Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 02:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 Beta Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 00:58    Post subject:  Puppy 4 Beta Bugs
Subject description: Dingo feedback
 

correct page for Barrys release notes:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/test/puppy-4.00beta/release-4.00b.htm
(wrong page on Barry's Blog)
Also on the page I think this 'humorous mistake' is 'numerous' (so to speak)
Quote:
Humerous hardware-related and system-related improvements


Smile
Another funny thing (good) Seamonkey (that Puppy workhorse)
is upgraded to 1.1.8 and I can use Stumbleupon again - hooray
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/recommended


wiki page for download, mirrors, updates
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy4

New themes, New progs
Stable enough for daily usage
Testing now underway. Have fun

Dingo is Wild (bring back the crazy citrus theme as default - ahem . . . well OK maybe not . . . I liked it . . .)
I also almost immediately changed the JWM theme to Vistablack - now that is stylish . . . (Menu/Desktop/JWM configuration - choose a JWM theme)

add popular progs to Dingo Beta with LIT
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=187905#187905

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 05 Apr 2008, 10:25; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 01:37    Post subject:  

* Lock doesn't appear to work. This is displayed in the orange window:

xlock: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

* Gxine dies when attempting to edit the preferences. A window appears with:

Fatal Error
Segmentation Fault

* Has the copy to RAM threshold changed? I have 224 MB and it didn't happen.

* Blinky seems to be using about 2x as much RAM as I'm used to seeing.

* There is what looks like a battery monitor in the JWM tray. It isn't displaying anything. I am not using a laptop. Check it out (attachment).
battmon.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.08 KB
 Viewed   3009 Time(s)

battmon.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 02:19    Post subject:  

I got the same errors reported by floborg. The battery indicator works on my laptop when I do a acpi=force while booting.

In addition these are the bugs I noticed:

1 - Default network wizard will not connect to my WEP encryped wireless router even though it always gives "connection succesful" message. Then I tried Pwireless wireless scanner and this worked at the first shot.

2 - Icon missing for "Auto connect to wireless network" under network.

3 - Hotpup drive icon settings always says "Sorry failed to apply new mode, restoring old". But when we restart X after changing icon irientation, it works.

4 - Fotox does not work from the menu. If we type Fotox at console, it works. I guess the menu must be pointing to /usr/share/fotox/fotox instead of /usr/local/fotox/fotox

5 - When we change the jwm theme and restart jwm, there is an additional instance of blinky that pops out of the tray and also shows on the taskbar.

6 - When I shutdown, it does not give me an option to save. It directly gives me a message that "session not saved". I ran using frugal and not from a cd.

7 - Two extra profiles (alex and something else) are seen in the wireless section of network wizard.

My common tasks:
Abiword worked
Gnumeric worked
Gxine plays my video streams (even though fullscreen issue is still there, maximizing it makes it work)
Seamonkey works with Flash websites that I visited.

I liked this theme much better than the citrus theme as it is pleasing to the eyes for prolonged use. I must admit that the citrus gives a very good initial impression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 03:21    Post subject: "pfix=ram" doesn't work.
Subject description: Kernel panics.
 

With Puppy 398 I tried booting my Gateway 2000, 64 MB + 200 MB Linux swap,
and it Kernel panics when searching for Puppy files.

I tried again, with "puppy pfix=ram", but it still searched for Puppy files, and Kernel paniced again!

I had no troubles like this at all with Puppy 396.

I'm monitoring #puppylinux as eddie-Gateway2K.

Thanks,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 03:50    Post subject: Bugs  

Noticed these bugs

1. Very minor bug.

# jwm -p
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[32]: invalid tag in TrayStyle: Height

Remove the line 32 on the jwm themes, Gradient-grey and the Original, so the Tray management>Tray Height Option will work in JWM Configuration Manager.

2. When you start xorg with 1280x1024, it stays at 1024x768 until you go back in to xorgwizard and play with the refresh rate, setting it to a lower level.

Overall very nice. Good Luck, Kal

PS: #1 has been fixed by Barry for Beta 2, Thank You

Last edited by Kal on Fri 11 Apr 2008, 15:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5789
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 03:52    Post subject:  

Shouldn't it be mentioned in the release notes that Puppy 4 has scanner support?

It seems that Barry has moved his target: From being best of the tiny penguins, to compete with the heavyweighters.

I'm mentioned in the release notes. Yippi, I have to print it for my mum. (even though she doesn't know zigbert.) Smile

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 04:11    Post subject:  

Nice! Everything seems to work for me except the menu-Fotox and an initial GRUB stage1.5 read error, probably due to some cr*p left on that old HD.
Personally, prefer a Caribbean beach scene, but the snowy mountains have a nice class.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5789
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 04:29    Post subject:  

Have anybody else trouble with flash9? alpha7 played tv-programs via www from the norwegian tv-channel NRK, while beta1 doesn't.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 04:59    Post subject: 3.97 boot broke, too...  

Ok. On my Gateway 2000, 64 MB RAM, 200 MB Linux swap:

Puppy 3.96, k2.6.23.12:
CD boots, installs, runs fine.

Puppy 3.97, k2.6.21.7 &
Puppy 3.98, k2.6.21.7:
CD boot, searching for Puppy files:
kernel panics.
CD boot "puppy pfix=ram",
still searches for Puppy files,
and still kernel panics.

Could a Puppy 3.98, k2.6.23.xx, be made available?

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 05:10    Post subject:  

Nope - it's not me. There really is something wrong with the Installer/GRUB. Didn't we have this once or twice before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joshas

Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 05:27    Post subject:  

There's no services in Ayttm service selection drop-down box. Missing plugins, I presume?
It would be nice, if Puppy could detect, if a system has battery or not, and show/hide battery meter automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 09:02    Post subject:  

Was setting up my wireless and noticed there are some leftover profiles. (alex and WLAN-11b-GW)

Also, great initial background and colors.

JB

Last edited by JB4x4 on Sat 05 Apr 2008, 09:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 09:14    Post subject:  

Spent the morning looking at this installer issue in some detail. It seems that it is limited to some HD (Fujistu, especially), some chipsets (SiS) and some cables (80w). Having said that, the effect is reproducible. But very much stranger. Doing a full install with all those items - will not boot - gives the GRUB error message. However, switching the drive to a P4 board and a 40w cable produces a normal boot up, even from an apparently 'failed' installation without further modification. Swapping the cable from 80w to 40w and/or IDE channel also produces a normal boot. Most of the time has been spent double checking cables, drives - including debug wiping, jumpers, IDE controllers found nil defective components. ipso facto, this is another artefactual effect to look out for with certain equipment. Not a problem for me - just swap HW, but those with less kit or intolerant spouse should beware!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 10:45    Post subject:  

From livecd :

Fotox doesnt start from graphic menu
When started from console, gives
Code:
# fotox
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/fotox/parameters': No such file or directory
(256) Unknown error 256, cp /usr/share/fotox/parameters /root/.fotox


Still bug with ChmSee : cannot exit properly.

Ayttm when creating account, no option to chose service type.
When clicking ok, crashes signal 11.

gxine : video files extensions mp4 and 3gp not set.

Images still opened by editor..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Artie


Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 446
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 11:49    Post subject:  

1. Fotox doesn't work from Menu here either.

2. Chooselocale doesn't fetch

3. Impossible to update Geany with geany-0.13.pup put in the required extra files first but nothing happens just a window opens with "geany-0.13.pup" in it. Please put in latest Geany in next beta.

Artie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]