Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha7 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2008, 20:35    Post_subject: Gxset
Sub_title: segmentation fault
 

Hi Berry

I have been trying to find out why the gxset will not save our use my settings. When I ran it in term window I was able to find out why, I can save my setting but when I hit the apply button it exits with a segmentation fault. I hope it is not my system or that it can be fix. If there is any thing else that I can do to help let me know.

BTW Puppylinux 4.0 is greet thanks and keep up the good work.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Mar 2008, 00:45    Post_subject: Modem selection controls deficient - SOLVED
Sub_title: Update allows user to inhibit use of particular modems when multiple are connected.
 

While working on my previous fix for modem detection, I found commentary on dealing with multiple modems in a PC -- a built-in versus an add-on. Other scenarios include a USB and/or serial modem connected to a PC with a PCI modem. Or even multiple kinds of PCI linmodems.

I have implemented a remedy that maintains a small table that the user or pupdial could change, to ignore use of the unwanted modem(s). In addition, a USB modem takes priority over PCI modems.

The changes are to /etc.rc.d/rc.local0 and rc.modem (including previous fix). However, I discovered the need to correct the condition "[ -e /dev/modem ]" in the service scripts to "[ -h /dev/modem ]". Here is why:
The SmartLink service (zzslmodem) links /dev/modem to /dev/ttySL0, which is itself a link to /dev/pts/0. Under the "sh" shell, the -e option does not consider a link to be a file (contrary to under the command prompt); the -h option always detects /dev/modem as a link to anything. This is appropriate because the scripts are testing merely for the presence of /dev/modem, which is always a link.

In my attachment I include 3 service scripts, but here are the changes needed for all of those scripts:
Code:
ess - line 7:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
intel536ep - line 7:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
intel537ep - line 7:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
ltmodem - line 7:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
pctel - line 7:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98

cdcacm - line 8:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
pl2303 - line 8:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98

zzslmodem - line 11:   [ -h /dev/modem ] && exit   #v3.98
            line 28:  if [ "`echo $0 | sed -e 's%/etc/init.d/%%'`" = "zzslmodem" ] && [ "`lsmod | grep '^slamr '`" != "" ];then  #v3.98 - skip if for USB version of modem.

mwaved - line 324:       if [ ! -h /dev/modem ]; then   #v3.98


A change that would give pl2303-type USB modems priority would be to change its name to "aapl2303" so it runs first. (The code changes zzslmodem to aaslmodeusb if a SmartLink USB modem is plugged in at bootup, so it runs first, too.)

I am uploading rc.local0 and rc.modem to go into /etc/rc.d. The service scripts belong in zdrv.sfs, currently in /etc/init.d, but wherever Barry is moving them for the beta.

I have tested and refined this over several days with several modems. It seems solid. I hope this can go into the beta, if it's not too late.
Richard

UPDATE 3/17: To summarize my request for service script changes:
1. Change all "-e /dev/modem" occurrences to "-h /dev/modem".
2. In zzslmodem, also add a test (line 28) for the name by which it is invoked, verifying it is just "slmodem" for the PCI version, and change the file name to match. I assume that the only reason for the "zz" is to work around the -e/-h problem triggered by the SL modems. Remove the "zz" in the name test and in the rc.local0 logic.
3. Since pl2303 is for USB modems (exclusively?), change its name to aapl2303 to give it priority. Do this AA-thing for any other USB modem types that I have not discovered.
4. Move the logic that determines the slmodem name to be used, if a USB version is present, out of rc.local0 and into wherever it is that the modem scripts are copied from zdrv.sfs.
5. Also move the logic for non-self-identifying (Thinkpad) Lucent modems out of rc.local0 to wherever it is that the modem scripts are copied from zdrv.sfs.
Thanks, Barry.

I would like to make the requested updates, but I do not know what file to change or where I could find it. I might then be able to verify them. Would someone point me to the modem detection script?

BTW: The file that controls modem selection is /etc/modemoverrides. It will contain commented (#) "ignore" statements that can be uncommented to skip selection of particular serial-modem ports or linmodem types (that have already been detected).
Richard

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Mar 2008, 00:50    Post_subject: Modem selection controls deficient - SOLVED - Attachment
Sub_title: Update allows user to inhibit use of particular modems when multiple are connected.
 

Here is the attachment that would not go with my original post immediately above.

UPDATE 3/18: I re-uploaded the modem-control attachment with corrections to rc.local and a minor change to rc.modem. Whoever uses non-self-identifying laptop modems or SmartLink modems should replace those files from the attachment, for testing. Barry, please be sure that this version goes to the release, if you plan to use the fix. Thanks.
Richard
rc.local0+rc.modem_for_3.98.tar.gz
Description  Modem-control implementation and well-behaved modem selection.
The "rc"s go to /etc/rc.d, the others to /etc/init.d, ultimately into the zdrv.sfs squashfile.
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc.local0+rc.modem_for_3.98.tar.gz 
Filesize  12.58 KB 
Downloaded  660 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Mon 17 Mar 2008, 01:31    Post_subject:  

Is the copy to RAM memory threshold 256MB? Could it be lowered for this Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 16:17    Post_subject: neomagic x dri driver "not found"; actually file dri missing
Sub_title: Although monitor info not found, x loads neomagic driver, but claims it cannot.
 

While testing my updated "monitor control" fix, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=182549#182549, I checked /tmp/bootsysinit.log for error messages. With my Thinkpad i1720 I see the following:
Quote:
Running PCMCIA cardmgr program...
cardmgr[10973]: watching 2 sockets
Fetching x dri modules (but not loading)...
FATAL: Module neomagic not found.
However /tmp/Xorg.0.log shows that modules glx ande dri were not found, but that neomagic was found and used.
Quote:
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module glx
(II) UnloadModule: "glx"
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module dri
(II) UnloadModule: "dri"
(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (module does not exist, 0)
(II) LoadModule: "neomagic"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/drivers//neomagic_drv.so
(II) Module neomagic: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 1.3.0, module version = 1.1.1
Module class: X.Org Video Driver
ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 1.2
(II) LoadModule: "mouse"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input//mouse_drv.so
(II) Module mouse: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 1.3.0, module version = 1.2.3
Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.7
(II) LoadModule: "kbd"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input//kbd_drv.so
(II) Module kbd: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 1.3.0, module version = 1.2.2
Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.7
(II) NEOMAGIC: Driver for Neomagic chipsets: neo2070, neo2090, neo2093,
neo2097, neo2160, neo2200, neo2230, neo2360, neo2380
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 00:05:0
(--) Chipset neo2200 found
(II) resource ranges after xf86ClaimFixedResources() call:

So, what I thought was a failure to find a file that is actually available, is apparently only a problem of the wrong name being placed in the "not found" message. If this is a Puppy error, it would be easy to fix. But if it is an Xorg error, we just have to live with it, or report it. I am attaching those logs and xerrs.log to provide all the evidence.
Richard
neomagic-dri_not-found_logs.tar.gz
Description  Logs showing that neomagic driver obtained, despite not-found message, while dri file was last one not found,
just before neomagic.
gz

 Download 
Filename  neomagic-dri_not-found_logs.tar.gz 
Filesize  5.98 KB 
Downloaded  680 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
purple_ghost

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 414

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 10:43    Post_subject: Mozilla download manager initially set to /tmp  

Which might be a problem when downloads disappear on Newbies, but is a great way to clear up a hung system from a full pup_save.2fs file.

Xine does NOT have the hangs that Gxine has in Puppy 3.01. And looks great. When I asked Xine to run in full screen mode, then Xine disappears. Might be fixable with the controls inside Xine. I did not look at all the internal controls to Xine, so it is probably not very important.

An upgrade of my pup_save.2fs from Puppy 3.01 to Puppy 4 did not go so good. Some of the Icons do not show color differentiation. Like the Speaker Icon on the Task Bar does not show where the mouse can grab onto it, and in fact, seems like I could not. However since my pup_save.2fs file is also an upgrade from Puppy 2.xx, seems like a rebuild would be in order.

Edit: So I created a fresh pup-save file to play with Dingo.

I installed Firefox 2 Dot Pet from the Puppy 4 files. Somewhere I discovered I have Flash for both Mozilla and Firefox. Maybe Flash crept in with Mozilla? I tried to install the Dot Pup for Java from de website. When I try to start program, it disappears.

I tried to download Java version from Slackware 12, which I think is jre-6-u-i386-1.tgz, and is large.

Ha Ha . Before I tried to install it I thought to clean up the space in pup_save by rebooting computer. As Mozilla download manager put the file in /tmp, bye bye download.

I like the quickness of Dingo. Maybe it could be easier to change the back ground to something different.

All in all, Dingo looks to be great.

_________________
Google Search of Forum: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 22:57    Post_subject: Re: Mozilla download manager initially set to /tmp  

purple_ghost wrote:
I like the quickness of Dingo. Maybe it could be easier to change the back ground to something different.

Menu -> Desktop -> Wallpaper setter

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 18:36    Post_subject:  

Does fotox have a print function? If so I can't find it. Or do I have to save the edited image and print it with another app?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 18:46    Post_subject:  

this is on an acer 5610 laptop with builtin Intel 3945 wireless attaching to an unsecured network (no wep or wpa). also this laptop has a builtin ethernet adaptor. Puppy booted off a cd with a pup_save on hda3 which is a vfat (XP) partition .

Have found that alpha7 doesn't always store wireless networking config between boots even when I "save configuration" -- and it is inconsistent about whether it detects the wireless networking hardware or not too (sometimes will, sometimes won't).

alpha7 sometimes sees the ethernet as eth0 and the wireless as eth1, sometimes the other way about, sometimes only sees the wired adaptor

when it connects it works fine Smile

paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Mar 2008, 06:12    Post_subject: ref. your blog
Sub_title: Ayttm for Yahoo.
 

Barry sir,
I would find the ability to use a web cam with Yahoo
I/M most useful, i have not downloaded dingo 4 a7 as i am awaiting the beta.
Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 22 Mar 2008, 20:35    Post_subject: configure option for Ayttm for Yahoo Webcam support  

Barry:
Quote:
..configure option for Ayttm for Yahoo Webcam support, but it needs a package named 'jasper'. Would this feature be useful to you?
Yes, very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 23 Mar 2008, 21:15    Post_subject: Puppy 4-7
Sub_title: xset program to replace gxset
 

Hi all

I have tried to write a small program to handle some of the xset settings. I have not tried to write anything in about 10 years, have only edit some php. I did not write this from scratch but have got some of the xset setting as easy as point and click. I plan on getting more working as soon as I learn some things that I know but have forgot, also if somebody know how to execute a program from inside puppybasic let me know. This is based on gtk and puppybasic. It need very little to run, just put it in your my-application folder and change the setting to execute, then in a term window or gexec command line type Pxset.wxbs and it should run.

Please any feedback would be nice.
Pxset01.tar.gz
Description  Puppy Pxset
gz

 Download 
Filename  Pxset01.tar.gz 
Filesize  447 Bytes 
Downloaded  655 Time(s) 

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Mar 2008, 01:45    Post_subject: Modem selection control for the beta
Sub_title: This contains my previous improvements plus modem selection.
 

Attached is my completed modem-control fix as described in my previous posts here. This version replaces the others and adds the capability to logically disable ("ignore") particular modems if multiple modems exist in or are attached to a PC. I have included difference files for each updated file.

The "ignore" statements reside in /etc/modemoverrides, which is built as modems are encountered. To activate an "ignore", uncomment it, by removing its initial # character. The file is to be edited manually, at least until it can be managed by pupdial.

In addition, there is new support for two Thinkpad modems not previously recognized by Puppy. A line for each was added to MODULECONFIG, containing the module name, vendor ID, device ID, and description. I used the old modem wizard to try various drivers and find the tty-type. I used the WinXP device manager to find the vendor and device IDs in the driver details tab. Anyone with an unrecognized laptop modem might try that technique and report any new modems to add to MODULECONFIG, by providing that information and the Device Manager's description.

Some details:
1. All of the files in /etc/init.d of the attachment go to their corresponding zdrv directory. Please note that two of the service scripts are renamed to use an upper case initial letter: Cdcacm and Pl2303. This is to make them run before the scripts for PCI hardware, so if a USB modem is plugged in, it will be used instead of a PCI modem.

2. The firmware.dep.2.6.21.7 file goes to zdrv, or its three minor changes can made manually.
EDIT 3/27/08: The changes are:
Code:
Upper-case C in line 37: cdcacm|/etc /etc/init.d /etc/init.d/Cdcacm
Upper-case P in line 50: pl2303|/etc /etc/init.d /etc/init.d/Pl2303
Remove "zz" early in line 56: slmodem-2.9.11-20070505|/etc /etc/init.d /etc/init.d/slmodem . . .

3. For testing purposes, the /etc/init.d files can go to the regular /etc/init.d directory.

This has all of the improvements I could think of, so hope this can go into the beta and final. Thanks for your help on this, Barry.

EDIT: Attachment now includes the difference listings.
Richard
dialup_modem_control_update_ for_3.98.tar.gz
Description  Modem support improvements and modem selection control.
Test by extracting /etc directory to /. Includes difference listings.
gz

 Download 
Filename  dialup_modem_control_update_ for_3.98.tar.gz 
Filesize  38.54 KB 
Downloaded  682 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wingruntled

Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 287
Location: Great Lakes

PostPosted: Tue 25 Mar 2008, 20:52    Post_subject:  

Mr. Barry
Not only are ALL ports open on your home (personal) system but you have left everybody running Puppy WIDE open.
Do I need to go underground to show you how bad you have screwed up?

Murga, I have your picture!
END OF STORY!!!!!! you will be added to a hosts file. Not just mine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Mar 2008, 22:12    Post_subject: Puppy fails to autoload drivers for PCMCIA/PCCards - SOLVED
Sub_title: Cardbus driver must be loaded before obtaining all the hardware IDs that cause drivers to be loaded.
 

I think this has been a problem for a long time, so I investigated the cause. The script, rc.modules, uses lspci to obtain the hardware IDs present, then loads the drivers for that hardware. However, lspci does not see the PCMCIA hardware until the cardbus/PCMCIA driver (e.g., yenta-socket) is loaded. So the cards are never detected during bootup.

I have not coded a solution, but post this now in case Barry prefers to implement the fix himself. I expect that the lspci must be done first to find any cardbus driver, then again once that driver is loaded.

I strongly hope that the fix can go into 4final, but preferably into the beta. It will improve puppy's reputation of reliability. I will work on a solution until I hear that it is no longer needed.

EDIT 3/26/08: I have coded the fix and have attached it. It includes my previous update to the same module (but does not require the rest of that fix be installed). To test it, extract rc.modules to /etc/rc.d, and reboot.
Richard
pccard_autodetection_fix for 3.98.tar.gz
Description  Restores long-lost auto-detection of PC cards. Extract rc.modules to /etc/rc.d/.
gz

 Download 
Filename  pccard_autodetection_fix for 3.98.tar.gz 
Filesize  3.61 KB 
Downloaded  684 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1175s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]