Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 23:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Does remote desktop function in Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2008, 14:27    Post subject:  

Swarup wrote:
Can you just clarify for me: in order for someone else on another computer to see my computer--the very desktop that I am working on--what is the name of the software that is needed? Is it the RemoteDesktop RDP client, or the TightVNC VNC client? Or are both needed for this too work?

Good questions. Of course you need the server part (on your computer); neither RDP client nor VNC client will do the job. Upon inspection, the server part is not included in pcPuppyOS (neither vncserver nor x11vnc), so that's not a complete solution to your requirements. My mistake Sad

Quote:
Perhaps I should try downloading what was recommended to me by Kirk. Although it seemed to be indicated for 4.0, is it likely it may work for 3.01?

If working on 3.01, I think that's indeed the route to take.

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Tue 27 May 2008, 16:28    Post subject:  

For anyone interested in using x11vnc in Puppy 3.01, I have tested Kirk's compiled version which he made for Puppy 4.0-- it installs and works perfectly in Puppy 3.01 as well.

Again, here is the link Kirk gave for the download. It works perfectly in 3.01!

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=2090831405&t=27424
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 11:30    Post subject:  

Swarup wrote:
I have tested Kirk's compiled version which he made for Puppy 4.0-- it installs and works perfectly in Puppy 3.01 as well.

Great!

I posted that info on Kirk's thread as well.

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 19:05    Post subject:  

Swarup wrote:
The TightVNC VNC client though when I open it, opens as a tiny 1 inch window and I'm not confident that it is working. It doesn't seem to have any functionality that I can see.
that is a password entry box
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Swarup

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 10:29    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
Swarup wrote:
The TightVNC VNC client though when I open it, opens as a tiny 1 inch window and I'm not confident that it is working. It doesn't seem to have any functionality that I can see.
that is a password entry box


This is prototypical of the obstacles that stand in the way of making Linux accessible to the public. How is anyone--especially a new person--supposed to divine what this box is for?

There needs to be some concise indication of what is expected to be placed in that tiny box.

And also it should explain: whose password is expected to be placed there? Isn't this the application for allowing a user to view someone else's computer? And if so, then why isn't it requesting first that computer's IP address, after which it would ask for their password? The answers to these questions should be apparent in the initial window that opens when one clicks on this application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 11:28    Post subject:  

Swarup wrote:
This is prototypical of the obstacles that stand in the way of making Linux accessible to the public. How is anyone--especially a new person--supposed to divine what this box is for?
Should we be making linux accessible to the public? I was just trying to help you with your problem, and getting it wrong. I'm thinking of the password box that appears when you start tightvnc from the command line having already stated the server and screen you wish to connect to. I have no idea what the box you are looking at is, sorry.
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 23:38    Post subject:  

That's the sorry little GUI that tight vncviewer has. If you type vncviewer with no arguments, you'll see it. It's asking for:

<ip address>:<display number>

I did explain this a few posts above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BTUx9

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Rockport, MA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 19:45    Post subject: rdesktop crashes  

I'm running rdesktop from 3.01 under 4.0, following the installation of the files that support older GTK apps.

I'm running into a real problem... the client isn't stable... it regularly crashes (with no discernable rhyme or reason)

any thoughts/suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 20:23    Post subject:  

yup, there seems to be a problem with rdesktop
I've tried recompiling it from source but that hasn't helped.
It seems to be connected to carrying out specific actions on the target machine. IE if I keep reconnecting and try and carry out the same action the session dies in exactly the same place.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BTUx9

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Rockport, MA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 14:30    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
yup, there seems to be a problem with rdesktop
I've tried recompiling it from source but that hasn't helped.
It seems to be connected to carrying out specific actions on the target machine. IE if I keep reconnecting and try and carry out the same action the session dies in exactly the same place.

In a word: Crap!
I may have to downgrade to 3.01 (tho' I REALLY like 4.0), because that's the primary purpose for the machine (rdesktop)

PLEASE keep me/us informed, if you make any progress
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
Phoebe's_Dad


Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 11:35    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
yup, there seems to be a problem with rdesktop
I've tried recompiling it from source but that hasn't helped.
It seems to be connected to carrying out specific actions on the target machine. IE if I keep reconnecting and try and carry out the same action the session dies in exactly the same place.



Hairy/All

Has there been any headway made on the rdesktop not working? When I click it I don't get anything either.

That is all but my last step to not having to use xp on my laptop, but as a windows network admin... I kinda need RDP. Cool

Thanks

_________________
Puppy 4.00 Dingo Official Release.

Compaq R4012US 2.00 ghz AMD Athlon 64 2048mb...

That's what I'm using if you're trying to help me... Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 11:44    Post subject:  

I think the 1.6 version of rdesktop should cure the crashing problem.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=217359#217359

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Phoebe's_Dad


Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 12:25    Post subject:  

Thanks... Again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Phoebe's_Dad


Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 12:51    Post subject:  

ME STUPID

I get an "x message" window when I try to open that rdesktop.bz2 file and nothing happens. I can't maximize that xmessage window it just sits there...

Looks like my Xarchive isn't working now... Weird.







Got that extracted to usr/bin and click on it... nothing, restart... nothing...


It seems to work in the terminal, but I'm way too noob for that, especially with production servers being 'in play'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Phoebe's_Dad


Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 14:17    Post subject:  

Fingered it out myself.

Just needed to use the command line for some reason...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0820s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]