Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 13:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Muppy 08.3 Cups
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 13:06    Post subject:  Muppy 08.3 Cups
Subject description: hanging on first choice
 

Hi Mark & other Muppy users, Great system, but I can't get past the first choice when setting up Cups. Using mini muppy with addons on Thinkpad T23. Everything else works fine. Cannot install printer drivers. Whatever I choose on the first screen just hangs with looping cursor. Using standard setup with Opera. Any ideas? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 13:51    Post subject:  

It is very slow, because it installs hundrets of drivers (in reality just dozends, but there are many localized ones generated, too).
You might have to wait some minutes.

In case also waiting does not help:
create a backup of msy_save.2fs.

Install this pup:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Printing/cups-install-v0.3.pup

That is an older, english version.
Some people said, that some printers could be installed only with this dotpup.
Maybe it fixes your issues, too.

Please let me know your results.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 16:04    Post subject:  

no, it is a bug with the Mini.

It seems that Cups has permission problems, when it is part of addons.sfs.

I now will add it again to the mini itself, and test, if that solves it.
I'll keep you informed.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 18:15    Post subject:  

I updated the german Mini-Iso.
It now includes Cups.

BUT: it only works, if addons.sfs is NOT loaded.
So to set up you printer, you first must remove it from the bootmanager, and reboot.

I found no solution for this.
If this is not acceptable, please use the Standard-Iso, where the error does not appear.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 23:20    Post subject:  

I was unable to get Cups working, so I'll move to the standard or the new mini.Thanks for your quick response. Much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 07:44    Post subject:  

Mark, the new 083 mini works perfectly with Cups. I downloaded the new addons iso (which I think you said no longer had Cups), set it up using the boot manager, and Cups again went walkabout. When I remove the addons sfs, Cups is back again working perfectly. I can live with this, but you might want to look into it. Great system!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 08:21    Post subject:  

Sorry, I forgot that I use Cups to monitor jobs and configure printers (as well as adding printers). So, unless I'm missing something, mini 083 + addons isn't working for anyone who prints a lot. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 14:52    Post subject:  

ok, so you will need the standard as a workaround.
Is only the web-interface not working with the addons?
Or can't you print at all with it?

I have no idea how to solve this, the unionfs-layer seems to confuse the cgi scripts that create the webinterface.
I set loglevel to "debug" in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

Then in the log /var/log/cups/error_log I see permission errors with the cgi scripts.
This happens, though I moved all cups-related files and folders from addons.sfs to msy_083.sfs.

So I don't understand, how there still can be errors now Shocked Rolling Eyes
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 15:33    Post subject:  

Please also try this dotpet:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26023

It is a Gtk interface to manage printqueues and printersettings.
So you might need the webinterface only to add a printer, then you could use GtkLP for the rest.

Please let me know, how good it works.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 15:49    Post subject:  

O.K., thanks. I'll try it. In the meantime, I retested and found that loading the addons sfs disables printing completely, not just the Cups web interface. When I reboot without the addons, printing is fine; Cups works well. It seems that the jobs are sent off into space when the addons are loaded. A device confusion, maybe? Puzzling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 15:58    Post subject:  

very strange Sad
I will do some more tests with different sfs files, to find out what could go wrong over the weekend.
But I cannot promise to find a solution, as the errors seem "unlogic" to me.
So I can just try "trial and error".
But printing is an important general issue, so I must try to find a solution.

Thanks for your detailed feedback.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2008, 20:12    Post subject:  

No problem. Glad to help test this great system. Just to fill in the testing blank -- I installed gtklp. It worked well without the addons sfs. When the addons sfs was loaded, gtklp did not help, acted the same as without it, print job just disappearing. Good luck with the puzzle. I'll download the standard tonight and see how that works with 512mb ram and a swap partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat 17 May 2008, 11:47    Post subject:  

Mark, I downloaded the standard EN iso and got the correct checksum. However, it would not load. It hung after I chose 0 for no personal file. It began to load and stopped a few seconds later with the message: unionfs: do delay copyup of "hostap_ds.ko". I burned two different CDS, one with each burning program in Mini, same result with each CD. I'm back to using the excellent Mini and hoping you can figure out a solution to using CUPS with the addon sfs. Thanks, John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 May 2008, 12:49    Post subject:  

I found the error.

Solution 1:
you wait some hours, until I uploaded a new addons.sfs

Solution 2:
Start Muppy without addons.sfs.
Mount a Linuxdrive with around 950 MB free space.
Start "Setup - SFS-Combiner"
Drag your addons-EN_083.sfs on it, and click on "build new_083.sfs".
Then you get an option-dialog to add files.
Now right-click the folder SFS-TEMP/usr/

In the contextmenu, select "properties - permissions".
Set them to
execute execute execute
write - -
read read read

Do the same with:
SFS-TEMP/usr/bin
SFS-TEMP/usr/share
SFS-TEMP/usr/share/applications
SFS-TEMP/usr/share/pixmaps

Then confirm the dialog to start building the SFS.

When it finished, rename new_083.sfs to addons-EN_083.sfs , and replace your existing one with it.

Now Muppy should print also, if you use this sfs.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Thu 22 May 2008, 08:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wetterau

Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 22 May 2008, 03:04    Post subject:  

Thanks, Mark. Cups works perfectly for me in the latest addons.sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0683s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]