Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 22:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy 2.12: 3D-Control-Center V2.00
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 6 [90 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
bobwrit


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2007, 18:44    Post subject:  

the xorg.0.log file wasn't in /var/log but heres the other one
requested.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  requested.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.13 KB 
Downloaded  480 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2007, 16:41    Post subject:  

It seems you use xvesa, not xorg.
xorg.0.log is created, when xorg starts.

Also your xorg.conf is invalid, there miss entries.


You first should do:
exit X (hit CTRL ALT Backspace).
Then type:
xorgwizard

This offers to use xvesa or xorg.
Choose xorg, and continue.
If X starts, use the 3DCC again. It needs a working xorg to work properly.

In case X will not start, use Xvesa again, and attach your xorg.0.log (and xorg.conf), that now should exist, as you tried to use xorg.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8253

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2007, 13:30    Post subject:  

Hi

using this dotpup (cheers) to setup 3d acceleration with an ati 128 graphics card...all seems ok but I have this problem..
Quote:
It's feasible that the manuafacturer of that graphics card "messed" with the pci-id of the ATi chip, so the radeon module refuses to load because it thinks the hardware is incompatible.

As a last resort, try to force the module to load, like this -

modprobe -f radeon

Check for error messages, then run lsmod to see if it loaded.


Sure enough forcing the r128 driver works and brings up dri also Very Happy .

My question is how/where do I implement this so that the xorgwizard will configure using the new driver rather than defaulting back to vesa which is all my efforts have achieved so far.

I'm sure the answer is simple but eludes me at the moment

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8253

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 21:12    Post subject:  

I added modprobe -f r128 to rc.local and r128 to driver in xorg.conf...

the driver is loaded but so is the standard one and in xorg.conf the driver is changed back to vesa on reboot.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobwrit


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2007, 23:49    Post subject:  

when trying to boot with xorg the commands say that it's starting x but it didn't, a couple of minutes of doing nothing later it said that it was exiting from x. I had to boot from a cd and then restart x in xorg.it booted then fine but the 3d download centre didn't work. heres the file
xorg.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorg.tar.gz 
Filesize  6.65 KB 
Downloaded  490 Time(s) 

_________________
I need help with my forum. LINK:http://www.programers.co.nr/
http://www.freewebs.com/programm/iframe.html is my gateway page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 99
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2007, 05:04    Post subject: 3DCC order of pictures  

I noticed that the instructions say
DRM - OPENGL - DRI - REBOOT
but the order of the pictures is
DRM - DRI - OPENGL
Might be good to make them the same just to avoid any confusion.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2007, 15:45    Post subject:  

Hi Mark,

When using Puppy Software Installer for install of 3DCC, there are a few packages found whom names contains puppy versions, like:
3DCC-puppy-2.11-and-2.13.pup

...which is confusing for newbies as we are now using puppy v2.16.

Perhaps it would be good to use a generic name for 3DCC with its own version number, no ?

I have found problems with DRI installer with your last 3DCC version and latest puppy. I have followed the process install DRM, OpenGL, then DRI with reboot.

first on a old computer with radeon 7000/VE the xorg.conf file does not use "radeon" as DRI, it states Driver is "ati". Do i have to change it manually ?

then on a recent computer with Intel GMA 915, i choose i915 to install DRI but it is still i810 that is used and i can never have i915 to load...

By the way, wouldn't it be good to have all of this loaded in puppy and automagically setted up at boot time according to the detected hardware ?
This would simplify much because newbies are lost at doing all of this here !

Thanks for your great job Mark !

Best regards,
Laurent.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2007, 16:14    Post subject:  

yes, it should be radeon instead of ati.
You can replace it, though i think (but am not shure), that also the "ati" entry detects the radeon module.
For my Ati 7000 I used "radeon".

I810: I can't tell anything about this, never had one.

Automatic detection:
DRI-drivers are loaded automatically, if they are present, and xorg.conf is set up correctly.

In my puplet Muppy007 this is the case, when you choose to load the "additional programs" at startup.
This loads a second .sfs file from CD, that includes those drivers.
I also modified the xorg.conf0 that is used by Puppys xorgwizard to generate a valid xorg.conf, so it already includes the important "load "dri"" entry.

Concerning "versioning": you're right, a next release should take care of that.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8253

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2007, 18:45    Post subject:  

Hmm the r128 driver is loaded and in use with 2.02 regression on the same machine...provides hardware accelleration for video watching...perhaps I should try the 3dcc there instead as 2.12 seems to be a no go for some reason...the driver is included with the mplayer install.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bgirten

Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2007, 13:52    Post subject:  

using 3dcc, I've had no luck with a vendor-provided driver for the via Unichrome cn700, and it is not supported with the 3dcc-provided driver... since I'm such a noob, what are the chances of getting an updated unichrome driver included with 3dcc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2007, 20:49    Post subject:  

bgirten wrote:
using 3dcc, I've had no luck with a vendor-provided driver for the via Unichrome cn700

There was once a vendor-provided 3D driver from viaarena.com, but it was very unreliable. It has since been removed from the viaarena website.

bgirten wrote:
and it is not supported with the 3dcc-provided driver
Yes it is. See page 1 of this thread - forum member dvw86 is using the 3D Unichrome drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bgirten

Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2007, 20:57    Post subject:  

The CN700 is a Unichrome Pro, and is not listed among the chipsets checked for in my xorg log file when I start x with the Via driver in Xorg.conf. should I be using a different driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2007, 04:53    Post subject:  

It sounds like the Unichrome DRM/DRI drivers are not playing well with your CN700, which I presume is a more recent version of the Unichrome chip.
It would be worth checking a few things -

1. Run "lsmod" to make sure that the "drm" and "via" kernel modules are loaded. If not, manually load them and restart Xorg.

2. Check your /etc/xorg.conf. In Section Module you should have -
Load "dri"
Load "glx"

In Section Device you should have -
Driver "via"
Option "PciRetry" "true"

In Section Screen you should have -
DefaultDepth 16
(because 3D drivers sometimes fail with 24 bit)

3. Also check the output of "dmesg". I suspect you will see something failing in relation to "drm" or "agp".

If still no success, you can now try these updated Unichrome DRM drivers, which come from www.openchrome.org. The Xorg 3D code for VIA Unichrome comes from this project.
This package provides updated kernel modules "drm" and "via", plus the libdrm library.

I also tried to compile the updated VIA DRI driver, but this failed. Hopefully, just the DRM stuff will get things working.
Unichrome-DRM-k2.6.18.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Unichrome-DRM-k2.6.18.1.pet 
Filesize  122.23 KB 
Downloaded  520 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bgirten

Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2007, 11:51    Post subject:  

Back after the break.

Thanks for the help thus far, btw.

After going through your directions, I have everything set up according to what you mentioned in your post, but am still having issues. I hate to be a bother. I've attached the Xorg.0.log output that seems to pertain to what I'm doing.

Should this be directed to the developers of openchrome at this stage, or do you have any further suggestions?
xerrors.plaintext.zip
Description  Not really a zip file... plaintext.
zip

 Download 
Filename  xerrors.plaintext.zip 
Filesize  8.72 KB 
Downloaded  487 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iwigo

Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Location: Burgos, Spain

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 10:38    Post subject:  

i can't make it works. my card is a 3dlabs permedia 2 and the driver xorg is using is glint. what can i do?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 6 [90 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0874s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]