Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 07:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Gnome 2.20.3 SFS (Only for Puppy4)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 03:38    Post_subject:  Gnome 2.20.3 SFS (Only for Puppy4)
Sub_title: The GNOME desktop environment
 

This is another preview, some features are not available or may not work properly. Cool

Note: This SFS works better with the old puppy-4.00

Download

Installation:
    Start with a fresh Dingo, i.e. "No pup_save" ('puppy pfix=ram')
    Choose Xorg as X server
    Then run these commands:
    Code:
    addgroup haldaemon
    adduser -SDH haldaemon -G haldaemon

    Also remove '/root/.gtkrc-2.0' to avoid problems with the gtk theme in Gnome.
    Now install [Dingo-Xorg-DRI.pet] (by Kirk)
    Copy gnome-2.20.3test02_398.sfs to the same partition where the new pup_save.2fs will be saved. (rename the version number, _398, if needed)
    Now reboot and save session.


To start GNOME exit X and type:
Code:
xwin gnome-session


Extras:


Notes:
1. I compiled everything with puppy-3.96-seamonkey-k2.6.24.iso, for the i686 architecture and with the '/usr' prefix.
2. This SFS was packed with squashfs 3.0
3. If the 'Computer' directory is empty repeat all my install instrucctions carefully.
4. If you had xvesa as the X server you will see an strange error window regarding something about the keyboard, I don't know how to solve it..
5. List of installed packages: [here] and [here]

Enjoy.

_________________


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 04:07    Post_subject:  

Troubleshooting:
    Change dpi if fonts are too big:

    If the disk label has spaces: set the mount point manually:

    Mounting UDF disks as iso9660:

_________________


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 17:16    Post_subject:  

Hiya Wow!

Gee whiz... I hope since nobody's replied to this until today that you haven't gotten discouraged in thinking that no one's using your terrific Gnome.sfs file because that couldn't be further from the truth my courageous Puppian friend!

What a fabulous project you've undertaken here! And I'm using it---and enjoying it immensely I might add! Very Happy I've really put the .sfs file through its paces as well and to date the only two things I've discovered so far which haven't worked is that Epiphany segfaults (maybe because I installed Firefox 2.0.0.12 and changed over to the full binary version of SeaMonkey 1.1.8?) and that I am unable to change the mouse pointer---neither of which is a big deal to me.

One other issue that the jury may be out on is that it may not be antialiasing properly. However, Wow, I have poor vision myself so I'm not the one to be making that determination. I can read it and I'm having a blast, I'm able to do a day's work, so no problem! Very Happy

Actually, this is the very first time I've been able to fully enjoy Totem. It doesn't even work that well in my Mint 4.0 so I use Xine instead when in Mint. Totem, so far, has worked fine though I've yet to try a DVD.

You've just done one totally phenomenal piece of artwork here Wow and I've been meaning to return and tell you about it, and that I'm using it, etc. (I even tried to remaster with it included but I don't know anything about remastering and have wasted a lot of "coasters") I wanted to let you know at any rate.

Please keep up the fabulous work my friend, okie? I can't promise you I'll try others because I'm that satisfied with this one, you know? But I hope someone will come along who'll keep trying them!

THANK YOU!!

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 21:49    Post_subject:  

Eyes-Only wrote:
... and that I am unable to change the mouse pointer---neither of which is a big deal to me.

Copy/Extract your mouse cursor theme to '/usr/X11R7/share/icons' or '/root/.icons' and try again.

Eyes-Only wrote:
One other issue that the jury may be out on is that it may not be antialiasing properly. However, Wow, I have poor vision myself so I'm not the one to be making that determination. I can read it and I'm having a blast, I'm able to do a day's work, so no problem! Very Happy

Hmm... try to play around with Rendering: System(menu)>Preferences>Appearance>Font.

Eyes-Only wrote:
Actually, this is the very first time I've been able to fully enjoy Totem. It doesn't even work that well in my Mint 4.0

Oh, Mint. I haven't tested Mint yet, but the Mint's Menu works in Puppy [read more]

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 23:54    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the hints and tips here Wow. Next time I've booted into my Gnome Puppy I'll give those a try, especially the mouse pointer as I have one that I especially like and use.

As to the antialiasing, however, it's not all that much of a big deal really, and yeah---that's exactly where I go for the settings on the font (I've used Gnome on & off over the past couple of years).

I'm just so terribly impressed here on how you've managed to pull this off Wow. THAT'S what I can't get over! I mean---how you've managed to have made Gnome to look like a "native Puppy desktop environment" the way you have. How you've managed to get the "About Puppy" to appear right underneath the "About Gnome" in the "Settings" section, and how you've gotten Puppies settings to pepper the Gnome settings panel, etc. That's a brilliant piece of work.

I wished I could've managed that remastering I was attempting. Ah well... "C'est la vie!" as we say. Wink

Again Wow: Thanks for everything as this is greatly appreciated!

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 00:15    Post_subject:  

Update: That worked on the mouse pointer by the way: I copied some out from another install on another partition and placed them to "/root/icons". That did the trick Wow. Thanks again!

Hmm... today the fonts seem fine though I've changed nothing. Maybe I simply needed a reboot. I'd made a tonne of changes that day and I wasn't exactly "with it" at the time unfortunately. Sad

Thanks!

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 23:15    Post_subject: WOW
Sub_title: Literally
 

Very Happy Hello guys Very Happy
I downloaded the SFS , made the daemon changes, and rebooted.
Then I droped out of X...Typed xwin gnome-session...VIOLA...HUH???
I dont have Gnome, but.....I do have both JWM and Openbox..AT THE
SAME TIME.. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Both menus function, everything works...
The JWM taskbar autohides, revealing the openbox panel!! The
wierd thing is that EVERYTHING WORKS from both WM`s...
Both taskbar/panels show the other panel minimized!!!
I might leave it for a while...kinda cool... Cool
I know I should have removed Fatdog first, but I forgot..
Still, how is this possible????

The shaded window in both shots is this Firefox session I`m typing this from.

..........Puppyluvr...........

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 01:07    Post_subject: Update  

Very Happy
Rebooted...tried again...xwin jwm = JWM...xwin openbox = openbox
xwin gnome-session = BOTH, but no gnome!
Looks cool though.. Cool
BOTH.png
 Description   Openbox on top, JWM on the bottom
 Filesize   547.35 KB
 Viewed   6528 Time(s)

BOTH.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 01:56    Post_subject:  

Getting Gnome working on Puppy was considered impossible
by one Puppy Master.

Being impossible seems no obstacle for the determined Puppy hacker. Cool

Well done indeed. Looking forward to further enhancements Smile

Any more Gnomee fans?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 03:33    Post_subject: ...  

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy
Rebooted...tried again...xwin jwm = JWM...xwin openbox = openbox
xwin gnome-session = BOTH, but no gnome!
Looks cool though.. Cool


Question Question Question Question
certainly my gnome sfs wasn't loaded in your Puppy (it doesn't have openbox...) Launch 'Bootmanager' and check if gnome-2.20.3test02_398.sfs is one of the top 3 SFS's loaded by Puppy.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 13:30    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hey Very Happy
No its there...
I think im in JWM but with the Openbox panel..
It will probably work after I remove Fatdog, but I`m enjoying the mutation for now... Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
sfs.png
 Description   It is there!!
 Filesize   36.11 KB
 Viewed   22071 Time(s)

sfs.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 15:38    Post_subject:  

Hi Puppyluvr!

Are you absolutely sure you followed Wow's instructions to the letter? Now when I read those I took them to mean that I had to start with a fresh Dingo, i.e. "No pup_save" because you have to make a new pup_save in the end in you follow the directions logically and by the letter. Well, that's how I interpreted them anyway---but I've been known to usually be wrong. Embarassed LOL!

I do know that I didn't use the Dingo that I already had, but instead grabbed the beta (398) that's out and used that one instead. First I wiped out my A6 pup_save (it was just for testing anyway) and then started fresh.

Did you also remember to add HAL to the userlists like Wow pointed out above? Also, did you add that .pet file he'd made too? There's all those steps that have to be done before making the pup_save---as I understood it anyway---then I shutdown, made the pup_save, moved the Gnome.sfs over and started back up. When I started up I was asked in the process whether or not I wanted it added to the bootmanager and I said "yes", but I rebooted yet again after going to the bootmanager anyway just to make sure.

Odd that it worked like a charm for me. -scratches bald head-

@Lobster: Nothing is impossible. Wink LOL! Sorry mate! I couldn't resist! Twisted Evil

Well, I probably haven't helped the situation any, but I guess I was just stunned when I'd read how it didn't work for you and it was so flawless for me. -sigh-

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 18:48    Post_subject:  

I am in Gnome now.
I just have a problem when Gnome starts. I get first the jwm desktop for a short while and then the Gnome desktop, but the problem is there is a message saying the Gnome settings daemon didn't start correctly or something the like. Some settings like background etc. might not work correctly.

I must say I didn't follow the procedure in post 1.
I started with the beta 1 pup_save file, which I had renamed for Gnome previously, so I didn't loose already installed programs.

About this browser, is it FireFox?
Can FireFox extensions and addons be installed?

Maybe it's subjective, but I have a feeling of more speed.

EDIT:
Found the reference of the addons, but none is there which is of interest.
Not like SeaMonkey yet.
Forgot to mention that sometimes icons are missing like in the top panel for internet access and e-mail. Elsewhere as well.
Also I am missing the little applet indicatio storage left, as well as connection icons (blinky?)

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 20:53    Post_subject:  

@puppyluvr: As Eyes-Only said you must start with a fresh Dingo, i.e. "No pup_save".

Béèm wrote:
I get first the jwm desktop for a short while and then the Gnome desktop

That's because 'xwin' runs /root/.xinitrd which start the ROX pinboard. To prevent desktop flicktering between ROX and Nautilus I added the command 'killall ROX-Filer' to the Autostart list(System(gnome menu)>Preferences>Sessions)

Béèm wrote:
... there is a message saying the Gnome settings daemon didn't start correctly or something the like. Some settings like background etc. might not work correctly.
I must say I didn't follow the procedure in post 1.

Please do it. And don't forget to choose Xorg.

Béèm wrote:
About this browser, is it FireFox?

It's epiphany-2.20.3 [web site]

Béèm wrote:
Can FireFox extensions and addons be installed?

    http://live.gnome.org/Epiphany/ProjectFAQ wrote:
    Does Epiphany run Firefox extensions?
    No, but epiphany-extensions adds some features found in popular Firefox extensions.


Béèm wrote:
Maybe it's subjective, but I have a feeling of more speed.

Hmm maybe. I haven't used Ephiphany/Gnome before, feels good though

Béèm wrote:
Also I am missing the little applet indicatio storage left, as well as connection icons (blinky?)

Those are applets for gnome-panel, you have to add them manually.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3222
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 23:28    Post_subject: Gnome
Sub_title: Got it
 

Very Happy Hey Wow, Very Happy
As I figured, I redid it but removed Fatdog..
Worked like a charm.. Very Happy
So this is Gnome..never used it before..
Cool, I`ll be busy checking this out.. Very Happy
Thanks for the SFS...

P.S., I kept the mutant 'two window managers" pupsave too..
Gonna check it out some more too... Idea
Gnome.png
 Description   Dingo with Gnome
 Filesize   146.31 KB
 Viewed   6314 Time(s)

Gnome.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1134s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]