Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 08:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Strange problem with setting up graphics
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
roganty


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 13:32    Post_subject:  Strange problem with setting up graphics  

I had this really strange problem, in that what ever I tried I just couldn't get the x server up and running, the test screens would work, but it would refuse to load x, and even the "safe" xvesa wouldn't work either, it would keep stopping and starting again.

The solution?
I started Puppy in command line, then I typed xwin, and voila! X started up!

Don't ask what's different, or why it wouldn't start first time, I've tried everything!

I just thought I'd post this in case someone else might have the same problem.

The processor is a Pentium 2 Celeron-MMX 333MHz with 160Mb Memory

ddcprobe wrote:
vbe: Vesa 3.0 detected
oem: NVidia
product: Riva TNT Chip Rev B1
[cut]
edid: 1 2
id: d556
serial: 000c8b11
manufacture: 39 2002
input: sync on green, analog signal
screen size: 28 21
gamma 2.600000
dpms: RGB, active off, no suspend, no standby
timing: 640*480@75Hz (VESA)
timing: 800*600@60Hz (VESA)
timing: 1024*768@87Hz Interlaced (8514a)
ctiming: 640*480@85
ctiming: 800*600@85
ctiming: 800*600@85
monitorname: AOC Spectrum
monitorname: 5E
monitorrange: 30-54, 50-120


If anyone can shed any light on this, please tell!

Thanks

*Edited*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
roganty


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 14:14    Post_subject:  

Ok, I've had a chance to see what was happening...

it seems that it is using xvesa to display the graphics.

If I try "xorgwizard" then I get an "input/output error"

If anyone can help your help will be much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0630s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0221s) ][ GZIP on ]