Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Internet through a mobile phone
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
chris667


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2008, 09:58    Post subject:  Internet through a mobile phone
Subject description: How I connected my Puppy laptop to a Nokia E61 Symbian mobile/cell phone, DKU-2 USB cable and T-mobi
 

Hello-
I'm new to the forum and Puppy. I've dabbled on and off with other flavours of Linux, mostly RedHat over the last 10 years, but now I've found Puppy everything clicks! It's great to have a full-featured, useful and reliable OS that will run on abandoned computers. Cheers, guys!
I'm sharing this as I hope it will help someone else like me (or me if I forget Rolling Eyes ).
Getting online like this was a real make-or-break thing for me, as I live on a boat a mobile phone is the only way I can use the internet.
Experts, I'm sure I have done many things wrong/stupidly here. I'm just saying what I did, it appears to work for me, but please add any corrections or improvements, I want to learn so don't hold back!

First I needed to make puppy see the phone. I edited /etc/rc.d/rc.local so it loads these modules at startup:

Code:
modprobe cdc_acm
modprobe ohci_hcd
modprobe ehci_hcd
modprobe uhci_hcd
modprobe usbserial
modprobe ftdio_sio

(I don't think you need all of these - does anyone know what we could skip?)
I then typed these into a terminal window to create the device:

Code:
mknod /dev/ttyACM0 c 166 0
chmod go+w /dev/ttyACM0
cd /dev/
ln -s /dev/ttyACM0 /dev/modem

(not sure you need to make a link like this, but I did and it works)


I edited /etc/wvdial.conf to read:
Code:
[Dialer Defaults]
Modem=/dev/ttyACM0
Baud=115200
Username=wapuser
Password=user
Phone=*99#

and /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial:
Code:

noauth
name wvdial

After a reboot, type wvdial at a terminal prompt and you ought to be online!
Hope this helps,
Chris
edited 01.05.08 - I was telling everyone to save wvdial.conf in the wrong place Embarassed

Last edited by chris667 on Thu 01 May 2008, 12:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2008, 11:17    Post subject:  

thanks Chris

People giving answers in their first post are very welcome. Here is a link to a similar setup that I did for a nokia 6230i using a DKU2 lead to connect to vodafone on pay as you go.

I suspect the only module you really needed to load was cdc_acm as the basic usb subsystem normally gets loaded automatically. You may find that you don't needed the username and password though these might be needed by wvdial (I have never used it)

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chris667


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2008, 17:04    Post subject:  

Cheers, Will! I'll try editing out the other modules for next time I start the computer, and let you know how I get on.
I did find your post, but only after I'd started messing about with Wvdial. I think your solution is more elegant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Earwicker

Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2008, 15:21    Post subject: mandriva solves this
Subject description: mandriva spring 2008
 

They done it. It's right on the network setup menu.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMNpI3RUwo8
http://www.osnews.com/story/19481
http://blog.mandriva.com/2008/03/17/synchronizing-with-windows-mobile-5-and-6-made-easy-in-mandriva-linux-2008-spring/
anybody up to the challenge for ipaq 500 voice messenger or any other g3 device under windows mobile?
Are we just gonna sit by and let Mandrive take the prize?
Where's Barry?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2008, 18:00    Post subject:  

I recently got a hookup with my razr this weekend in puppy216. Not much luck in puppy300 retro. Keeps giving me an error about unknown symbol in ppp_async (which I copied from 216). I also had to copy the cdc_acm.ko to 300 to talk with the phone and is does try to dial out but complains about the ppp daemon(sp?) dying..
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chris667


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 09:14    Post subject:  

Update! I've just spent an hour fiddling about with this on my new box running Puppy 4.00. It looks so much slicker, doesn't it?
I needed to use a different wvdial.conf, when I tried to use the original, Wvdial was complaining about not having a password. It works now, though.
Code:
[Dialer Defaults]
Modem=/dev/ttyACM0
Username=wapuser
Phone= *99#
Password=user

I have no idea why it worked last time and didn't now,but hey, that's Linux. Rolling Eyes
Incidentally, HairyWill was right, you only need modprobe cdc_acm. Cheers! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tadatada

Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Yuxi, YunNan, China

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 22:03    Post subject: i failed when i open rc.local as text  

what should i do? when open /etc/rc.d/rc.local as text, the Geany open a untiled text for me.
then I do file---open----/etc----/rc.d----/rc.local, it still give me a untiled text.
how can I open rc.local file to modify or just visit it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Aug 2008, 16:48    Post subject:  

hi tadatada

I maybe off target here but would this help?

http://puppylinux.org/wiki/archives/old-wikka-wikki/everything-else/chineselanguages

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23120

http://www.puppylinux.org/community/blogs/sasaqqdan/chinese-puppylinux-forum


Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuapao

Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2008, 11:04    Post subject: Windows Mobile 5 or 6 Internet Sharing via Puppy's USB
Subject description: using usb-rndis-lite
 

This thread was a great resource for me. In my case, I have a WM6 pda-phone that uses Internet Sharing.

Here's how I got it to work:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=234233#234233
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 10:30    Post subject:  

just found - maybe someone could do a pet?

http://www.synce.org/moin/

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 11:04    Post subject:  

seen this?

http://www.mobiface.com/upload/112l.png?PHPSESSID=8ea74b6512f2428b9f4ead228beeb6cf

or

http://www.mobiface.com/idea.php?id=1

maybe I'll get a mobile, when they get this working

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CassaBella

Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Frankston,victoria

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2008, 21:43    Post subject: Connecting to Telstra Bigpond using a mobile phone  

I'm connected to Telstra Bigpond using a LG TU550 mobile phone tethered on a USB cable (as a matter of fact, its on right now)

The 2 things I found when connecting to Bigpond were:
1. The connection doesn't want a username or password., so I had to manually remove these entries from the wvdial.conf file, as the GUI would let me do this.

2. PupDial initializes OK but you have to WAIT (and wait) for the the prompt to time out ,before pppd starts anyway. Then your away Very Happy

I don't know enough about configuring pppd to reduce/eliminate the timeout period, but what the hey. It works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 418
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 15 Nov 2008, 12:04    Post subject: my wvdial.conf  

Hi,

I connect to Telstra's NextG network using a Samsung 411/412.

Here is my wvdial.conf:
Code:
[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 460800
Init1 = AT
Init2 = ATS7=60
Init3 = ATE0V1&D2&C1S0=0
Init4 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","telstra.internet"
Phone = *99**1*1#
Username = A
Password = B
Stupid Mode = 1
I got the Init strings from the supplied Windows XP software.
The "Stupid Mode = 1" is supposed to tell wvdial to go straight into PPP without waiting for authentication.
The "Username" and "Password" entries are only there to stop wvdial complaining.

With Puppy 411, I "blacklist" the "visor" module, and puppy automatically loads "cdc_acm", and creates the /dev/ttyACM0 device.

Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
joywright123

Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 10 Sep 2009, 02:42    Post subject: internet through mobile phone  

I am using internet using mobile phones.I am using Go 2 mobile for use of internet because it features are good specally for internet.

I also connect internet using mobile phones through USB cabels.And also use GPRS for surfing because GPRS provide good functionality to specally check some data or information through internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 418
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 10:24    Post subject: use pupdial  

Hi,
I have had success using "pupdial" in pup-430, to dial the Internet using my usb connected 3G mobile phone, (actually Telstra's NextG in Australia).

Note: There is a minor bug in the "pupdial" as released in pup-430. But this has been solved and I understand that pup-431 contains the fixed version.
(Sorry but I haven't tested "pupdial" in pup-431, I did my testing with the fixed "pupdial" in pup-430.)

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0857s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]