Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
CUPS network printing in Puppy 4.00 - Still can't connect
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
drpatt

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 14:54    Post subject:  CUPS network printing in Puppy 4.00 - Still can't connect
Subject description: No option for Samba printing
 

Considering the amount of time this has been a problem I'm amazed it hasn't been fixed by the keepers of CUPS. Don't they think people use Windows networks? Rolling Eyes

Just installed Puppy 4. With CUPS there is no SAMBA option for network printing. Nothing seems to work. When I tried 3.01 it was the same problem. Is CUPS still broken? Is there a way to get my Brother laser installed? Drivers are not a problem. Finding the printer is a problem. The host PC is running XP and the printer is shared (other PCs on the network are using it). Connecting locally is not an option. Thank you.

Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 16:10    Post subject:  

[Edited]

First verify that you have the file /opt/samba/bin/smbspool

Then go to the folder /usr/lib/cups/backend

Inside this folder you need to make a symlink to the smbspool file and name it "smb".

Open a console and type: ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool smb

Restart CUPS with the command: /etc/init.d/cups restart (or reboot Puppy)

Open the CUPS web interface and start installing a new printer.

At the bottom of the Device list you should now see "Windows Printer via Samba"

Make the device URI smb://PC_NAME/PRINTER_NAME

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Fri 16 May 2008, 21:32; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2008, 18:00    Post subject:  

@drpatt:

In case you have already read my original message, I have edited it to provide the patch for Samba printing in Puppy 4. I hope this works for you.

This problem was mentioned by barriew in the Beta2 bug reports but apparently it was ignored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 13:01    Post subject:  

Thanks for the post; that got my network HP940c printer working
I was just going to comment about the link, but you beat me to it Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mow9902

Joined: 26 Nov 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed 17 Dec 2008, 19:56    Post subject: CUPS Network printing - not quite yet
Subject description: Network printing - nearly working - please help
 

Thanks for the previous post. I also had not been able to get CUPS network printing to work in Puppy 4.

I have a HP PSC1355.
If I connect the printer directly to my puppy machine, and then do the CUPS setup, it works perfectly using the HP PSC 1300 printer driver.

However, I had never been able to get the printer to work over my home network despite reading dozens of suggestions on the forum.

BUT today - following the advice to place into /usr/lib/cups/backend a sym link (named smb) to smbspool in /opt/samba/bin I can now actually place a print job into the printer queu on the network .....BUT unfortunately the job never actually prints. It errors on the windows system print queue. I have attached a screen print of the actual error.

I would normally suspect such a problem to be associated with the printer driver - but in this case the driver used works perfectly when the printer is directly connected, so I'm thinking it cannot be that.

Is there some further samba secret/tip/tweak which I might have to do?

Any help greatly appreciated.
printer error.gif
Description 
gif

 Download 
Filename  printer error.gif 
Filesize  18.88 KB 
Downloaded  403 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 342
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Dec 2008, 22:13    Post subject:  

Sorry mow, no real answer to your problem other than to say that the instructions (quoted below) worked fine for me.

Quote:
First verify that you have the file /opt/samba/bin/smbspool
Then go to the folder /usr/lib/cups/backend
Inside this folder you need to make a symlink to the smbspool file and name it "smb".
Open a console and type: ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool smb

Restart CUPS with the command: /etc/init.d/cups restart (or reboot Puppy)
Open the CUPS web interface and start installing a new printer.
At the bottom of the Device list you should now see "Windows Printer via Samba"
Make the device URI smb://PC_NAME/PRINTER_NAME


These instructions worked perfectly on my frugal pup411 system -
a T22 Thinkpad with frugal pup411 connected by wifi to a home network which also serves a W98 PC with a shared a Canon S520 printer. The pup411 system uses a Turboprint driver for the Canon S520.

I use the URL address: smb://VBOX/CanonS520 and I made sure neither the shared windows name of the computer nor the printer have spaces in them.

_________________
--- quad booting pup431, Slacko55PAE, Slacko56NPAE (with OO3/LO4, devx, Gimp) & WXP on DELL Dimension 2400 PC & DELL Latitude 630 Laptop using grub.
---USB-Flash booting same on Samsung N110 WXP Netbook and Lenovo q100 WXP netPC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 18 Dec 2008, 13:57    Post subject:  

Have a look at the CUPS error log. Does it complain that it cannot connect to CIFS host? Or, in fact, this message may be displayed as Printer State on the CUPS printers page on localhost 631.
If you are getting the CIFS problem, then (in 4.1.2) I have to open Pnethood and mount the printer with "Use CIFS" box ticked. Sorry I can't remember if 4.0 is the same- update to 4.1.2, which is what I'm using now!

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tbuff2

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 11:58    Post subject: Need Help going from Windows to CUPS  

I would like to print from Windows Vista to a linux printer using CUPS. I would like to use the IPP option as that seems easier. I know I have to modify the cupsd.conf file to allow this and I thought I'd done that but I can't get the Vista machine to connect. Here's my cupsd.conf file.
Code:

ServerName puppypc

LogFilePerm 0600

# Recommended log size 1m
MaxLogSize 1m

PreserveJobHistory Off

PreserveJobFiles Off

AutoPurgeJobs Yes

DocumentRoot /usr/share/doc/cups-1.1.23

# Show general information in error_log.
# Default: 'LogLevel info'
# Change to 'LogLevel debug' for more detail
LogLevel debug

Printcap /etc/printcap

User root

<Location />
# Allow shared printing and remote administration.
Order Deny,Allow
Deny from All
#Allow from 127.0.0.1
#Allow from 10.0.0.*
Allow @LOCAL
</Location>

#AuthType Digest
#Order Deny,Allow
#Allow From 127.0.0.1
#Allow From localhost

<Location /admin>
# Allow remote administration.
Order allow,deny
Allow @LOCAL
</Location>

<Location /printers>
Order Deny,Allow
#Allow From 127.0.0.1
#Allow From 10.0.0.*
Allow @LOCAL
</Location>

# Enable printer sharing and shared printers.
Browsing On
BrowseOrder allow,deny
BrowseAllow @LOCAL
#BrowseAddress 10.0.0.1:631
#BrowseProtocols cups
# Allow remote access
Port 631



Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 12:14    Post subject:  

To print from Windows to Puppy, try this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tbuff2

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 16:01    Post subject:  

Thanks! The method you point me to in the above link is exactly what I'm trying to do. I've posted a message regarding the problem I'm having with the method on that thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2009, 08:46    Post subject: Printing to Windows Network via Samba  

rcrsn51,

Thanks for your clear, concise instructions.

It worked first time, perfectly.

drblock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 00:59    Post subject:  

Help!!
Last instruction says
Make the device URI smb://PC_NAME/PRINTER_NAME
? What is the pc's name in puppy?
i tried puppypc, root, the ip address without success
any ideas?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 08:08    Post subject:  

PC_NAME is the name of the Windows computer. Right-click on My Computer and select Properties. Then open the Computer Name tab. The name needs to be a one-word identifier with no spaces. Just to be safe, make it all upper case and less than 16 letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 14:15    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51
I wouldn't have thought to try name of the Windows computer. Unfortunately it didn't work. Perhaps, since its not a dual boot, Puppy doesn't know WinME exists on the hard drive. I did rename it using all caps, no spaces per your suggestion. Trying a test page thru CUPS -- nothing. Edit: after fooling around for awhile, i now see error message "unable to connect to CIFS host". I'm also wondering how its supposed to know the ip address of the printer or the computer. Surely it must?

[Edit]
I got things working by another method suggested here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=280482#280482

involving sockets and printing to Internet etc. Sorta wonder if both your method AND the socket thing are needed in my case.

Cheers

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
qcjn


Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Location: you can find me usually at irc #puppylinux

PostPosted: Fri 20 Mar 2009, 20:28    Post subject: Cant configure printer HP psc 1610  

i'm following this tutorial
http://pupweb.org/wikka/Printing
Do administration task...add printer
come's up 3 prompts
Name: HP_PSC_1600_series
Location: 192.168.0.101
Description: my hp printer
then
Device for HP_PSC_1600_series
Device:Windows printer via samba
then
Device URI for HP_PSC_1600_series
Device URI:smb://192.168.0.101 (this i'm not sure..examples are not the same)
then
Model/Driver for HP_PSC_1600_series
Make: HP
then
Model/Driver for HP_PSC_1600_series
Model:HP PSC 2110 - CUPS+gutenprintv501(en) <==what i tried
then
Model:HP PSC 950xi - CUPS+gutenprintv501(en) <==what i tried

server-error-internal-error

So thats where i'm at...don't know what to do now ????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0722s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]