Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 11:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
safepup does not boot
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
dptxp

Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 04 Apr 2008, 09:41    Post_subject:  safepup does not boot
Sub_title: blank screen on boot, hangs
 

I have burned 2 CDs of safepup, MD5 is OK (checked in K3B) but safepup does not boot. Sometimes hangs (blank screen) , sometimes Hard disk boots with installed OS.

Never faced problems with iso burning in past.

Any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 04 Apr 2008, 19:25    Post_subject: kernel 2.16.18  

Safepup uses the same kernel of 2.14-2.16. Have you booted any of these versions in that PC earlier? Some PC boards with Winbond I/O chip would not work with this kernel version.

Also, safepup uses "pfix=ram" as default boot parameter, which would require 128 MB RAM (memory).

Please try that CD in another PC to make sure that the problem is not due to CD error.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dptxp

Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 04:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks Raffy.

Puppy 3.01 works. Puppy 2.14 works. PupEee works.
It is possible that I have a 'burning' problem with safepup. MD5 was OK but maybe I shall download again.. 2 CDs gone.

Got 512 MB RAM. Turion at 2 GHZ.

BTW does any version use dynamic CPU frequency control ? I want to see all system parameters as CPU temp, CPU frequency etc. Saw in PupEee screenshot, do not see when I run it live.

Tried to install DotPups. Got errors. Can these not be installed with Live CD so that I can remaster ? (file may be corrupt message ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0446s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]