string] device
killall: modem-stats: no process killed

PupDial probe detects ttySL0. Clicking "ttySL0" button.. can't find modem.
Captured /tmp/logwvdialprobe.

There is undoubtedly a better chance of sorting this out now with a clean setup.

Here's hoping.

Cheers.

Edit: I must have been having a blonde spasm when I wrote that,
I have corrected it so it makes sense.
messages.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  messages.gz 
Filesize  5.79 KB 
Downloaded  395 Time(s) 
logwvdialprobe.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  logwvdialprobe.gz 
Filesize  337 Bytes 
Downloaded  401 Time(s) 
bootsysinit.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootsysinit.log.gz 
Filesize  437 Bytes 
Downloaded  405 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0897s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]