Logitech Quickcam Express Webcam Trouble

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of computer video hardware
Post Reply
Message
Author
Marblemike
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri 09 May 2008, 19:03

Logitech Quickcam Express Webcam Trouble

#1 Post by Marblemike »

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to this (first time puppy user) - so please forgive me if this is posted in the wrong place or something is wrong.

I've just purchased a logitech quickcam express webcam and have been trying to get it going under puppy 3.01. (It works fine under Kubuntu so I'm sure the webcam is ok for linux) Ultimately the plan is to write code in c to grab frames and process them for use in a realtime robosoccer robot, but before that I just want to see some sort of output in xawtv.

When I unplug and plug in the webcam and use dmesg I get:

Code: Select all

usb 1-2: USB disconnect, address 4
usb 1-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 5
I don't know if that's right or even relevant.

I then downloaded and installed the quickcam driver
qc-usb-0.6.5-k2.6.21.7.pet
from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... da1c940b0d

Next, I modprobed it and got the following:

Code: Select all

# modprobe videodev
# modprobe quickcam
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
quickcam               72996  0 
videodev               27904  1 quickcam
v4l2_common            16896  1 videodev
v4l1_compat            14596  1 videodev
From that I guess the driver is installed properly.
But when I run xawtv I get the following.

Code: Select all

This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.21.7)
xinerama 0: 1024x768+0+0
WARNING: Your X-Server has no DGA support.
can't open /dev/video0: No such device
v4l-conf had some trouble, trying to continue anyway
v4l2: open /dev/video0: No such device
v4l2: open /dev/video0: No such device
v4l: open /dev/video0: No such device
no video grabber device available
I've read under similar topics that this is because the wrong driver is installed so I tried a couple of other generic ones which had no effect and then tried compiling the quickcam driver from source which led to loads more issues then those I already have.

So at present I'm rather lost. :? If anyone has any ideas or help to offer I'd be extremely grateful.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#2 Post by MU »

try muppywebcam, it supports gspca and pwc drivers, that cover many cams:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... ch&id=8941

It has a menu-entry, or run it in a consolewindow to see messages by typing:
Muppywebcam

Mark
Last edited by MU on Tue 15 Jul 2008, 09:06, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

Marblemike
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri 09 May 2008, 19:03

#3 Post by Marblemike »

Great!

You're a legend! :D

That works perfectly. Turns out the Quickcam Express uses the GSPCA driver and not any of the quickcam drivers themselves.

Thanks again.

reginr
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 06:03

How about Linux Puppy 4.00 Dingo

#4 Post by reginr »

Is the pup file able to work with Puppy 4.00?

Please advise,
Thanks

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#5 Post by MU »

yes and no.
It should work to load the Kerneldrivers, if you have the version with Kernel 2.6.21.7 (the recommended Puppy 4).

Xawtv seems to need some more libs in Puppy 4, but that is no problem, you don't really need it.
Just run
/usr/local/Muppywebcam-Puppy301/Muppywebcam-nogui
from a consolewindow.

This loads the drivers.
Then you should be able to see your cam in applications that support it, like skype or Amsn.

If that works, you can add that line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, to load the drivers, when Puppy boots.

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

User avatar
yim
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat 01 Sep 2007, 05:24
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns

#6 Post by yim »

MU

just wanted to thank you for the muppywebcam I used the no gui as you said and opened skype and wa la away we go, works like a charm

thanks again

yim

Post Reply