Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 12:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 Beta Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 16:12    Post_subject: Re: "Overwrite?" Y (a zillion times)  

Turpin wrote:
To the user, this means having to hit the Y key while holding down alt sometimes many thousands of times.


perhaps it's too late this time, but one way around that behaviour is to hold down the y key rather than pressing it again and again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 16:16    Post_subject:  

That would work if the repeat didn't happen so slowly. I have my typematic rate turned to highest, and it was still only copying a couple files a second when I tried that. So I had to resort to using my dexterity that luckily I still have in my hand to speed the process up. I figure I did on average 8 files a second that way, but my hand was worn out. At times I was probably doing 20 files a second, playing a little game to see if I could max out the cpu for a moment. Laughing
oops, that would max out the hd before the cpu.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 11:32    Post_subject:  

NOT A BUG but there's a new version of xine-lib out.
From xinehq.de

Quote:
15.04.2008 xine-lib 1.1.12
A new xine-lib version is now available. This release contains a security fix (unchecked array index, CVE-2008-1686). There are also a few bug fixes (including the 1.1.11.1 regressions), a new version of the pulseaudio output plugin, and open-source support for RealAudio “cook”.
For front-end package maintainers, there's a tool to help maintain MIME type lists, and for developers who need raw frame data, you can now get that with the “raw” video output plugin.
Please check the release notes for details & known problems.
Download it from our download page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 13:10    Post_subject: Suggestions..  

Using Puppy 398, Beta 4
Bugs
Initially running Live-CD;
The Install Icon - brings up the Pet Package Manager. Is this normal or what install suppose to bring up Universal Installer or HD Install. Maybe I\'m thinking of standards like in Ubuntu.

After doing a Universal Install on USB flash device;
Was a hit or miss when trying to make device bootable.
Fat32 (lba) , boot flag- dos label
Also, most of the time get;
syslinux: possibly unsafe /tmp/permissions
and it doesn't write a bootable syslinux.
You will have to go here if your using windows and download syslinux.exe
and run;
syslinux.exe -sfma [USB drive letter]
http://syslinux.zytor.com/faq.php

Also, it starts to hang sometimes at 'switch-root'.
Also after creating .2fs file, hangs at Starting X, xorg.conf, even when selecting XVesa mode.

Novice question:
Why doesn't Puppy understand commands like;
Apt-get
I thought that was universal.



Suggestions;

Make Puppy Software Installer a standard app included in build. Pet Package manager is lacking.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
divisionmd


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 14:26    Post_subject: Dual core
Sub_title: Dual core
 

Hello,

Was really glad when i tested the Dingo Alpha 1 that it works/loads both CPUS in my computer.

However when i try the latest release of Puppy 4 the Beta it however does not load the dual core in my pc?

I hope that the final version of Puppy 4 will use and autoload both CPUS´s.

To test if the Puppy is using both cores i typed this command: "cat /proc/cpuinfo"

Best regards,
Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 19:17    Post_subject:  

Dotpuphandler is not working right. I installed it, then tried to install a .pup, and all I get when I click on it is a window with the filename. It doesn't actually install it or ask me if I want to install it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
cam34

Joined: 07 Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Location: En Zed

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2008, 23:56    Post_subject:  

Puppy 3.98 (beta) does not work in a Virtual Machine (Virtual Workstation 6.0.0) Hangs on: Uncompressing Linux... Ok booting the kernel

This is a shop stopper for lots of reviewers etc etc.

PS MD5 sum is good
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 01:24    Post_subject:  

I'll second the dotpuphandler problem.
You can also add me to the list of those whose sound settings are retained between boots. Both the main volume and PCM are zeroed and muted every boot.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 01:44    Post_subject:  

Sound Problems,

I only sometimes get the sound problem. It doesn't happen every boot. I have found that when it does occur all I need to do get the sound back is right click the tray icon, this shows the mixer which I close immediately without touching any of the sliders. Hey presto sound comes back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 08:29    Post_subject: Re: Dual core
Sub_title: Dual core
 

divisionmd wrote:
Hello,

Was really glad when i tested the Dingo Alpha 1 that it works/loads both CPUS in my computer.

However when i try the latest release of Puppy 4 the Beta it however does not load the dual core in my pc?

I hope that the final version of Puppy 4 will use and autoload both CPUS´s.

To test if the Puppy is using both cores i typed this command: "cat /proc/cpuinfo"

Best regards,
Johan

Johan; my guess is that this is a kernel issue. If I recall correctly dual-core support is present in the latest kernel but not the previous one.

Barry started Dingo with the latest kernel but reverted (round about alpha 5) to the previous one (as in Puppy 3) as he wasn't happy with some of the new wireless "features". See his blog for details.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 08:41    Post_subject:  

jcagle wrote:
Dotpuphandler is not working right. I installed it, then tried to install a .pup, and all I get when I click on it is a window with the filename. It doesn't actually install it or ask me if I want to install it.

This has already been noted by Barry and may have been caused by the 'gettext' function being omitted by accident.

See his blog (bottom of page 5) for a bit more detail.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Doglover

Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2008, 19:08    Post_subject: pup_save
Sub_title: Password is displayed
 

Hi just tried the beta and found that entering my password to my pup_save was displayed and not hidden as usual.

Ndiswrapper also does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 02:01    Post_subject:  

Do you plan to make firewall on by default ?
Here is short and ok :
Code:
# ! /bin/sh
#reset
iptables -F
iptables -X
iptables -Z
# block all
iptables -P INPUT DROP
iptables -P OUTPUT DROP
iptables -P FORWARD DROP
# allow all out
iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
# allow local in
iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
# allow answers in
iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

This improves security.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mclien

Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 04:44    Post_subject:  

File open dialog gxine:
still opens outside the screen, but is moveable with 'alt' key pressed.
Has anybody the same problem with this window, or is it a thinkpad 600 specific problem?

NFS:
I am yhe only one not able to do a nfs mount?
(even mount-FULL doesen't work)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2008, 05:07    Post_subject:  

is 4.00 the latest stable version or not yet?

that is what i understand first from the release notes.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/test/puppy-4.00beta/release-4.00b.htm
but on the websites, distrowatch, etc. it's still 3.01 ... and there is no "Dingo" mentioned

also, release notes say the file is puppy-4.00-seamonkey.iso, but really it's 3.98 ??
i'm not sure what exactly to download to be up to date... thank you to let me know

_________________
Puppy 2.16 on HP Vectra VL400 - PIII 800 MHz - 320M RAM
Wary on Acer Aspire X3200 - Phenom X4 - 2.2GHz - 4G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0902s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]