Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy Database
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 00:24    Post_subject:  

I installed Portabase and the qt-3.3.8.pet package, this time in a version of a Puppy 3.01 which is an original 3.01 (and not a downgrade from 4.0 with the wrong pup_save file as I did earlier). So this time, both packages downloaded and installed fine. Although STILL, after first installing qt-3.3.8.pet and then Portabase, at the end of the Portabase install it says there is a missing dependency: libqt-mt.so.3. And although Portabase is listed under Menu-> Personal, but it will not open. No sign of life. I thought the only dependency for Portabase, was fulfilled by installing qt-3.3.8.pet ? And this other package (libqt-mt.so.3) is not found in Package Manger. What should I do now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 00:40    Post_subject:  

Someone else reported that, when they installed qt-3.3.8, libqt-mt.so.3 was missing, but after they re-installed it, (or maybe they rebooted?), it was OK. I just checked my qt-3.3.8, and libqt-mt.so.3 definitely in in the right location.

If you enter ls /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt* , what response do you get?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 00:48    Post_subject:  

I would hope he gets an answer similiar to this:

/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.prl
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.3
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.3.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 09:05    Post_subject:  

KF6SNJ wrote:
I would hope he gets an answer similiar to this:

/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.prl
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.3
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
/usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.3.8


After reading your post as well as the one above, I have rebooted into Puppy, and found that Portabase is now working just fine. Yeh! And upon doing the terminal command requested, I do indeed get the output above shown. --Guess it just needed a fresh reboot. Thank you. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 10:18    Post_subject:  

I am trying to import from Kexi (in Ubuntu) into Portabase (in Puppy). To that end, I exported from Kexi into a csv file, and then converted the csv into an xml file using this application: http://csv2xml.sourceforge.net/, which I have installed in Puppy. I opened Portabase and executed the import of the xml, but am getting this error message:

Quote:
Error at: Line 1, Column 5
unknown element: row


I know there are various xml formats. Could it be that the xml format which the csv2xml application creates, is not acceptable to the Portabase import tool? If anyone familiar with xml file formats could take a look at this page which explains Portabase's xml format:
http://portabase.sourceforge.net/portabase_xml.html, and let me know if you think the csv2xml converter would create files consistent with that format, this would be a big help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 13:41    Post_subject:  

I wrote to the Portabase creator, Jeremy Bowman, about the above question. Here below is his reply. I think it answers the matter quite clearly:

Quote:
PortaBase uses its own XML format, which is documented at http://portabase.sourceforge.net/portabase_xml.html. It also imports CSV files, so you shouldn't have to use csv2xml at all (although there are variations in how different applications define CSV, so you still might need to tweak things a little). Importing CSV does require you to first create the PortaBase file you want to import the data into and define appropriate columns...this is probably less work than trying to write an XSLT file or such to convert the XML syntax you have into something that PortaBase would understand, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 06:12    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
Someone else reported that, when they installed qt-3.3.8, libqt-mt.so.3 was missing, but after they re-installed it, (or maybe they rebooted?), it was OK. I just checked my qt-3.3.8, and libqt-mt.so.3 definitely in in the right location.

If you enter ls /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt* , what response do you get?


I got the listing of files as stated, but when I tried to run Portabase I got the message "/lib/libpthread.so.0: version 'GLIBC.2.3.3' not found (required by usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3)."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 07:33    Post_subject:  

Colonel,

you don't mention which pupversion you're using? Is this using the pup3 qt-3.3.8 on pup3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 09:30    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
Colonel,

you don't mention which pupversion you're using? Is this using the pup3 qt-3.3.8 on pup3?


Thanks for replying.

You got me there! I'm using Pizzasgood's fine Pizzapup 3.01, which is based on Puppy 2.14. (I'm posting from an old version of Flock btw).

I'm thinking of getting Lighthouse Pup, and that's not based on Puppy 4 either; in any case it won't be for a little while. Are there libraries I can download to save me having to get a whole new Pup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 20:07    Post_subject:  

Colonel,

try removing the qt-3.3.8 .pet, and instead install the pup2 qt-3.3.6 .pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 20:28    Post_subject:  

This much I can say-- Portabase rocks. My guess is that for 90% of Puppy users wanting a DB, Portabase will meet their needs. It's easy to use, tiny sized, stable, and fast as lightning.

All you have to do is create or import your table. Portabase automatically supplies data entry forms and all commonly needed functions. I find that many of the commonly needed tasks are more easily done in Portabase than in Kexi even. --And Kexi is great. But for example, if you want to alter the structure of a table after it has been made and populated with data, it is a piece of cake in Portabase. Need to add a column? Need to rearrange the order of columns in the table? With Portabase, these tasks are incredibly simple and fast. In Kexi these are not part of routine operations and there are no out of the box commands for them. And in OO Base, such tasks are a mere dream-- or perhaps more aptly termed for those who have attempted it, a nightmare. Portabase turns the common, daily DB needs of general users into a simple pleasure. It is highly recommended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 04:49    Post_subject:  

Swarup wrote:
This much I can say-- Portabase rocks. My guess is that for 90% of Puppy users wanting a DB, Portabase will meet their needs. It's easy to use, tiny sized, stable, and fast as lightning.

Yep. It has my vote as a standard include in Puppy, although BarryK might object since it also means including Qt-3.3.8 or similar. Pity really. Between Abiword, Gnumeric and Portabase Puppy standard has a complete and functional suite of office apps. Maybe chihuahua (3.10CE standard ed.) is the place it belongs.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2008, 07:57    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
Colonel,

try removing the qt-3.3.8 .pet, and instead install the pup2 qt-3.3.6 .pet.


Thanks for the advice, I will.

UPDATE: It worked! (after a reboot). Now all I have to do is import my data files from their native format (CSV). Fortunately, there aren't many of them.

Thanks to everyone who has helped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 09:17    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Sqlitemanager -> Firefox-Extension
 

for those of you who are running firefox

http://code.google.com/p/sqlite-manager/

might be interesting.

I think it is not for a beginner, but maybe someone ist interested.

The xpi is 86 kb!

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 05:04    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I think it is not for a beginner


It also runs on Seamonkey
. . . but I am not sure if it comes with a front end or you have to write it?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0856s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]